We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coll11Sef...
Tipton,West Midlands, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful cottage in a great location if you want to get away from it all. Wonderful venue for nature lovers. Friendly hosts. Lots of walking opportunities in the area.
Our second visit and we would love to go again.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wildlife garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us. We are really glad you had another enjoyable holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 8, 2014
We are really pleased that you had such a great stay and thank you for your amazing comments. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: No complaints to be made!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2014
We are so glad that you had such an amazing time on your birthday. Thank you for posting your comments, it's great to get such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2014
It's is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Wren Cottage. Thank you for your feedback, it was good to hear about your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're really glad you had a good time at Robin Cottage and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeffnJule...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage but not perfect.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The cottage is in a lovely position on the side of a valley and has been converted to a high standard and the owners are extremely pleasant. The lounge has a delightful free standing stove that really does take the chill off in cold conditions. On the flip side the shower is awful the design of the head is useless and needs to be changed and the tap on the bathroom sink is so powerful it is a bonus if you don't soak yourself. Another bug would be the approach by car along a mile of rutted potholed hell which as we do not own a 4x4 was not easy or pleasant. Lastly paying around £2 per day (in winter) for electricity on top of the rental is slightly cheeky. Oh and the Wifi is extremely weak and failed to connect.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The shower, the lane approaching the property & the electric meter
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the setting of our cottage and the standard of the renovation work. We are sorry that your experience did not fully meet with your expectations. We do state in all our advertising that electricity is by prepayment meter and we have set our prices to reflect this. We feel that rather than including a set amount for each guest to cover our electricity costs, guests can choose how much they wish to spend. We do acknowledge that the track leading to the cottages is currently in a poor state owing to the recent adverse weather that we have had in this part of the country. Following your comments we will aim to make this fact more prominent in our advertising which will help future guests in choosing the right holiday for them. As soon as conditions are more favorable, the local farmer will resurface it, but it is not tarmacked and so will never be perfect. We also thank you for your comment about the shower, and having reviewed our advert we are already working on the wording to provide a more accurate description.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hm31191
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This cottage is a great place to stay. The cottage is perfectly decorated,and the log burner is excellent for when the weather is cold. There is also a selection of walks that you can do from the cottage, which were a great way of seeing the beautiful surroundings.The staff made us feel very welcomed and were very friendly and easy to talk to.
Would definitely return for another stay.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2013
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at Robin Cottage. Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to meeting you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing