We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clive O
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Came here with my wife for the weekend. Great place.

One of the major plus points in this place is the bathroom. Most cottages of this size/price do not have a bath and shower combo like this one. They are both fantastic.

The living area is spacious with a fully equipped kitchen so self catering is easy. The couch is comfortable, if a little small, but they provide a comfy single chair also so no complaints about seating. They provide all the wood you'll need for an awesome wood burning stove and have full central heating if you prefer that.

The bedroom has a very comfortable oversized double with lovely bedding. Chest of drawers and wardrobe provide ample storage.

Whilst we didn't use it (rainy February weekend) there is a private garden area and a larger area shared with the Stone Barn. Would be lovely on summer days/evenings.

The cottage is on the end of a working dairy farm. There are associated sounds and smells which are really not bad/disruptive. The windows and doors are excellent and you cannot hear/smell anything should you not wish to. Please know this before you book, it's not fair when people later give bad ratings because a cottage on a farm smelt like a cottage on a farm.

In fact, being on the farm is a plus point. It really adds to the character of the place and the culture of the area. The boss also offers a free guided tour of the farm which was excellent, informative and he was very patient with my silly city dweller questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatrinSta...
Catrinstar
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful and perfect”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Clean, well maintained and well equipped. Just what my husband and I were looking for for our weekend away from everything. Thank you so much!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphy45
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVELY SHORT BREAK”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the calf shed from the 30th Sept for four nights . The barn is a lovely location when you go into the small garden you are surrounded by lovely views and the cow's come up to the fence which is lovely , The barn its self is very clean well presented and the bed is one of the most comfortable bed's I have ever slept in on holiday , the bathroom is just perfect lovely bath and shower. The owner came to see us just after we arrived which was nice has its on a busy working farm ! . We had a nice bottle of wine, biscuits , milk and eggs and a welcome note from the owners also when we arrived . Its a very tranquil location all in all. would highly recommend the calf shed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveg280
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great stay at this property with a very warm welcome from the owners including smoked salmon and organic eggs. The photos do not do it full justice as the bathroom is excellent. Well situated to take in many local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom and comfortable bed. The garden was great to sit out in the evening
Liked least: All great although the website photos do not do it justice
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L
1 review
“The calf shed”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Absolutely amazing. Even better than the pictures. So peaceful and quiet. The place is small but just the right size for 2 on a romantic get away. Bathroom has a large bath and an amazing shower. Bedroom is cozy with built in wardrobe chest of draws and the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in. Lounge/kitchen is so cute and cosy. from the pictures i got the impression it was a bit empty but its perfect. Everything you could need in the kitchen to cook and prepare meals. Fridge has a small freezer compartmet in.sofa is small but comfortable. We spent most our time on it cuddled up in front of the tv (which also has a dvd player) and the amazing log burner which my boyfriend loved (all wood included). The lounge/kitchen opens up on to a small private patio/grass area which we didnt really use because it was cold but would be lovley in the summer. And the view in the morning of the frosty fields was beautiful. The larger barn across from us was occupied but we felt totally on our own. Away from the world... the wifi is good. Being a young couple we are always on our phones and this was an important for our our facebook updates of our get away!!. We arrived early and i dont think they were expecting us to be such a young couple (im 24 but i look 18 lol) but they were lovley, polite and very welcoming. Couldnt have asked for more, will definitely be comming again. We came for new year/first anniversary get away. And i couldnt have asked for a better week away. If ur thinking of booking this... DO IT! Perfect for some peace quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveMyKid...
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful retreat - perfect getaway”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We needed to get away last minute and found the Calf Shed on the Sykes website. We were thrilled with what we found and it lived up to the "blurb" we'd read. Welcome pack, lovely area, set on a farm with only the cows to talk to, really off the beaten track. We would love to return at some point. Only issue we had was blocked drains in the bathroom which was swiftly sorted out by the owners when we reported it and we were given two bottles of wine in compensation and a lovely, apologetic note! (We put this issue down to "teething problems" of a newly completed rental accomodation). Quite near a railway line, but that was the only reminder of the busyness of the real world that we found. Lots to do nearby (within walking distance and by car). Fallen in love with this newly discovered area of the country!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete solitude
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing