We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little piece of the world! A relaxing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clancys16
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful little piece of the world! A relaxing stay for those who love the outdoors!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay at Wren cottage with our 2 mini dachshunds. The cottage was decorated in a very modern way which combined very well with the restored cottage! We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere with a beautiful view and a wildlife garden for the dogs to safely enjoy! Would highly recommend it and would like to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really pleased that you had such a great stay and we look forwards to welcoming you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Off the beaten track and very peaceful. Just what we were looking for.
We would use this cottage again should we return to the Forest of Dean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time out to review Wren Cottage, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrishaw...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time. Lovely cottage in a great location with fabulous views. Great for dogs and Liz and Karen are great hosts with plenty of local knowledge. Would definitely recommend the 20 min drive to walk round Symminds Yat while staying at the cottage. We would definitely return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return. We are looking forwards to welcoming you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet and scenery
Liked least: Small television
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank you very much for reviewing Wren Cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday here and that you would like to come back and stay! Your comments are very helpful to those who are thinking about coming here and I am sure they will be appreciated. We are very much looking forwards to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

this was our first visit to the Forest of Dean and it couldn't of been more perfect, Wren cottage is small, but perfect for a couple, everything you need is supplied, the bed is comfy, the place is spotlessly clean and it is unbelievably quiet, this is a real feet-away from it all holiday cottage!
The local area is brilliant if you love exploring, lots of great walks and nice little villages, some great pubs too! If you fancy a day out the Cotswolds are less than an hour away as is Bristol.
If like us you have dogs, the cottage really is dog friendly, blankets,towels and dog treats on arrival, step out the door and you are onto a lovely track into the forest. We couldn't recommend Wren cottage enough, it's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet position
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review! We enjoyed having you to stay and your two lovely gentle labs too. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandlee1...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We wanted a short break with the dogs. This was the perfect place.
It is close to enough for seeing the Forest of Dean but far enough away from traffic and noise.
The cottage is cosy and comfortable and just the right size.
The owners were extremely friendly and recommended walks and pubs etc.
There were walks right outside the door and a lovely wildlife garden.
It was so peaceful and restful.
PERFECT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay here - you are welcome to come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selseylad...
west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as peaceful as hoped”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found Wren Cottage to be a cosy, clean and comfortable place to stay in a beautiful location with kind owners. However, we booked the cottage because we wanted a 'get away from it all' holiday in a quiet and peaceful location. Unfortunately, due to landscaping and construction work in the owner's garden, we did not get the quiet and tranquil surroundings we were expecting.
I appreciate the owners were very apologetic, but I wish we had been warned of the situation before our arrival so we could re-consider our options.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and the evenings watching the bats.
Liked least: The construction work
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the landscaping work, and as I explained we were given very little notice ourselves that our builders were returning after having left the site unfinished in December. We tried to manage the situation as best we could by keeping in close contact with the builder so as to let you know when there would be noise (2 days out of seven). We also refunded one night of your stay, hopefully making amends for the disturbance. Hopefully, you were able to enjoy peace and quiet during the other 5 days of your stay with us. We’re glad you found the cottage clean and comfortable and thank you for rating us 4 out of 5 overall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing