We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage with beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew G
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well equipped, clean and presented cottage with fantastic views. Ideal location for the Forest of Dean and lovely walks. Very dog friendly. Would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forwards to welcoming you back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K
2 reviews
“Great little get away”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a fab time at the wren cottage which was perfect for the two of us. Great base to go and see the local attractions and walks in the forrest of dean and a wonderful spot to enjoy the evening views from the outdoors facilities. Great trip, thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are so pleased that you liked it and that you had a great stay here! We never tire of this view and are lucky enough to see it every day. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day soon, Emily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMa...
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning View and Character”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

we stayed at Wren Cottage, a cosy and welcoming cottage complete with all essential amenities. The location is so peaceful and tranquil and a short walk takes you right into the Forest of Dean. Fantastic forest views from the cottage. Just 20 min drive to Gloucester. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. It's great that you enjoyed your stay here. The peace, tranquility and views are what drew us to this place when we moved here! We look forwards to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B
1 review
“Great hideaway”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely setting.
Cottage cosy. Had all we needed for our 5 day stay.
Walks nearby woods very special.
Plus smudge woofer loved it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We're really glad you had a great stay and hope that you enjoyed your tandem ride. It's also good to hear the lovely Smudge enjoyed it too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect attention to detail, for humans and dogs - wonderful break”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful cottage with loads of character. Spacious yet cosy for two people and a dog, with loads and loads of thoughtful gestures.
Doggy welcome pack, basket of logs, pint of milk plus tea & coffee - just perfect!
Maps, books, selection of videos, handwash & dishwasher tablets - so helpful to make the extra touches feel luxurious.
A perfect retreat - stunning location & views, comfortable and stylish.
But you do need a car!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fabulous review! It is nice to hear that we are doing a good job and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back anytime and we will look forwards to seeing you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelasY7...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning and peaceful dog friendly cosy cottage””
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cosy cottage is set in a great location overlooking the valley. Peaceful hideaway with wonderful walks and wildlife. Ideal spot especially for dogs. Plenty of places to visit , nature reserves, centres for activities and the Forest of Dean are just a few.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
We're glad you have enjoyed your time with us and that you like the Wren Cottage. It has been great to meet you and see your lovely dogs too having a good time sniffing about, even at the ripe old age of 12 and 15! You certainly made the most of your stay and visited lots of interesting places. If you ever would like to return to the forest, we would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy away from it delight”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for a weekend with our dog Moose . Lovely away from it cottage with everything you need , very clean , beautiful lounge with log burner , bed very comfy shower room small but perfect . All we could hear was the wildlife and donkey, so peaceful , lots of beautiful birds that visited the feeders outside the cottage . We took 2 lots of meals for 2 from M&S as it is away from it and had lovely romantic meals in infront of the log fire .. just what we wanted it was perfect . Lots of walks with the dog with maps supplied in the cottage and the owners happy to give local knowledge . A lovely spot whatever the season , we will love to come back again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review or our Wren Cottage. WE're so glad you had a great weekend and found the cottage to be welcoming and romantic! WE are looking forwards to welcoming you and Moose back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing