We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and unusual gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westbury Court Gardens

Westbury Court Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unusual gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm not sure when I started enjoying National Trust properties but it creeps up on you like crows feet and a saggy middle. This little gem was a delight, we stopped off on route from Coleford to Gloucester on a Sunday and walked the gardens in about an hour. There are picnic facilities and a toilet but very little else to tempt you, however, when we inquired about the nearest tea room the NT volunteer directed us to the church next door where we had a lovely tea and cake fest for £3.50 (unlimited tea!) each and chatted to the very friendly wardens and friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlonaChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    51
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a bit small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

would have liked more, its all visable at once and a bit smaller than expected. would have liked a few more hidden gems but I guess thats how this style is meant to be

Helpful?
Thank countryotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
199 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Most unusual restored Dutch water garden - don't miss if you are in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were moving from one stop in Gloucestershire to our next stop in south Wales so dropped in here on the way. There is a small car park and the visitor reception is in a wooden shed. There is no café and just one toilet in the garden.

As you enter the gate, you come across a delightful garden set along a long Dutch style canal. It is only when you get to the end of this canal that you see the adjacent vast water garden and, beyond that, is another excellent flower garden. Around all this are dotted various “summer houses” and place to sit.

We probably spent less than an hour there so it is not worth travelling a long way to see but, if you are in the area, do not miss it because it is supposed to be the only fully restored Dutch water garden in the country.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Croquet anyone?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

lovely peaceful gardens where the beautiful yew hedges are starting to suffer from the phytophthora disease, so visit and make a donation to the NT to help. Rescued from property developers in the 1960's the painted tulip wood panels in the rebuilt pavilion are wonderful. There is a croquet lawn where you can play a gripping game of croquet (free too).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gardens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Lovely on a sunny day....more value if there is an event on.

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westbury Court Gardens also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Westbury Court Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing