We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, Comfortable and Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Cosy lounge area with electric flame effect wood burner (electricity is included in the rental)
A welcome tray includes local apple juice and biscuits as well as teas coffees and a pint of milk
Parking and path as seen from the front door of Little Owl
Sculpture Trail from Beecehnhurst Lodge
November is a great time to see the autumn colours: here St Anthony's well down in the valley
Wild boar can be found all over he forest including in our local woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynnst9
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Clean, Comfortable and Relaxing”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely quite location but not too far from the attractions. Great place to stay, really clean, with attention to the all important details. Dog towels and sofa covers where provided and complimentary apple juice, milk and biscuits. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Owl hideaway! I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation comfortable and clean. Please do come and stay again if you are ever in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHawk52
Weimar, Germany
1 review
“Lovely place in great location”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very friendly, comfortable and easy to live in. Lovely walks - a great place to stay and enjoy the Forest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Owl. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate J
2 reviews
“Great little hideaway”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect location for some R&R. Dog friendly with plenty of beautiful walks to chose from. Karen and Lis very helpful and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
We really enjoyed meeting you and the dogs and we're really glad that you had a great stay at Little Owl. We are already looking forwards to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewrens
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second visit and can't wait to go back. Beautiful location. The little owl is just perfect,cosy everything you need”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect for beautiful walks. Husband did the park run at the Forest of Dean. Visit Ross on Wye walked by the river. Lovely friendly pubs .
Just perfect to relax and get away from it all.

Totally recommend a visit our dog loved it too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Owl and we're so pleased you would like to come back for a third time! It's even nicer now that we have had the brand new kitchen installed! Check out the photos on our Facebook page!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_cjenkins...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little owl”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a very well presented lovely cosy space situated in lovely quiet and peaceful country side with lots of different great walks. We visited St. Anthony's well which was a great walk. Thank you Karen and Liz for a great stay. Hoping to come back and stay in one of the cottages next time round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Little Owl and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It certainly is a walker's paradise here as there are so man footpaths to explore! We very much look forwards to welcoming you back to our dog friendly Wren Cottage next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirelle...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had an amazing short break this was our second visit this year, the autumn leaves were so colourful and the frost looked beautiful yesterday morning, little owl is very cosy and romantic for 2 our dog had a lovely time plenty of walks to go on, very beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Little Owl. It's great that you enjoyed your second stay here! We are loving the glorious frosty mornings here at the moment -let's hope it continues. (Actually I'm hoping for a white Christmas!) We look forwards to seeing you again in 2017 - you and the pooch are aways welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMcIntyr
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner and I stayed with the two dogs for 4 days at the cottage, it's perfect, everything you could possibly need is in there. Such a beautiful place, with so many things to see & do. I would highly recommend Little Owl and would love to stay again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Little Owl. I'm so glad you and your 2 dogs enjoyed your stay here and we look forwards to welcoming you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing