We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Junipa's

Junipa's
Ranked #32 of 46 Restaurants in Bryanston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gauteng
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A few of the girls went for lunch today at Junipa's and received the most shocking service. Following lunch we ordered a big slice of red velvet cake. When it came we were all terribly disappointed, especially since its all of our favorites. It had an old strawberry ontop, icing was plain and not the usual cream cheese or sweet flavor and the cake tasted and had the texture of a sponge cake. It was bland and unappetizing.
We sent it back and said it really wasn't great and that we didn't feel it was a red velvet cake.
At the end of the meal when we realized it was still on our bill, we enquiried as to why.
The next thing an irate female chef came marching out with an entourage, holding the squashed up cake in a takeaway box that she shoved back at me and said she is a world renowned chef and she refuses to take it off the bill as this is red velvet cake! Well if it is it's the worst I have ever tasted.
We were all shocked, we paid the R27 for the cake and I hope it was worth every sent to lose 5 girls business going forward.
Management stood on and stared, obviously in full support of the episode.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Respondant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    37
    23
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Morning place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited Junipa in the evening and wasnt really happy about it. The service was close to being excellent but the vibe was missing as it wasnt crowded as it is often in the morning. The punjabi batter was a let-down. However, the dessert was quite nice and loved the idea. I would have to visit it again in the mornings on saturdays or sundays to really be fair to this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolute top favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Ever since I first ate here, it as been my absolute favourite, anywhere in the world. Amazing food, yet at perfectly normal pricing. Casual and tastefully decorated cafe, located in a small, quiet shopping centre. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful eatery for cosy meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Junipa's is a favourite spot for a tasty meal. The cosy and casual ambience, and beautiful decor, make it the ideal venue for any meal. Enjoy coffee and something delicious from there fantastic on site bakery. There light meals, as well as something a little more hearty are all unique, creative and delicious. The staff are attentive and helpful. I have eaten here too many times to mention, and always find it a delightful experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Should be called Jupiter...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The food is out of this world! I had the eggs florentine, simply delicious!! The cappuccino's are consistently great. Great service great food, can't wait to come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junipa's also viewed

Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Junipa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing