We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sloop Inn

The Sloop Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Llandogo B&B and Inns
Eversham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 7/2/2014 we had a small double was good for one night the staff are great the food is wonderful even if you do not stay here just drop in for a meal best steak I have had in a long time

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank walkingstick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the Sloop Inn on the way to Cardiff for one night booked on lastminute.com .Had the small room overlooking the rooftop but perfectly fine . Food both at breakfast and in the evening excellent as was the beer Doom Bar . A great find and we shall be back .Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evercreech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were at a conference at the weekend, so I stayed one night and my Mother stayed the next night.
Very spacious and comfy twin room, large bathroom, telly and remarkably quiet. Even for a Friday night, all the locals had gone by 11!
Very friendly staff and we ate an evening meal which was huge portions and reasonable prices.
I had to get up early so missed breakfast but Mother tells me it was very nice.
Only one small complaint and that is I did need to use the heater at night (electric heater in room) but hey, that's what it was there for. And the shower curtain could do with a wash.

But otherwise, at £35 a night including breakfast? It was spot on.
I've stayed at Hiltons for double that and had crappy little rooms, rubbish overpriced food and booze and bathrooms built for midgets.
They should take a lesson from the Sloop Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrosart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are all comfortable and en suite all with wifi
Food is great with excellent service and a lovely restaurant
The bar is homely and the locals are very friendly
All in all it's a lovely place to go for a long stay or a day out in the wye valley with ample parking and friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Robo_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went for an end of holiday meal. We were made very welcome, friendly service and very good food - BIG portions, freshly made, delicious. We managed to force a dessert down too...just! The staff were very helpful, attentive and answered questions on allergies very well. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We will be going back! Beautiful location great food and really friendly staff. The bed was a bit squeeky so we will be opting for the 4 poster next time. Breakfast was traditional and really good lot's of beautiful things to see near by we went tintern abbey and Monmouth for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here before we began a canoe adventure in Monmouth..
We arrived quite late on the Friday evening latest check in was 22.30, and we arrived after 23hrs but they were quite accommodating, There is a car park opposite with free parking. The room was chilly but the owner was quick to point out the electric heater.. the room was very basic but it was clean an comfortable for a single night stay. Unfortunately we missed the breakfast because it started at 8.30 am and we left before 8am.. Overall it was a pleasant nights stay, and as I say it did the job!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elesy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandogo
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
3.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
Ty Bryn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Llandogo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lindors Country House Hotel
Lindors Country House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Briavels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Property: The Sloop Inn
Address: 466 On the a, Llandogo NP25 4TW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Llandogo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llandogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sloop Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of the Wye valley in the sleepy village of Llandogo, near the river, offering magnificent views. Excellent restaurant with river view. Four ensuite letting rooms. Centrally located within a superb walking area.Salmon fishing. A superb area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sloop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing