We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend stay”
other travelers have booked this property
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18 A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18
A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
The wonderful of the Flaxley Valley view from the garden at Nuthatch Cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher but a lovely view when you have to wash up!
Looking back into the garden from the lawn.
The lounge with its stone fireplace and woodburner.
Fully porcelain tiled wet room shower and bath.
A modern bathroom in our charactor Cottage.
Master bedroom with a beautiful views from the window.
The view across the valley from the main bedroom window
The twin beds in the second bedroom zip and link to form a superking bed upon request.
A view through the bedrooms.
The view from the front door.
Our wildlife garden and pond
Sit on the Well in the garden and watch the Buzzards circling over the valley.
Another view of the cottage
Jasmine was a new addition this year. located next to the patio to make the most of its sweet scent.
The Agapanthus looked so good this summer.
Bluebells in Flaxley woods. Just a short walk from the Cottage.
Nearby Welshbury Hill. An Ironage Hill Fort covered in Bluebells. well worth a visit.
St Anthony's well is a magical place only 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Jasper, Nemo and Magnus.
They always like to say hello!
One of the many paths in the Wye Valley
This chap got caught up in our garden trying to make friends with our sow Polly!!
A walk in the woods in the Flaxley Valley
The more flowers the more insects the more birds.
Even the Ginko had its fair share of snow.
Winter wonderland in the Flaxley Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melhomerl...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have a 2 night break in this fabulous cottage, the views and location are stunning. The bird song in a morning was lovely to wake up to. The tawny owl calls were a nice sound as well. The cottage is perfect, a real retreat with everything you could ask for and the beds are the comfiest we've slept in! The dog and our 5 year old son loved exploring and seeing the sheep and donkey, we'll definitely return! Thanks Tim and Vicky

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. We love the sound of the owls too. Great to have met you, hope to see you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Nuthatch ”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just come back from a week away at this stunning little cottage. It was a lovely break set just on the edge of the forest. Perfect quiet surroundings with amazing views. Tim and Vicki gave some great advice on where to visit locally and our little labradoodle Skye thoroughly enjoyed herself, relaxing by the log fire at night. Lovely walks from the cottage or a short drive away, or go further afield into Cotswolds or South Wales. Plenty of things to do and explore in the area (brewery tour nearby!) And plenty of country pubs to enjoy an afternoon. The cottage was clean and roomy, everything was thought of and plenty provided. Amazing value for the property you get and will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Thankyou Ben for your great review.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you see you again soon.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e_walker9...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hideaway”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My boyfriend and I have just come home from a brilliant week stay at Nuthatch Cottage which was a wonderful surprise trip for me (and the pup).

On arrival I couldn't believe how beautiful it is inside Nuthatch. The decor is tasteful, warming, clean and comfortable. The views are outstanding...pictures online don't do this cottage justice!

We visited in February and the log fire was a wonderful addition. Very cosy!

Vicki & Tim were brilliant hosts. They are great at giving advice for walks and places to eat. They are also helpful with any issues that may arise. We had a very minor issue with the hot water for the shower and Tim was straight round to fix this. It was a 2 second fix with no problems after.

We most certainly would love to visit again in the future and recommend this holiday to friends and family.

Thank you Vicki and Tim.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Thankyou Emma for your lovely review of Nuthatch Cottage.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane D
1 review
“Fantastic country cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We visited the cottage with our two boys and our dogs. We loved it. This was a truly amazing little cottage and we will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to review Nuthatch Cottage.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. We try to attract the wildlife with our bat and bird boxes, and a new wildlife pond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dean P
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a truly splendid place to go and unwind. The children loved meeting Jasper and your two cats. We loved the walks and so close to Puzzle wood. Seeing Santa at the caves is also a highlight. Really lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2016
Thank you for your review, and glad you all enjoyed your visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
2 reviews
“Mrs Emma howarth”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Absolute stunning cottage , amazing views ,longs walks and cozy evenings with the log burner , will be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review of Nuthatch Cottage.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing