We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Awre, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian G
Harlow
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a great little cottage to stay in, full equipped with plenty of space. Easy access to the forest of dean and other exciting places in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Its good to hear you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for reviewing us. We would be pleased to welcome you again - we give a discount to returners!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing bolthole for the discerning”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a little gem tucked away amongst fields and with views and walks to the river Severn.

The cottage was extrememly well equipped (even with a log burner for the winter) and the welcome pack went much further than was expected: home made bread and jelly, local butter and locally made cider.

We cannot speak too highly of this cottage and, given the chance, would certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Overall ambiance of the property, peacefull surroundings, easy access to everything.
Liked least: The internet signal was a little unpredictable - of more importance to my partner than to me! However not a big issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clynnog
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very pleasant weekend stay in an idyllic location”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent a weekend at Hoolet cottage in late February, in order to see the Severn bore, which didn't disappoint. We could actually view it from the cottage windows but we also ventured further afield to see it again. We were made very welcome by the owners, Ian and Trisha, and really appreciated the gift of bread, jam, eggs and cider. The cottage was comfortable and very clean. We wouldn't hesitate to return again but would probably book the adjacent, larger cottage next time, as there would be more room for our two big dogs! Thank you, Trisha and Ian, for a very pleasant weekend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grace y
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“what a hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here with my two dogs for 3nights and it was just lovely. Off the beaten track and nice and peaceful. The views from the back windows over the river were lovely. It was almost like the kitchen window was placed in its position to give a perfect view of the river whilst washing up. The apple orchard at the front was nice to look at also. The cottage itself was perfectly clean and very cosy with the fire going. Will defiantly be recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The front door was abit drafty
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing