We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18 A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
A summers afternoon at Nuthatch Cottage.
The patio is a real sun trap.
A wonderful result for all our hard work.
VisitEngland's Gold Award 2017/18
A detached cottage full of character that sits within its own maturing secure garden.
The wonderful of the Flaxley Valley view from the garden at Nuthatch Cottage.
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher but a lovely view when you have to wash up!
Looking back into the garden from the lawn.
The lounge with its stone fireplace and woodburner.
Fully porcelain tiled wet room shower and bath.
A modern bathroom in our charactor Cottage.
Master bedroom with a beautiful views from the window.
The view across the valley from the main bedroom window
The twin beds in the second bedroom zip and link to form a superking bed upon request.
A view through the bedrooms.
The view from the front door.
Our wildlife garden and pond
Sit on the Well in the garden and watch the Buzzards circling over the valley.
Another view of the cottage
Jasmine was a new addition this year. located next to the patio to make the most of its sweet scent.
The Agapanthus looked so good this summer.
Bluebells in Flaxley woods. Just a short walk from the Cottage.
Nearby Welshbury Hill. An Ironage Hill Fort covered in Bluebells. well worth a visit.
St Anthony's well is a magical place only 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Jasper, Nemo and Magnus.
They always like to say hello!
One of the many paths in the Wye Valley
This chap got caught up in our garden trying to make friends with our sow Polly!!
A walk in the woods in the Flaxley Valley
The more flowers the more insects the more birds.
Even the Ginko had its fair share of snow.
Winter wonderland in the Flaxley Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonnyMcGo...
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great cottage”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Great, cosy cottage with wonderful views. Provides a great base from which to explore the surrounding area. Modern and comfortable inside. It was perfect for us as the owners welcomed children and pets. 5 out of 5.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Picturesque setting
Liked least: Unlocking the digital hob
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thankyou for your review of Nuthatch Cottage. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneLowes
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven ”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for 4 nights on my own just with my Springer Spaniel... 4 perfect nights of rest and relaxation . The cottage is beautiful- spotless, stylish , and very well equipped , warm and cosy and with the most sensational views. Fabulous walking right from the front door. The bed was so comfortable . I've stayed in cottages all over the country and this one is right up there with the best. Can't recommend it highly enough .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2015
We're so pleased that you liked Nuthatch Cottage and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments, it makes all of the hard work worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back. Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place for a much needed rest!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Nuthatch Cottage for three nights and couldn't have stayed anywhere better. From the moment we arrived (it was quite dark) and saw all the fairy lights lighting the way to the door we knew it was perfect! We haven't had such a good sleep in such a long time and the room was completely quiet throughout the night and through to the morning when we could hear the sheep on the hills in the distance and the various birds. The views from the cottage are breathtaking.

Vicki and Tim were so warm and welcoming. We had trouble starting the fire on the second night and Tim came to help which was so lovely.

We had two frequent little feline visitors, who were such lovely characters and so friendly which endeared us to the cottage even more, although curious they just wanted to say hello.

Needless to say, we will 100% be returning at some point as the area is enchanting and the cottage is also exactly that. I couldn't recommend this place more and have already passed the word on to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aggiecc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Nuthatch cottage is beautifully renovated, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. The beds were the comfiest we have ever slept in! We used the log burner every night. This was easy to light thanks to the detailed instructions.
You can walk straight from the cottage or travel a few miles by car into the Forest of Dean and find any number of forest walks, often you are completely alone apart from the Deer.
Nearby we visited Puzzlewood, Goodrich castle, Symonds Yat and the Sculpture Trail, all of which were good outings. Many of these were suggestions from Vicki & Tim the owners who were welcoming and helpful.
We stayed in October 2015 with two children age 13 & 10. We highly recommend Nuthatch cottage and will be returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds and the wood burner
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
A lovely review of Nuthatch Cottage and the Forest of Dean. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We (me, my fiancé and our 2 dogs) stayed at Nuthatch Cottage earlier this month and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We received a warm welcome on arrival and was completely amazed by the cottage. The welcome pack provided a lot of useful information on the cottage as well as things to do, where to eat etc. Our dogs also received their own blankets and towels which was a nice touch 
The cottage was spotless and had everything we needed, there wasn't anything we couldn't find in the kitchen.....it was a home from home. In fact, it was better equipped than our home own!
The views were absolutely stunning from the bedroom and kitchen window. It was lovely to wake up, overlooking fields. It was peaceful and tranquil which was exactly what we were hoping for.
We found that there was a lot to do in the surrounding area. There is a lovely walk on the doorstep which our dogs LOVED! We visited Symmonds Yat (a 10-15 minute drive away) which was perfect for long walks (with or without the dogs) and cycling. Gloucester itself was lovely with the historic docks. Puzzlewood is a unique and enchanting place which is great for kids and adults (no dogs allowed) and only a 15 minute drive away. It was great to go out for the day then retreat back to the beautiful cottage to relax in front of the log burner.
Whether you are looking for a relaxing get-away, or an active break away, I would highly recommend Nuthatch cottage.
Thank you Tim and Vickie for making our stay amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it! The cottage, the views,the walks, the log burner......the list is endless
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Wow!! Thankyou Michelle & Dan for your review of Nuthatch Cottage. Vicki and I were completely blown away by your comments.
We hope you will both come back and stay again soon.
Vicki & Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Great value and very comfortable home base for a break with nature”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The whole family really enjoyed our stay in this newly and lovingly renovated cottage with its beautiful views. Great walking paths right outside the front door and a really cosy hearth to come home to. Loved it and will be back - please just organize the adaptor before then !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views and comfortable surroundings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments. We'll source a Euro adapter for you and our next continental visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing