We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location and scenery”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne S
1 review
“Stunning location and scenery”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful time at Robin Cottage. Karen (the owner) was so helpful throughout the whole process and gave us some great tips of places to visit. The holiday cottage was perfect, very clean and it had everything we needed. It is set in amazing surroundings and the grounds are a real asset. It was such a privilege to be able to sit out and have breakfast/evening meal in such stunning scenery. Would highly recommend this holiday cottage and we look forward to a return visit at some point.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2018
We're so pleased you had a great stay and were able to enjoy the amazing setting and in such stunning weather! It was lovely to meet you both and your little one. We look forward to seeing you again when you have time to come back down this way, Karen and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Robin Cottage suited us so well: very comfortable with fab views. Loved the whole area, but will always remember the amazing bluebells on a lovely walk suggested in the Cottage information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of Robin Cottage. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. The bluebells really are stunning and do have to be seen to be believed don't they? You came at a very good time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew R
Brighton
2 reviews
“Cosy winter break”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved our long weekend at Robin Cottage. There is plenty to do and see in the local area, and we particularly enjoyed putting on the log burner in the evenings and relaxing in front of the fire. A beautiful and peaceful retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Robin Cottage. We're really pleased you had such a peaceful and relaxing break. We hope to see you again one day, Karen and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climber45...
1 review
“Lovely cottage in stunning location.”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had a lovely three days in this cottage in the Forest of Dean. We're into wildlife and so the tranquil location suited us fine. Near enough to local town to buy all you need and only minutes from superb countryside.
The host Karen is very helpful without being intrusive. We arrived late in the snow but she was there to meet and greet us.
Only real negative is the fairly steep hill from the car park to the cottage and having to carry all the luggage to and fro.
Would recommend to anyone who likes being outdoors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Robin Cottage. We are both really pleased you had a great stay. You were lucky to see it in the snow!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage magnificent location.”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Beautiful cottage the log fires a bonus, the rooms was light and airy, the bed was so comfy, the welcome tray was a nice touch the apple juice was really nice and the biscuits was addictive, location was amazing beautiful views with lots of nice walks will definitely return in the summer to see more of the forest, we met Karen who was very welcoming and helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Robin Cottage. We always love to hear that people have had a great stay here and I'm glad you enjoyed the biscuits and juice. We keep the biscuits in a locked cupboard so that we are not tempted! We look forwards to welcoming you back in the summer. Thank again for the lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sianmurph...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous little cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just a beautiful little cottage with stunning views. Would definitely recommend a visit an idea place to stay to visit the many attractions within The Forest of Dean. Even had snow which made our stay even more magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Thank you Sian! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's so beautiful here when it snows - you were lucky to see it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrina f
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wow! What can we say....Karen and Lis have provided and thought of everything needed for a break away....and some! The welcome tray waiting for us on arrival was a really nice touch. Spotless cottage with a very well equipped kitchen, beautifully decorated. Very warm and welcoming owners who I think have put a tremendous effort into providing first class accommodation.
The handbook with local walks and recommendations for places to eat a great idea. We went to the Kilcot Inn nearby, fantastic food.
The great British weather behaved itself and we had hot sunny weather and we're rewarded with an amazing sunset out of the window.
Ross on wye well worth a visit from here also.
We absolutely loved our time here at Robin cottage, we would definitely recommend to family and friends....We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Robin Cottage. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and found the accomadation met your expectations. The Kilcot Inn is definitely one of our best local eateries! You are welcome back anytime and we look forwards to seeing you again! Lis and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing