We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and characterful cottage with great vistas”
other travelers have booked this property
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18 A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18
A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
The wonderful of the Flaxley Valley view from the garden at Nuthatch Cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher but a lovely view when you have to wash up!
Looking back into the garden from the lawn.
The lounge with its stone fireplace and woodburner.
Fully porcelain tiled wet room shower and bath.
A modern bathroom in our charactor Cottage.
Master bedroom with a beautiful views from the window.
The view across the valley from the main bedroom window
The twin beds in the second bedroom zip and link to form a superking bed upon request.
A view through the bedrooms.
The view from the front door.
Our wildlife garden and pond
Sit on the Well in the garden and watch the Buzzards circling over the valley.
Another view of the cottage
Jasmine was a new addition this year. located next to the patio to make the most of its sweet scent.
The Agapanthus looked so good this summer.
Bluebells in Flaxley woods. Just a short walk from the Cottage.
Nearby Welshbury Hill. An Ironage Hill Fort covered in Bluebells. well worth a visit.
St Anthony's well is a magical place only 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Jasper, Nemo and Magnus.
They always like to say hello!
One of the many paths in the Wye Valley
This chap got caught up in our garden trying to make friends with our sow Polly!!
A walk in the woods in the Flaxley Valley
The more flowers the more insects the more birds.
Even the Ginko had its fair share of snow.
Winter wonderland in the Flaxley Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
1 review
“Cosy and characterful cottage with great vistas”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Although we are nature lovers we do not have pets, and so we were a little aprehensive about the fact that they were welcomed here with previous guests. No worries here though, the place was spotlessly clean and had all the ameneties you would need for a comfortable stay. The cottage has recently been modernised to a very high standard. It has nice exposed oak features and the kitchen and bathroom are modern and well equipped. Probably the best aspect was the views of Flaxley valley and the abundant birds and wildlife. Owners, Tim and Vicky, were pleasant and unobtrusive, but always there if you needed them. Altogether it was a very pleasant experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to review Nuthatch Cottage.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Thankyou for mentioning the cleanliness, it's something that is always quite rightly expected but never usually picked up on.
It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

This was a lovely family get away. Cottage beauitful. Owners dog and cats very friendly family loved seeing them. Cottage in stunning location and so close to gorgeous walks and the mines with Santa grotto made our trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thanks for your review.
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Forest of Dean.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“First class cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nuthatch Cottage has clearly lovingly been restored and maintained by the owners. Nothing has been skimped on and still the feel is so very comfortable. It has everything you may need. Beautiful location with amazing views across the valley. We were visited by so many varied birds. Lots to do within a short drive to different areas of the Forest of Dean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thankyou for your review of Nuthatch Cottage & pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Forest of Dean.
Hope to see you again
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zengirl95...
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect country hideaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I cannot recommend Nutchatch Cottage highly enough. The cottage itself is immaculate, with everything you could need for a perfect stay. The decor and furniture are of a very high standard, far superior to any holiday rental we have ever stayed in before. The cottage is located down an unmade road with unspoilt views across the valley, and we spent many happy hours watching the sheep and horses from the beautful garden with no noise except for the sounds of the various animals. Our three dogs were very content there and loved the garden and watching the birds on the feeder. We had a lovely Barbeque on the patio in the sunshine and our family who joined us were as impressed with the cottage as we were. We had some lovely walks through the wood and enjoyed the scenery in the Wye Valley, although Symonds Yat was rather crowded for our liking but nevertheless, very pretty. If you want a tranquil hideaway to recharge your batteries, then this is definitely the place for you. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review of Nuthatch Cottage.
We hope to see you again soon.
Vicki &Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday we have had in 29 years”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just recommended Nuthatch to some friends, simply because everything was just perfect. Lovely setting, beautifully renovated property, easy walks into the Forrest, but most of all Vicki & Tim could not have been more welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review of our Cottage.
It makes all our efforts worthwhile when we get to read such lovely comments.
Thankyou once again
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed 4 days in The Forrest of Dean in this comfortable, spotlessly clean, dog friendly perfect cottage with beautiful views. Good walks nearby. Would recommend Nuthatch cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thankyou for you review of Nuthatch Cottage.
We work hard to ensure that the Cottage is always spotlessly clean and we are pleased that it's been noticed.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M
2 reviews
“Beautiful, quiet rural cottage in the country”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic 4 days in Nuthatch cottage. Lovely quiet property surrounded by beautiful countryside in the Forest of Dean. Felt very private and secluded, yet Tim & Vicki were responsive to questions and available if necessary, living close by. In the days we watched the birds and horses, in the evening the bats and listened to the owls and even heard deer barking in the forest on the other side of the valley. One morning we were treated to a fox and cub walking across the field next to us! Just perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
We never take that view and the local wildlife for granted and we are so glad you were able to experience them both at Nuthatch Cottage.
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing