We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WRose45
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely break in a beautiful, peaceful location. The cottage has been restored to a high standard with good fixtures and fittings and was spotlessly clean. We particularly enjoyed having the log burner going in the evenings.

Great base to explore the local countryside especially as the owner has been kind enough to detail several walks that can be taken from the cottage’s front door.

The approach to the cottage from the designated parking spot is down a steep slope and there is a narrow staircase in the cottage so I would not recommend the property for people with mobility issues. However it’s great for a quiet, relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle. I would return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely reveiw. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, pleased you enjoyed your weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebbyface
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tranquil haven.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Wren Cottage as a birthday treat for my partner and we weren't disappointed. In fact, we were shocked at the excellent value for money - the price was fantastic for what we were given. A beautiful, well-presented little cottage in the most peaceful of locations, Wren has everything one needs for a fantastic long weekend away. From the log-burner to the comfy sofa, the hot shower to the complimentary apple juice, the views to the comfy bed, we had a fantastic time. Coming from Brighton, we were desperate for some peace and quiet, and we got it.

The cottage is only a short walk from the forest and all the beautiful trails on offer, and a very short car ride away from the village of Mitcheldean. We made the most of the rainy days, driving into Monmouth and Ross and visiting Clearwell Caves, but on the clear day we had, we walked right into the forest, getting muddy in the process, then ended the day at the local pub, which was fantastic. It was wonderful to come home to a lovely, warm fire and a snuggly, warm sofa. Wren Cottage really felt like home.

One thing - there is no internet access and very little phone signal. Embrace it - it's the best feeling in the world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2012
So please it exceeded your expectations and thank your for the amazing reveiw.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2012
So glad you and the dog enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
We are glad you loved your stay and enjoyed the haven we have tried to create. Thank you for you lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing