We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and peaceful place to rest for cyclists.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Orignal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 L'Orignal B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and peaceful place to rest for cyclists.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great place to stay a night if you are biking a long journey like Gatineau-Montreal. My friend and I followed ''la route verte'' (http://www.routeverte.com/rv/) from Gatineau to Montreal and found this to be a perfect place to split our journey in two. Even though we were biking on the Quebec side, Abadin B&B is only a small 8km detour on the Ontario side which is definitely worth it. You can replenish in Hawkesbury and then have a wonderful host like Ed make you feel at home in this magnificient, clean, european styled house. Everything was perfect. You get your bike safely stored and you can enjoy a restfull stay to get back in shape for another hard day of pedaling. Breakfast is fresh, home made and not to forget delicious. Just the perfect start for the day. I would definitely recommend Abadin B&B to anyone journeying to this area.
Thanks!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

It was a real pleasure to chat with you and thanks for helping us to get further in our research about bicycle trails and for the help to expend our knowledge. It helped us to give our bicyclist webpage the final touches :)
We hope to see you back in the future!

All the best
Ed
Abadin B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I initially purchased an on-line group coupon to Abadin as an inexpensive way to go on a mini-vacation (we live an hour away in Ottawa). After our first night on the heavenly mattress we decided to add another night at full price!

Set in a quiet cul-de-sac in L'Orignal within sight of the Ottawa river, Abadin is a great place to spend a relaxing weekend. Ed made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived and the property is exceptionally clean and well cared for. The highlight of each morning was a wonderful meal and some excellent conversation with our host, which often included advice on what attractions to see in the area and what local restaurants to try. We filled our days touring the Hawkesbury / Vankleek Hill area including trips to the Vankleek Hill Vineyard and Beau's Brewery as well as a hilarious afternoon spent feeding elk and deer at Parc Omega in Montebello, QC.

We will definitely be making another trip to "the moose" to enjoy Ed's hospitality!

Room Tip: Each room has a private bathroom, but unless you're staying in the suite you'll have to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate and Brandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time and writing us such a wonderful review. I definitely enjoyed your company and our conversations as much as you did. I am glad you had so much fun visiting all those places around here.
We are looking forward to see you back when you are in our area.

Thanks
Ed
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I are fans of the old British comedy “Jeeves and Wooster” about a helpless gentleman and his wise butler who is always in the background ready to assist his “gentleman” in whatever fashion needed. Ed was our Jeeves, always there to attend to our needs or to simply provide interesting, intelligent conversation. One might also describe him as a good combination of Canadian friendliness and German efficiency. Ed has exceptionally good balance of being at hand when needed for information or for a cup of tea and still allowing the guests to have all the privacy they need. We were there for four days, and the service was always just right. Every morning we came down to the dining room to find juice and hot coffee waiting for us followed by a marvelous gourmet breakfast based on Shirley’s excellent recipes.

The exterior of the house is unremarkable. It blends into the well-manicured, quiet neighborhood where it sits. Only a small sign on the lawn with the B&B’s logo lets one know that one has arrived at the correct location. The interior of the house is spotlessly clean, well-organized, and tastefully decorated. Most of the paintings on the wall were done by Ed’s wife, Shirley. One can see little artistic touches everywhere. We had a private bathroom (always a blessing). The bedroom was a good size with plenty of space for luggage and for walking around. The room had its own air conditioner, a modern flat screen TV, and a DVD player (there are ample DVDs available to watch). Of critical importance, the bed (mattress) was excellent. We are very picky about such things and have had sleepless nights to prove it. We were very happy that Ed and Shirley decided to go first class in this important area.
This part of the world might not have all the excitement of a big city, but, if you want a peaceful, restful place to spend a few nights, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_A_Smith_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest

As Jeeves once said : "Foreign travel often liberates emotions best kept in check, sir, and the air of North America is notoriously stimulating in this regard........"
In this case I would state quite the opposite - that it is of great pleasure that those emotions had been set "free" to the full magnitude of enjoyment you experienced while staying with us. :)
That said it was my pleasure to be able to participate in our invigorating conversations and I hope we will be able to continue those at one point in the future!

All the best to you
Ed
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay if biking from Montreal to Ottawa (or viscera). It is in a perfect location right along the road half way in between the two cities. As well the B&B is extremely clean and modern with everything and more than you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you as guest at our B & B and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay !
We hope to see you back with bike or car ;)

Thanks
Shirley & Ed
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Hawkesbury - L'Orignal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband decided to surprise me for my birthday and brought me to this wonderful retreat.
Arrived around 8 pm saturday night after a day's work,, we were welcomed by Ed our host, and immediately felt at home,,, a nice chat and a good recommendation for a late dinner.
Even a birthday card was waiting for me in our room!! nice touch :)
The next day, we had a europeen breakfast catered to us. Had a nice talk, and off we went to visit Vankleek Vineyard all natural Wine , and also Beau's all Natural Brewery..very close by.
Our room was wonderful and the surrounding was very '' a la mode''
We recommend the experience to Abadin's bed and breakfast. A must for everyone!!
Special thanks to Ed and Shirley for this great retreat.
See you soon!!
Michel et Nicole

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for writing a review for us.
We are very happy that we could make your birthday a bit more special and we certainly love to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Abadin Bed and Breakfast in L'Orignal.
We are looking forward to spoil you again at your next stay!

All the best.

Ed & Shirley
Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at Abadin B and B for one night. We found our host, Ed, to be engaged yet respectful of our privacy. The food was delicious and catered to our vegitarian needs, which we greatly appreciated. Our room was elegant, quiet and comfortable. And having a private bathroom was a real bonus. We will definately return.
Donna and Jen, Milton, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review. I just can give you back the compliment that I very much enjoyed having you as guests at our Bed and Breakfast and we hope to see you back in the future.

Thanks

Ed from the Abadin B&B in L'Orignal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Abadin B&B is excellent. Ed is a very warm and hospitable host. The house is very well appointed, with many rooms for relaxing and rejuvinating. The bedrooms all have a private bath, and our bed was very comfortable. We spent the evening lying in our bed and we watched a movie on a large flat-screen tv. They have a very good selection of movies. After having a wonderfully restfull sleep, we had a lovely breakfast which consisted of yogurt with fresh fruit followed by home-made waffles with organic whipped cream and more fresh fruit. The coffee and teas were great! We spent about 40 minutes chatting with Ed, who is a wonderful person. We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice. The bedroom with the king size bed has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abadin, Owner at Abadin Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at our Bed and Breakfast and we are very happy that you had such an enjoyable time. To have our guests arrive home energized and rejuvenated is exactly what we are working for.
I had a great time chatting with you and hope we can do it again.
We hope to see you back.

Thanks

Ed from the Abadin B&B in L'Orignal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Orignal
13.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
10.2 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
20 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#1 of 3 in Rigaud
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Auberge des Gallant
Auberge des Gallant
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marthe
119 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawkesbury
101 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abadin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 612 Bobois St, L'Orignal, Hawkesbury, Ontario K0B 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hawkesbury > L'Orignal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in L'Orignal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abadin, a luxurious B & B with view and access to the Ottawa River, minutes from Hawkesbury. In proximity to Ottawa and Montreal on Hwy 17. An hour North of the US border and a stone's throw from the bridge to Quebec. The stunning bedrooms are all individually styled in contemporary European design and offer sumptuously comfort, with flat screen TV with DVD player, complimentary tea & coffee and WiFi. All our rooms have en-suite or private bath. We serve organic and local food fresh prepared. Our B&B is run with the goal to recycle and save energy. Our newest addition is a 38 panel solar system for our B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abadin Bed And Breakfast Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing