We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique hotel, didn't disappoint!”
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wesley
Ranked #2 of 15 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice. The room was simply decorated with quality finishings although a queen sized bed would have been preferred. The breakfast was very tasty, a little slow if you order off the menu though. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

A fabulous little retreat outside of Johannesburg. Lovely grounds, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, and attentive staff. We paid a tiny bit more for the room one tier higher than the least expensive, and it was worth every penny. The room is huge, very clean and appointed with lovely decor, and the bathroom has a fabulous free-standing tub and extra large shower. Great value; I would definitely recommend and book here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room that has a separate bath; otherwise, I believe the facilities are somehow in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Hotel is absolutely perfect. It's decorated to more than 5 star quality, with white themes and a peaceful, and sensual feeling. I adore the stand alone victorian bath, that still conveys a modern feeling. Breakfast is made very tasty and served in an intimate but not uncomfortable group be cony/dining room area.

I've been a patron of their hotel numerous times to feel the 'get away' feeling, yet still being in the heart of Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasneemB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in an executive room which was beautifully appointed with its own flat screen TV and DVD player. It has to be said though that hotels/guest houses of this type often have an iPod docking station in the room to allow you to play your own music, and I missed this. The staff were very courteous and we found two very nice restaurants to have dinner at, only a short drive away. The hotel operates an honesty system in the bar, whereby you write down any drinks that you may have consumed and this is settled upon check out.
This is a lovely guest house with a very relaxing atmosphere and i would definately come and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nice and quiet. The executive rooms are amazing, don't hesitate to book it as the difference is quite small. Nice pool and gardens. A good cheap place !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked and paid for two executive rooms at end of Jan '12 after a lot of research as our daughter who was travelling with us is a wheelchair user. We wanted somewhere special for our last night in SA. We had sent an email with our requirements re' needing collection from premier train from cape town and our wishes to be taken to the Aparteid museum the same afternoon. When we had no reply we phoned numerous times eventually getting through to an answer phone where we left a message.
Whilst on the Premier train we phoned again and we managed to speak to someone confirming our requirements re collection from station. 20mins before our arrival at the station we had a call from the booking firm informing us that the Wesley had notified them that there had been a 'technical fault' and there were no rooms available for us!
So there we were about to arrive in Johannesburg with our disabled daughter not knowing what we were to do. A very kind SA couple who had heard of our predicament took control of the situation, spoke to the Wesley and insisted they did something, I spoke on the phone to them and they reluctantly agreed to arrange for someone to collect us.
We were met by a driver who was then told by the Wesley they had booked us into another
b&b and asked to take us there. The driver also told us that this wasn't the first time that this had happened to people who had booked there. The place that we had been booked into by The Wesley wasn't appropriate to meet the needs of a wheelchair user, so we had to find alternative accommodation. Due to the stress and upset that this caused we ended up not being able to visit the Aparteid museum.
I would suggest that anyone who books at The Wesley be aware that this could happen to them.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Stamylousarsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The rooms are beautiful decorated. The bed is very comfortable. The shower is very nice. The location is good, it is in a quiet neighbourhood, but all the shopping/eating area's, such Fourways, Sandton, etc are just a couple of minutes driving away. Breakfast is also very nice, I really like their omelet.
The only downside was that you have to keep the shutters closed to have some privacy as the other guest have to walk past your windows.

Room Tip: Note that not all the rooms have poster beds, if you want one, make sure you request one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bryanston hotels
1.7 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
56 reviews
1 mi away
Tiree B&B
Tiree B&B
#1 of 15 in Bryanston
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summerview Guest Lodge
Summerview Guest Lodge
#7 of 15 in Bryanston
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Noraclox Inn
Noraclox Inn
#12 of 15 in Bryanston
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Guest House
Grace Guest House
#5 of 15 in Bryanston
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
House of Pharaohs Boutique Guesthouse & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range: $75 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing