We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need something to do on a Saturday morning?”

The Bryanston Organic and Natural Market
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
372 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Need something to do on a Saturday morning?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Relax and while away your Saturday morning. Coffee first at any one of the stalls then wander around and look at the goodies on sale. Clothes, jewelry, gifts, pottery, plants, organic food - the list goes on. Items are generally of a high quality. Some purchases require payment at one of the 'cashiers' on site (easily done and they take credit card), others take cash directly. Then grab a table in the sun, order scrumptious food from which ever outlet takes your fancy, listen to the live music and your Saturday morning has been a pleasure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
276 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Best markets I have been to in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes I mean it. The world.
Have travelled extensively and never seen such a variety of goods and services.
Everything is beautiful. Want so much. Inexpensive to very expensive. South African hand crafted everything. Clothing different and interesting . Again wide variety. Shoes, pottery- jewellery omg divine.
Can't stop raving.
Then the organic food. Delicious fresh appealing, wonderful seasonal variety.
Breakfast divine.
Mineral makeup.
You name it- find it there.
Do not visit josi aka Johannesburg without a visit.
Open thurs and sat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this market!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am lucky enough to live around the corner from this market, & I believe it has been going for many years. First and for most they obviously have a strict standard that must be adhered to because all stalls are of high quality. With most if not all, being locally hand made. I have used this venue many times for gift shopping for friends and family. And always take any tourists / visitors here to enjoy. They are a variety of food stalls which offer wonderful fresh (prepared) food that can be enjoyed for brunch / lunch or a light snack. A large open air cafe is situated under the shady tree where live music is always on offer. Then of course there is the fresh organic produce one can buy to take home and do your own Master Chef'ing with. I often go just to enjoy the atmosphere and a cup of coffee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnaH939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful oasis at the end of a road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter and I decided to drop in on the way to the Jersey Boys and we are so glad we did. A delightfully small but diverse market with food, music, crafts, clothes and knik knaks. A great place to catch up with friends and family, sit and eat cake and enjoy the friendly atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona102323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent. High Quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

For South Africans and for overseas visitors this market offers high quality food, clothes, pottery, jewellery etc. The country atmosphere, the tinkling piano, the open air restaurant and the unique produce attract crowds on Thursdays and Saturdays. Get there early for fresh produce. Take the kids to the candle making and other activities. The cheeses, the trout, the baked goodies - all delectable. If you're looking for gifts - this is where you'll find something unique. We own a B&B and the first place we recommend to our visitors is the Bryanston Organic market.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jillymSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bryanston Organic and Natural Market also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bryanston Organic and Natural Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing