We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend in the Forest of Dean”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ruardean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacq1968
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Dairy is a wonderful place to spend a weekend with friends. Lovely cosy bedrooms, a fabulous living room with wood burner and an enormous kitchen with a huge table for comfortable dining. The house was very well-equipped and in a perfect location from which to explore the Forest of Dean. In summer, the garden, too, would provide extra space and lovely views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly farm cottage.”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our weekend break at The Dairy and recommend it to others wanting some time out. The owners were attentive to our needs and kindly brought us 6 fresh eggs when we asked for some on our late arrival. We really liked the relaxed & friendly atmosphere at Crooked End Farm. We thought that The Dairy was a cosy 3 bed barn conversion that has a good sized kitchen and a pleasant well fenced garden for children and dogs. The Farm Café has a good menu of locally sourced produce and was busy with visitors all weekend. The Farm Shop inside the Café was well stocked and we were glad to be able to choose our own fruit and veg equivalent to the value of the boxes we'd ordered Crooked End farm is a good base to explore the many beauty spots in the Forest of Dean & its surrounding villages.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive W
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very happy and relaxing holiday with lots to do”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Three generations of our family (5) decided to stay at Crooked End Farm and everyone enjoyed the experience. All the people at the farm were extremely friendly and helpful.
The cottage was clean and comfortable – although there was only one mirror in the house.
The internet connection was good
We had access to the entire farm – the children enjoyed the trampoline with its audience of lambs and we all enjoyed walking to the top of the fields to see the incredible views and sunset. It was great to walk around the poly-tunnels and look at the organic vegetables and herbs.
I can highly recommend the chocolate brownies from the on-site shop and the fresh eggs were beyond description
We had not visited the area before but the location of the farm means that is simple to visit Symons Yat, Gloucester, Hereford Ross-on-Wye, the Forrest of Dean and Wales.
There are some beautiful castles in the area- Raglan and Goodrich are good examples.
We also found time to visit the Hereford Country Fair which was a great day out for all the family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the kitchen
Liked least: Only one mirror
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie b
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Weekend Away”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a great weekend at The Dairy, Crooked End Farm. Loads of room for the family of 5.
Lovely Farm Shop and Café for Breakfast/provisions. Cottage was clean and tidy and very welcoming. Took our dog which loved the safe and secure garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redfibee1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely character cottage”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Crooked End with our family and friends. Although there were 7 of us, the cottage still felt spacious. It was clean and well equipped - including loads of books. The adjacent farm shop was excellent, and it meant that we didn't have to go out of our way to do a food shop. The trampoline was an unexpected bonus, as was the dog proof garden. The children loved feeding the lambs. Very friendly people, which enhanced the stay. The location is excellent for the many attractions in the Forest of Dean.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The farm shop and feeding the lambs
Liked least: The bathrooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing