We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Romantics Getaway”
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
The light and airy kitchen/diner conservatory opens onto the patio/garden and hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer
Dressing gowns are provided.
The Stables has its own private garden.
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky F
2 reviews
“Wonderful Romantics Getaway”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed over Valentine’s Day weekend for a couples get away, to spend some time hidden from it all, and The Stables was just what we were after!

Tucked away down a farmer’s track it offered everything we were looking for. The Stables themselves were wonderfully clean, and presented beautifully. The kitchen had everything we needed for a few home cooked meals. The views from the hot tub were just perfect.

Enough restaurant and pubs within driving/walking distance to keep us fed and occupied.

Mandy and David were just across the courtyard and where there when we needed anything.

Overall a perfect weekend, and we hope to come back in the summer to see the garden in all its glory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Farmer's track leading down.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam G
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Very recently stayed at the Stables as a party of four for the weekend of the19th just to get away for a bit.
Tucked away from everything, which was just what the Dr ordered.
Nice clean and well presented accommodation with a lovely Hottub over looking a picturesque view of the country side..
Mandy and David were both very polite and helpful and arranged us a taxi to a recommended restaurant which they suggested which was very nice indeed and were very approachable if we ever had any questions. There are lots of walks close by and easily accessible from the cottage.
Would definitely recommend this to anybody thinking about getting away for a while to relax and take in the sights..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Bathroom only accesable from bedroom, so a bit tricky for groups of friends especially at night time
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
We are very pleased that the Stables offered you just what you wanted. Thank you for this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne B
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect romantic escape”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a lovely couple of days away at the Stables. The building is beautifully decorated, full of character and in a remote location. The perfect place to escape everyday life to. The hot tub is a real treat and very relaxing and warm soaking under the stars even in the freezing cold weather.

The owners are right next door and very helpful if you need anything but otherwise leave you to enjoy the break.

We both really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hot tub
Liked least: The small muddy track leading up to the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2016
Happy New Year to you too. It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are delighted you had such a good time. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aimee B
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not long enough”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two nights was not long enough, the cottage was lovely and just what we wanted, get away from it all and the hot tub was a lovely bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Length of stay
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad the Stables provided you with what you were looking for. It would be lovely to see you again one day so that you can stay just that little bit longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What an amazing place. We stayed at the Stables for two nights and we didn't want to go home. It is such a wonderful place. The hot tub was great especially after all the great walks we did (straight from the cottage). Honestly you would be mad not to book this place. The owners are really nice, so helpful and friendly but just leave you alone to enjoy your break. Thank you so much. Would I recommend this place, all I can say is one big huge YES.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it - its great
Liked least: That I had to leave and come home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review. We are delighted you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire211
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Immaculate cottage, that was equipped with everything we needed and perfect for getting away from all the hustle and bustle of life. So peaceful and yet the owners were nearby if we needed anything. Loved watching the sunset from the hot tub on our first evening and exploring Symonds Yat. Perfect for the dog too. We hope to return again for a little bit longer so we can see more of the local area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing