We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and peaceful dog friendly cosy cottage””
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
angelasY7...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning and peaceful dog friendly cosy cottage””
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cosy cottage is set in a great location overlooking the valley. Peaceful hideaway with wonderful walks and wildlife. Ideal spot especially for dogs. Plenty of places to visit , nature reserves, centres for activities and the Forest of Dean are just a few.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
We're glad you have enjoyed your time with us and that you like the Wren Cottage. It has been great to meet you and see your lovely dogs too having a good time sniffing about, even at the ripe old age of 12 and 15! You certainly made the most of your stay and visited lots of interesting places. If you ever would like to return to the forest, we would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail5868...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy away from it delight”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for a weekend with our dog Moose . Lovely away from it cottage with everything you need , very clean , beautiful lounge with log burner , bed very comfy shower room small but perfect . All we could hear was the wildlife and donkey, so peaceful , lots of beautiful birds that visited the feeders outside the cottage . We took 2 lots of meals for 2 from M&S as it is away from it and had lovely romantic meals in infront of the log fire .. just what we wanted it was perfect . Lots of walks with the dog with maps supplied in the cottage and the owners happy to give local knowledge . A lovely spot whatever the season , we will love to come back again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review or our Wren Cottage. WE're so glad you had a great weekend and found the cottage to be welcoming and romantic! WE are looking forwards to welcoming you and Moose back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage and setting ”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in Robin cottage for 5 days. The setting and accommodation are simply wonderful. The remote location and fantastic views across the valley really make you feel totally away from everything.
My son (11) and his school friend had the upstairs room and I had the sofa bed downstairs. The bed was really easy to form each evening Abby equally quick to tidy away at night
The owner Karen love just up the path and was very helpful without being intrusive.
I would throughly recommend this accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Thank you very much for this great review of our Robin Cottage! We were so pleased to see you making the most of your stay, cycling all over and having a fun time! Clearwell Caves, which you said you visited, is a really interesting place to find out about the history of mining in the area and I expect the boys were fascinated to learn how the children had to go down the mines in times gone by! You were the first to use the sofa bed, so I'm pleased to hear that it was comfortable and easy to use. If ever you want to return and explore some more of this area, we'd be very happy to welcome you back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jifgreeng...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in Wren cottage for 3 nights for a quiet getaway. We could have moved in.Nestled in a tranquil stunning Valley we didn't feel like we needed to go anywhere, but right on the forests doorstep we had to see if we could spot a boar. No joy but the sculpture park within the forest of Dean is worth a peak.
We choose to visit somewhere new every time we go away. This could be our first return venue.
Karen had even gone out of her way to make us comfortable and had added special gluten free biscuits. Thank-you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad you had such a great stay and honoured you might consider coming back for a second time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marg...
1 review
“Gorgeous cosy peaceful little cottage - a perfect retreat.”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This little place is a real gem - right off the beaten track - and tucked down in a tranquil valley. Karen (one of the owners) made us feel very welcome, as did the lovely local apple juice and biscuits waiting for us in the cottage kitchen! The cottage is warm and cosy, with a log burner as well as electric heating - ideal for our January stay. We loved the wildlife garden - the bird hide is fabulous and very effective. We were tucked away out of the cold, saw many different birds coming and going, and watched young squirrels chasing each other up and down the trees. There are so many beautiful walks right from the doorstep - we're definitely going to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you ever so much for this lovely review. We're so glad you liked our little Wren Cottage and that you had a memorable stay with us. We're especially pleased you enjoyed all the wildlife and made good use of our hide! You really do see more if you use it, as all the shy birds (and other creatures) come out then! We did the Big Garden Birdwatch from our house, but wished we had gone to the hide, as we could see there were many more birds down there than outside our window, even in the rain! Thank you for your comments once again, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neddiemo7
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Your own little hideaway”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings.
Great for those who love the countryside and a great base for exploring the area on foot, bike or by car.
Cottage has everything you would need and is very cosy. A happy place where you feel at peace with the world and at one with nature. Very foggy friendly.
Note there is a very steep path to get to the cottage, but this is a minor point and adds to the beauty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found the cottage to be welcoming. We love the fog, but thought you probably meant "doggy" friendly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C and V...
2 reviews
“Cute, pet-friendly secluded cottage”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Amazing walks and pubs, and very helpful owner.
Cottage warm and cosy.
Lovely scenery, and local bird-life

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad you liked the area and cottage and hope to be able to welcome you and your dog back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing