We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great service, great food!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo's Kitchen

Angelo's Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Bryanston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“"Great service, great food!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Being a regular costomer at Angelo's, I find the food absolutley fantastic! The Vincenzo's pizza is an ultimate favourite of mine as well as the home-made lasagna. The service is always good and my kids are always nagging to make pizzas there. The atmosphere is jazzy and homely and it's situated in a great area. A lovely family destination for anyone in the area. Definitley situated in the top three of my favourite restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Nel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Third-world facilities and food compared to nearby competitors”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

If you're still going to Angelo's kitchen with your kids for a pizza making experience, forget it. After over 10 years of existence, nothing has changed in this place (the wall paint, dust on the jumping castle, staff uniforms) still don't look like they've been ever been refreshed, let alone replaced. The staff seems to have a very high turnover.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evelynegomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average - maybe because it was Monday lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 went thinking we would have a happy lunchtime pizza. It was my wife's birthday but being on a Monday, this was just a nice-to-do rather than a fanfare event. But the experience was totally uninspiring. The service was average, the pizzas were pretty poor and the atmosphere was dull. It really felt like the restaurant was in hangover mood after a long weekend. So as we had heard good things about the restaurant, this was disappointing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A popular choice over a decade later!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A good safe suburban bet for excellent pizza with different toppings.
Good salads too.
The kids pizza making counter always goes down well with little ones.
Not too bad value for money, but watch out for making up your own pizza or adding ingredients as the pricing will work out exhorbitant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMoss101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A really nice little pizza and pasta restaurant, I go regularly and love it! Nice to have a properly baked wood oven pizza rather than the mechanical rotisserie pizza;s most places have.
Top quality ingredients and a great atmosphere... top class for a relaxed evenings eating in my books.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's Kitchen also viewed

Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Angelo's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing