We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spacious house for a family gathering”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
St Catherines, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Petesib50
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spacious house for a family gathering”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house has 6 excellent bedrooms (sleeping 12) and 4 bathrooms and has been beautifully finished. There is also a separate bunkroom attached to the games room which had 4 extra beds and was very warm but we didn't use it because Mike supplied 2 extra z beds so we could all sleep in the house. They also had a cot and highchair so we were fully catered for. Any questions were quickly answered and help given as needed, which was much appreciated.
The Aga chucks out a lot of heat and with 3 different ovens from super hot to slow cooking it was great fun to cook on, there was a separate cooker as well but we didn't need it. The dining room was a great space for family meals and we all managed to fit in the lounge although the open fire did smoke a bit. A fair bit of time was spent playing pool in the games room and we also found the zip wire and rope swing.
We would definitely come and stay again.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aga was really good to cook on
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisW815
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in August as part of a group with 2 other families- 6 adults and 6 kids in total. What a brilliant place to explore and stay. Mike and Suzanne were excellent hosts and were easily contactable if needed. Booking was no hassle at all and they sent us info on anything we needed before our stay. We were welcomed with fresh cakes and wine. The house is an amazing place with all sorts of great features. All rooms are unique with outstanding period appeal. The beds are all very comfy with lovely linen and nice towels. The bathrooms are spotless and well appointed. The kitchen has an amazing aga which is a dream to use. The games room is an excellent addition and we got as far as finding a zip wire and punch bag in the grounds. The special feature is the jacuzzi in the garden which even has nightlights and a speaker system - lots and lots of fun.
This house is in a tremendous location with outstanding natural beauty. We went fishing on loch awe in hired boats, walking in the hills on many occasions, day trips to Oban and Glasgow amongst other things.
We highly recommend this house and this location and would have no hesitation in coming again. Thanks to Suzanne and Mike.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The rain and midges .....
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag M
1 review
“Brilliant stay at a stunning location”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Lodge at St. Catherines is a beautiful house with the right mixture of modern and old. The facilities are brilliant (lots of games, outdoor juccuzi and trampoline) and could keep entertained for hours. The location is ideal for people wanting an escape to the countryside without having a long way to drive from central Scotland. The views are stunning over Loch Fyne, even in the rain, and there are lots of outdoors activities nearby. The owners were very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend visiting their bistro too.

Date of stay: July 2015
Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngedin...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven washed down with a dram of tranquillity”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

As an IT guy there was one thing I wasn't sure about, was there a decent wifi connection? Well the answer is yes, blisteringly fast to boot. Anyway, with this no doubt important point dealt with, on with the review, With no idea what to expect and arriving a little earlier than expected I initially drove past the b&b and had a quick drink up the road, what a mistake, they had a BBQ all set at the b&b 'just in case'. That pretty much set the theme for the rest of the visit, the owners Mike and Suzzane, whilst encouraging you to relax and enjoy yourself manage to grab themselves a gold medal for hosts of the year. The lodge itself is gorgeous and criminally underpriced for the huge breakfasts, gorgeous rooms, awesome views, TLC and comforts. Whilst there I picked mussels, sailed a sail boat, explored a ruined castle, dined in fabulous bus restaurants located n the middle of nowhere and fished on the loch. Inveraray had so much to do as well, packed with history and re-enactment spots.

Trying to balance this review has been incredibly difficult since I didn't have a single complaint. The best I can moan about is I had no idea how to operate the TV in my room and spent the best part of ten minutes trying to work out how to put one of the selection of DVDs on, after that I couldn't work out how to adjust the volume. IT may be my strong point but audio visual and common sense certainly isn't.

Highlights: beautiful room, stupidly large bath, stupidly large bed, views to die for, amazing hosts, mind blowing house, amazing location, fantastic food, peace and quiet, WIFI!!!

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieT902
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to stay for fun, peace and the Scottish experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

When driving to St Catherine's the scenery, back drop and extensive forest are breathtaking. We were looking to take a fews days out of our busy schedules and i wanted to see the real scotland... well, all i can say is we had a blast.

On arriving at Cuil na mara, you cant be unimpressed by the towering house and the warmth inside it. Suzanne and Mike greeting us as old friends returning. They showed us a true Scottish welcome by getting out his extensive whisky collection... Mike is a connoisseur and enthusiast in Whisky, so a "few" wee drams are in order, so don't be surprised when you are concentrating on getting up the stairs. The bedroom, was chic and beautiful with all the comforts, the view over the loch is so beautiful and tranquil. And then the bathroom .... wow you (or easy another) can spend hours in the spacious bath looking out onto the lock. Warning do not be on a diet - Suzanne is a fabulous cook in the true Scottish fashion, this will set you up for the day to go out and enjoy so many activities, boating, fishing, many beautiful walks and lots of pubs!!

If you are looking to have a real scottish experience with the warmest and genuine hosts, beautiful accomodation and idilllic surroundings then this if for you. We shall definietley be returning in the next few months!!!!

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmiccli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Inverary!”
Reviewed September 11, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We were staying here for one night to play at a wedding in the Castle Lachlan, the family ran B & B is exceptional, a warm welcome to lovely clean rooms at a beautiful former Victorian hunting lodge was a delight, full Scottish breakfast complete with the freshest eggs you can get, many thanks to Mike and Suzanne for a truly memorable stay.

Date of stay: September 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.