We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gems At Paradise Resort
Nearby Hotels
Winter Haven Inn(Clarence Town)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Greenwich Creek Lodge(Long Island)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Cove Inn(Deadman's Cay)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Eagles Nesting Fishing Lodge(Glenton Settlement)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
108
12
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
12
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barprivate beachdean's blue holelong islandrental carfull kitchensouthern partget awaygorgeous propertyyour disposalatlantic siderooms were very cleansouthern tipweather was perfectfish tacosexplore the islandgranola bars
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 126 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our experience at Gems. From the moment Shavonne welcomed us to her resort to the time we left, we really thought Gems was a very special place. We stayed first at Cape Santa Maria for 3 nights and then rented a car from Mr. T on the island. Have to recommend Mr. T as well. Such a nice man who picked us up at the Cape and drove us down to Deadman's Cay without any extra fees. When you first see Gems, the first thing that pops into your head is: "how can anyone get any work done in a setting as lovely as this?" Filled with trees lining the craggy rock infused paths leading to a small beach area complete with a cabana overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Coconut trees line the grounds and if you are so inclined, ask if they could crack one open for you to enjoy for yourself. Mizpah, Shavonne's husband and co owner of the resort taught us more about coconuts in just 15 minutes than we could ever have learned reading a book. Our room was on the 2nd floor and included a balcony that overlooked the ocean as well. Every morning we woke to the sounds of wild goats and sheep down by the ocean's shore. Where else in the world does one see wild goats roaming along a beach? Shavonne provided us with every little tidbit of information we needed to be able to explore on our own. The best thing in our opinion about Gems is that the owners (Shavonne and Mizpah) are there if you have questions/concerns but otherwise, they allow you to experience the romantic scenery in private. Check out the little cafe (the one at the marina) overlooking the water a short drive away. Also: Don't miss Oasis Bakery....incredible food at rock bottom prices. Gems is located right by Clarence Town. We actually went up to do a dive with Delbert Smith in the northern part of the island one day and had a wonderful time driving the short hour's drive (we HIGHLY recommend Delbert btw; he is just the most kind hearted man and incredibly knowledgeable regarding diving around Long Island. Because of him we were able to see such amazing underwater fauna including 4 sharks). In Short, at Gems, you really feel like you are experiencing this little spot of paradise for yourself instead of through the (often stilted) lens of a typical "resort". Enjoy and say hello for us to the local egret that wanders across Gem's ground during the day.

Room Tip: We loved our 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are pleased to now have the opportunity through Tripadvisor Management response to thank you for providing a thorough review of Long Island and our spectacular setting in Paradise. Please take advantage of our Fly Free program and Summer/Fall promotional offers to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent five nights at Gems and had a blast! The setting for the hotel is a picture postcard everywhere you turn. The place was very clean and our every need was met with a smile. Shavonne and her husband took very good care of us and we plan to return in June.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quillen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are pleased to now be able to thank you for your great review and encourage you to take advantage of our Fly Free program and special offers for your next visit to experience our new upgrades in amenities and activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

When we drove up to Gems at Paradise, the first thing that grabbed our attention was how beautiful and deep the colours of the Caribbean waters were. More beautiful here, than any other island we experienced. Shavonne, owner of Gems, provided nothing more than outstanding service, and was thorough in any information we requested about her island. I have never slept so sound as I did in our room at Gems. With sliding door open, the sound of the waves gently rolling in shore and gentle Caribbean breeze lulled me to a peaceful sleep. We awoke refreshed every morning with the sunrise. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Long Island, Bahamas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are pleased to now have the opportunity to thank you for writing your review that embraces the feel of Gems and hope you will take advantage of our Fly Free program to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Gems was a great find. We traveled the full lenght of the island and Clarence Town /
Lochabar is by far the most beautiful spot on the island with all of the services one
would need. Gems is a very attractive hotel with outstanding views of the large
protected harbor. There are rooms with and without kitchens. A continental breakfast
is provided, but there is no restaurant. This is not a problem because there are small
restaurants within a 5 minute drive. Do stop by Le Pon for lunch. We had a great meal.
The owners of the hotel leave you alone, but are available should you need anything.

A little about the area. You will need a car. Fly into Deadman's Cay and rent from
Mr. T. He is a great guy and lives arcoss the runway. The best beaches are on the
Atlantic side. Most of the guesthouses are located on the west side and the beaches are nice, but generally shallow. On the Atlantic side at the southern end of the Clarence town Harbor is lochabar and you will find a great beach . You can walk out on the bonefishing flats, or swim in the deeper areas. The entire harbor is protected. Little boat, or people traffic, if any.

Just north is Dean's Blue hole and it's a must see. The two main areas that you
will most likely stay in, or travel to are Clarence Town, or Salt Pond.

The people of the Island are warm and friendly. If you are looking for peace and
quiet in a beautiful and safe setting this is a good choice. If you are looking for
noise, hustle and overpaying for most everything then go to Nassau.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are pleased to finally have the opportunity to publicly thank you for taking the time to share your review and good opinion of Gems. Visit us again to experience our new upgrades and take advantage of our Fly Free program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

I've stayed in three places on Long Island and i have to say this place is the best you can get short of renting a house of your own.

Gem's is a brilliant place to enjoy gorgeous views, the most stunning grounds on Long Island, brilliant service when you need it and solitude when you don't. Last time we were there, the Prime Minister of the Bahamas had stayed there not long beforehand and it is very clear why.

The grounds are gorgeous and situated on an incline towards the water which makes for some of the most gorgeous views on Long Island. Also, because Gem's faces the ocean, you get amazing breezes, more blue water, and cleaner sand than you do on the caribbean side of the island (e.g., Chez Pierre's sand is an off-white, almost brown and there's not much of it). The proprietors do a brilliant job of making you feel left alone, but are there to satisfy any need you have at a moment's notice.

Gem's is a collection of buildings strewn across a gorgeous property. We stayed in a house style building with gorgeous verandas, and wonderful communal areas. There is also another building that was new when we arrived that seemed to have self sufficient apartments in it, but I'd confirm that with the proprietor before booking! All of the rooms seemed lovely though.

There is a tiny beach at Gem's, but the best beach is just down a road (not the main one) out a gate to the south side of the property. It has white sand, shallow crystal clear blue waters, and a gorgeous lagoon. We've been to Long Island a couple of times and it's one of our favorite beaches on the island.

Being situated South of Deadman's Cay means you're close to some of the best beaches on the island. The beaches towards the north are quite pretty, but the sand isn't as white as the beaches down south. Whil you won't find pink sand beaches here like you will on Harbor Island and Eleuthera (i know one reviewer said so, but it's just not the case i'm afraid), Long Island does have some of the most beautiful secluded beaches in the Bahamas. These beaches are to the south of the island, have gorgeous white sand, blue water, and rarely anybody around to bother you.

Also, being situated south of Deadman's Cay means you're close to Dean's Blue Hole, one of the islands most beautiful swimming holes. Please don't miss this one if you go.

If you need a car, the staff at Gem's will be happy to help you out. We rented cars from the Constantakis who were lovely and easy to deal with.

If you want to venture North, I wouldn't miss the following:
- Colombus Point
- Newton's Caye (hopefully it'll be fairly clean when you're there)
- RENT A CAR. Without one, you're going to miss out on so much of the island. Gem's is close to nice beaches, but you'll still want to explore the hidden "Gems" (sorry but i had to use the pun here) of Long Island on your own.

By the way, your best bet for getting to Long Island if you plan on staying at Gem's is Bahamasair into Deadman's Cay (if they're still flying there after Hurrican Noel). Stella Maris airport is all the way at the top of the island which means you'll have about an hour drive to Gem's. That said, if you are flying through Stella Maris, Gem's is still worth your while as you'll want to check out the length of the island during your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank piratealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

With our recent ability to respond to your detailed and very complimentary review we wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We would love to have you visit us again and take advantage of our Fly Free program and special offers as well as property upgrades and new activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews