We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

this was our first visit to the Forest of Dean and it couldn't of been more perfect, Wren cottage is small, but perfect for a couple, everything you need is supplied, the bed is comfy, the place is spotlessly clean and it is unbelievably quiet, this is a real feet-away from it all holiday cottage!
The local area is brilliant if you love exploring, lots of great walks and nice little villages, some great pubs too! If you fancy a day out the Cotswolds are less than an hour away as is Bristol.
If like us you have dogs, the cottage really is dog friendly, blankets,towels and dog treats on arrival, step out the door and you are onto a lovely track into the forest. We couldn't recommend Wren cottage enough, it's perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet position
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review! We enjoyed having you to stay and your two lovely gentle labs too. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joandlee1...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We wanted a short break with the dogs. This was the perfect place.
It is close to enough for seeing the Forest of Dean but far enough away from traffic and noise.
The cottage is cosy and comfortable and just the right size.
The owners were extremely friendly and recommended walks and pubs etc.
There were walks right outside the door and a lovely wildlife garden.
It was so peaceful and restful.
PERFECT

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay here - you are welcome to come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selseylad...
west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as peaceful as hoped”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found Wren Cottage to be a cosy, clean and comfortable place to stay in a beautiful location with kind owners. However, we booked the cottage because we wanted a 'get away from it all' holiday in a quiet and peaceful location. Unfortunately, due to landscaping and construction work in the owner's garden, we did not get the quiet and tranquil surroundings we were expecting.
I appreciate the owners were very apologetic, but I wish we had been warned of the situation before our arrival so we could re-consider our options.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and the evenings watching the bats.
Liked least: The construction work
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the landscaping work, and as I explained we were given very little notice ourselves that our builders were returning after having left the site unfinished in December. We tried to manage the situation as best we could by keeping in close contact with the builder so as to let you know when there would be noise (2 days out of seven). We also refunded one night of your stay, hopefully making amends for the disturbance. Hopefully, you were able to enjoy peace and quiet during the other 5 days of your stay with us. We’re glad you found the cottage clean and comfortable and thank you for rating us 4 out of 5 overall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
167kevinp...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful cottage and surroundings. Cosy & quiet away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. A real gem to find. A car is a must though as it is really in the middle of nowhere. Cottage was very well stocked with all the equipment you would have at home. Would love to return again in the future. Would recommend to anyone who wants some peace and tranquility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and views and the quietness
Liked least: The off track road was a bit bumpy & awkward when passing other cars etc
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We're so glad that the cottage lived up to expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday.. We look forwards to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel6620...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful find”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

loved it, such a cute little cottage, so well equipped, so peaceful, a perfect little hideaway, lovely welcome and the option to check in earlier than expected, exceptionally clean and the log burner warmed the whole cottage up perfectly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: lack of a bath to relax in after long walks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilbeam
Burnley, England
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Recharged Batteries!”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Seeking an out of the way place for me, my wife and springer spaniel to spend a quiet few days we were delighted to find this cottage. Very small and with the right amount of charm it was the perfect base to go walking or just stay in to chill.
A great wood burner that heated the whole cottage, nicely appointed and comfortable we couldn't really have asked for more.
It is certainly a place we'll try and visit again in the summer months to enjoy more of the outdoors!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
It was lovely to meet you and your lovely springer and I'm glad you all had a great time at the cottage. We love it there to and in fact, are staying in Robin Cottage next door this coming weekend for a break of our own! Looking forwards to welcoming the three of you back in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing