We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catrina f
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wow! What can we say....Karen and Lis have provided and thought of everything needed for a break away....and some! The welcome tray waiting for us on arrival was a really nice touch. Spotless cottage with a very well equipped kitchen, beautifully decorated. Very warm and welcoming owners who I think have put a tremendous effort into providing first class accommodation.
The handbook with local walks and recommendations for places to eat a great idea. We went to the Kilcot Inn nearby, fantastic food.
The great British weather behaved itself and we had hot sunny weather and we're rewarded with an amazing sunset out of the window.
Ross on wye well worth a visit from here also.
We absolutely loved our time here at Robin cottage, we would definitely recommend to family and friends....We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Robin Cottage. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and found the accomadation met your expectations. The Kilcot Inn is definitely one of our best local eateries! You are welcome back anytime and we look forwards to seeing you again! Lis and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gidgeclev
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bird photography from bed.”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage with abundant wildlife on the doorstep, the decor is up to date without detracting from the traditional stone cottage and everything has been very well thought out and provided for. Walks from the doorstep and interesting places to go within a short drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review of Robin Cottage. We hadn't realised that you could see the birds on the feeders from the bed-we're thinking of making this our USP! Glad you saw lots of wildlife and enjoyed your stay in Robin Cottage. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidoniema...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning scenery, beautiful cottage, perfect getaway!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I don't think I can accurately put into words how much I loved this cottage. It is not only beautiful inside and out, it was immaculately clean, well laid out, cosy, welcoming and had excellent facilities. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and the welcome tray was a lovely touch. The bathroom was clean, fresh and spacious. The bedroom, whilst very spacious, felt cosy and comfortable. The views are to die for, I couldn't stop staring out of the bathroom window! The only thing I would have liked would be net curtains in the bedroom and bathroom, as curtains/blinds had to be closed for privacy - and as they were blackout it meant that we had to keep switching the lights on in the daytime which is a bit of a shame. Other than that - this is the perfect cottage and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely rural getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you very much for your amazing review and it's great to know that you loved Robin Cottage! We will look into the privacy aspect of the upstairs rooms and see if there is anything we can do. In the past we have always shied away from net curtains as it seems a shame to put anything at all in front of the lovely view. We are about to put new curtains in the bedroom, so this might be a good time to reconsider that window. Thank you once again for all the feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindseyby...
Dunbar
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect peace”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were here for a two week break and at the end we stayed an extre night! Glorious location. Lovely views over the valley and cottage was well equipped. Hosts were a delight and gave us lots of tips and advice, but left us alone. Very comfortable bed and a great shower, always essential for holidays. Loads to see and do in the area and glorious walks in the forest from the front door. Came back feeling most refreshed and hope to go back again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
It was lovely to have you both to stay at Robin Cottage. We very much enjoyed meeting you and sharing all our local knowledge with you! We're glad that you liked the cottage and had a relaxing stay and we we look forwards to welcoming you back again one day soon, Karen and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjones162...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and Adventurous”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Me and my girlfriend booked and stayed at the Robin cottage for a long weekend, on arrival we were pleasantly surprises by the simplistic beauty of the cottage and how well organised everything was, to the point there were even folders set up for local walks!
We visited the forest of dean every day we were there which is only a short drive away and also cycled the woodlabd tracks just behind the cottage all so beautiful!
I caanot fault the tranquility of it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
So pleased that Robin Cottage impressed you! We love it too! I'm glad you enjoyed the walks and there are so many you can do from the cottage, which means you don't have to drive around all the time. We look forwards to welcome you back again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Robin cottage is perfect for a getaway for 2. Well equipped and very clean. It's set in a fantastic location with breath-taking views of the surrounding country side. It's well away from any roads and is very quiet and peaceful. Not really knowing this part of England I couldn't have picked a better base for our holiday. Everything we wanted to do/see was within 10 miles of the cottage so we didn't have to waste too much time travelling between attractions. We did the family bike trail at Cannop every day and would highly recommend it - the first couple of miles go steadily uphill though! Really pleased I picked Robin cottage and we will definitely be back:) Many thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all the surrounding attractions in the Forest of Dean! The family cycle trail is a great ride with the possibility of stopping off for refreshments at the newly renovated cafe at Beechenhurst. We're glad you liked the cottage and would love to welcome you back to stay again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict2...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't keep away”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our first stay in Robin Cottage but we have stayed in Wren cottage next door 2 or 3 times previously.
Robin is delightful, it is spacious and very well equipped yet comfortable and cozy.
The very well equipped and laid out kitchen made cooking a full roast dinner as easy as at home and the bathroom with tub and power shower was essential after some very long walks.
A very good quality and easy to use log burner made the slightly chillier evenings a pleasure although the electric heaters were very effective and quick to use.

Great internet and wifi for us townies!
Unobtrusive and friendly owners!
Clean and comfortable accommodation!
Great location, ideal for exploring the Forest or further afield.

Can't wait till our next adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Wow! Thank you very much for this wonderful review! It's great to hear we are doing a good job. We look forwards to welcoming you back on your next adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing