We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18 A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18
A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
The wonderful of the Flaxley Valley view from the garden at Nuthatch Cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher but a lovely view when you have to wash up!
Looking back into the garden from the lawn.
The lounge with its stone fireplace and woodburner.
Fully porcelain tiled wet room shower and bath.
A modern bathroom in our charactor Cottage.
Master bedroom with a beautiful views from the window.
The view across the valley from the main bedroom window
The twin beds in the second bedroom zip and link to form a superking bed upon request.
A view through the bedrooms.
The view from the front door.
Our wildlife garden and pond
Sit on the Well in the garden and watch the Buzzards circling over the valley.
Another view of the cottage
Jasmine was a new addition this year. located next to the patio to make the most of its sweet scent.
The Agapanthus looked so good this summer.
Bluebells in Flaxley woods. Just a short walk from the Cottage.
Nearby Welshbury Hill. An Ironage Hill Fort covered in Bluebells. well worth a visit.
St Anthony's well is a magical place only 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Jasper, Nemo and Magnus.
They always like to say hello!
One of the many paths in the Wye Valley
This chap got caught up in our garden trying to make friends with our sow Polly!!
A walk in the woods in the Flaxley Valley
The more flowers the more insects the more birds.
Even the Ginko had its fair share of snow.
Winter wonderland in the Flaxley Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ClaireFra...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just stayed at Nuthatch Cottage and the cottage has be done to such high standards. We can not fault this place in any way, the location, the cottage, the views are perfect. We have had the most peaceful 4 nights the bed is so comfy!! The owners are friendly and helpful. We will 100% be back for another stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
Thank you for your great feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Nuthutch Cottage is a little world of its own where you can escape the daily pressure of life and relax in excellently presented surroundings and watch the world drift by. We enjoyed the tranquility, watching the multitude of varying bird species feeding outside the kitchen window, watching the changing skies though the skylights and relaxing out on the sheltered patio area.
It was a real treat to stay at and a credit to Vikki who obviously puts much effort into the presentation of the place.
Will certainly visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you for your great review, really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back. Vicki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie I
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful holiday cottage!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful time at Nuthatch Cottage, the cottage was immaculate and well equipped, the setting was breathtaking, the outside space was fantastic for a relaxing break and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed all the walks straight from the cottage. This is one of the best cottages that we have stayed in and we hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so pleased you had a great stay and I'd love to welcome you back.
Vicki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paint-Pot...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful Cottage - Would love to stay again!”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nuthatch cottage is a clean, modern, beautiful cottage with a stunning view of the hillside. We absolutely loved the peace it offered and would have liked to stay longer!

The wood burning stove was a highlight and we spent our evenings lazing in front of the fire. The walks from the door were also wonderful and allowed us to spend time strolling through bluebell filled woods listening to the birds.

We didn't find any pubs or eateries within walking distance really, but there's some fantastic pubs/restaurants (e.g. moody cow & farmers boy) within a short drive away.

When we first arrived there wasn't any oil available for us to cook with, but Vicki kindly helped us out with this :) We know it's a self catering cottage, but thought there could have been a couple more bits and bobs (such as spices, washing up liquid and toilet roll) just to make it a bit more convenient.

Overall, absolutely lovely cottage and we'd recommend it to anyone. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove & the view!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry if you felt there were things missing. We do provide basics such as a toilet roll, kitchen cloth, washing tabs and dishwasher tablets. Salt and pepper, cling film, some tea, coffee and sugar sachets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freejim
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautifully restored cottage, very cosy and homely. Lovely area with lots of walks and places to eat a short drive away. Very relaxing few days stay - would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful cottage set in a lovely rural area of the Forest of Dean.we enjoyed visiting lots of the local villages and also Monmouth.
The cottage is modern and has all facilities.The garden is perfectly enclosed and safe for dogs.I would highly recommend this cottage as a holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Everything was good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time for doing a review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
setate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cosy, comfy cottage in beautiful countryside: perfect for our family stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a brilliant stay at this lovely cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and was toasty warm - sadly we didn't once need to light the woodburner! Beautiful surroundings, lots of walks from the door which we enjoyed, and a short drive into the Forest of Dean for more walking and biking. Vicki was very welcoming and we would have no hesitation in returning. We were a family of four, with a 9 year old and 5 year old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing