We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wesley
Ranked #2 of 15 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here because the area in which The Wesley is situated is very peaceful and quiet,and the security at the front gate is good. What I also loved about this hotel is that it is quite close to a shopping centre and restuarants, which makes the location very convenient.The food in the mornings are quite exquisite and the modern look of the building is very comforting. I recommend all travelers to go and enjoy this hotel, the way i did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanro567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    60
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
65
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The best place I stayed in the last year. Will defnitely advise all travellers and others to book at Wesleys .The service and trust there is the best that I "ll experianced the last year.
defnitly one of my recommended place
Area close to a couple interested place Monte Casino,Randburg waterfront,Sandton just a few and there are must more

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank kabous d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

i stayed at the wesley from the 24th to 29th of september, 2012 with 3 of my colleagues from the office. The hotel or inn is great, neat and well laid out. Though we arrive early the Hotel manager, Tina was able to fix sometthing for us and gave us early check inn. The staff were friendly and rooms are spacious. The breakfast was good. But the best of all is the hotel manager Tina who goes out of her way to may you happy. she seems overworked, but she still manages to remain sweet. She geniunely loves her job. i thought she was the owner of the place when i saw her passion, but i later met the owners.
There were loads of antiques in the place and history to go with it. the compound is lovely, very relaxing and good for family. you have a sense of been at home instead of an impersonal hotel. if you can drive in SA gives you an advantage as the place is bit far from everything. if you are going to use the hotel for your transport make sure the cost is fully disclosed b4 you take the services.
Overall, a good place to stay and wonderful experience. Once again Thank you Tina for making our stay wonderful. God bless

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor are great with good view. you pay a bit more for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The finishings are very nice, the room more than average in size. Even the bathtub and shower which were not behind closed doors were not as intimidating as initially anticipated, at least the toilet was behind closed doors. Jackie and her team are really amazing hosts, but it was disappointing in terms of the facility offerings despite the wonderful honesty bar downstairs. I must say that other families with children that were guests at the same time, seemed to enjoy the atmosphere and the vast space outside and the zen garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The room was simply decorated with quality finishings although a queen sized bed would have been preferred. The breakfast was very tasty, a little slow if you order off the menu though. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A fabulous little retreat outside of Johannesburg. Lovely grounds, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, and attentive staff. We paid a tiny bit more for the room one tier higher than the least expensive, and it was worth every penny. The room is huge, very clean and appointed with lovely decor, and the bathroom has a fabulous free-standing tub and extra large shower. Great value; I would definitely recommend and book here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room that has a separate bath; otherwise, I believe the facilities are somehow in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Hotel is absolutely perfect. It's decorated to more than 5 star quality, with white themes and a peaceful, and sensual feeling. I adore the stand alone victorian bath, that still conveys a modern feeling. Breakfast is made very tasty and served in an intimate but not uncomfortable group be cony/dining room area.

I've been a patron of their hotel numerous times to feel the 'get away' feeling, yet still being in the heart of Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasneemB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryanston
1.7 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 48 in Sandton
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tiree B&B
Tiree B&B
#1 of 15 in Bryanston
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
2 Leafed Doors
2 Leafed Doors
#9 of 15 in Bryanston
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grace Guest House
Grace Guest House
#4 of 15 in Bryanston
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Property: The Wesley
Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing