We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb contemporary accommodation”
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wesley
Ranked #2 of 15 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Ideal room design for short or long staying guests. Value for money. Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Lovely view of the well maintained garden and pool area from the breakfast patio. The garden leading to the rooms needs a bit of TLC. Room amenities were of excellent quality. We’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 - Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61onireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel exists ever sice the World Cup. We had a great stay for 1 night (jan 4) with me, my friend and a baby. Because we are just friends and it was very quiet at the hotel we got a free upgrade to - i think - room #2. A nice gesture. The hotel is situated in a very secure area, the rooms are nice and spacious, although you have to decide if you like open plan bathrooms or not. The room had aircon, shutters, a wonderful and huge bed, and the gardens and pool are beautiful. Tina is a great host and breakfast was nice. All together, a great place to stay!
Since it was very quiet, the bar was closed, but they run a honesty bar if you feel like a drink, so all sorted!
It also makes a nice venue for parties.
Keep in mind you always need a car in Jozi, also for this hotel.
Good luck for the future, Tina & Crew.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at the Wesley in bryanston for 5 nights and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Tina the manager and all the other staff truly understand the meaning of the word hospitality. Ask for anything and Tina will make it happen. I loved the room and the environment. The location in Bryanston which is a highbrow area of Joburg cannot be bit. I would certainly return and I highly recommend it to any traveller who is looking for a quiet and comfortable accommodation in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed two nights with a recommendation of a friend who was working at JB for 3-months contract basis and also staying at Wesley. When I arrived to the Hotel I understand his reasoning to stay here for long term. Wesley is like a luxury home with your own swimming pool, sub-tropical surrounding and nicely decorated rooms. There are high walls around the hotel and two gates to go through. It's safe!

Front desk is a little slow but friendly. Rooms are very clean. Location is good, close to Sandton twon center. At night, recommend to visit nearby Monte Casino.

Room Tip: Choose large rooms at back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savas-Unsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent one night at the Wesley last week. The hotel is very conveniently located close to shops and restaurants in a peaceful area. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed breakfast on the deck overlooking the lovely garden. The room was very big and comfortable. I was travelling with a friend and the staff were very accommodating by adding another bed to the room for us at a small fee. We were very entertained with the bath being in the middle of the room with no privacy and the shower and basin areas also being open plan in the room. It would probably be no issue for couples but was a little strange for us as friends. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here because the area in which The Wesley is situated is very peaceful and quiet,and the security at the front gate is good. What I also loved about this hotel is that it is quite close to a shopping centre and restuarants, which makes the location very convenient.The food in the mornings are quite exquisite and the modern look of the building is very comforting. I recommend all travelers to go and enjoy this hotel, the way i did!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanro567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The best place I stayed in the last year. Will defnitely advise all travellers and others to book at Wesleys .The service and trust there is the best that I "ll experianced the last year.
defnitly one of my recommended place
Area close to a couple interested place Monte Casino,Randburg waterfront,Sandton just a few and there are must more

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kabous d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryanston
1.7 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 46 in Sandton
58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#4 of 15 in Bryanston
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiree B&B
Tiree B&B
#1 of 15 in Bryanston
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing