We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night on way back from Italy. One member of staff appeared to do everything and boy did he do well. He served dinner (which I think he also prepared) served drinks,both in the dining room and the bar and generally looked after a group of 30 extremely well. The rooms are a little dull and I am not that keen on carpet on the floors but they were adequate. The selection for breakfast was superb with the highlight being a perfectly rip and runny Brie with dried fruit. The Bain Marie for hot food was left tantalisingly empty but there were enough alternatives. For a city centre hotel located next to a hospital and student halls of residence we had a really peaceful night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear customers,

It is with the big pleasure that we note your comments on the stay which you spent in our establishment because the quality is important for us.
I have very kind and very helpful employees and I thank you for having noted it in your comments. I take well note of the other points for ever to improve us in the quality.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

The price was right and its located right next to a metro station. Unfortuantely the room was not clean at all (condom underneath the bed and hairs in bathroom) and the bed was broken. Second room was fine though pretty noisy, breakfast surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Get quiet room not facing the crossroads
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear customer,

We thank you for your comment on your stay because the quality of service is a subject very important for me.
I am surprised reading your comment on the cleanliness of the family room while we always make a double check that it is a family room because there are children and to avoid the objects which you note. We apologize for the points which did not satisfy you completely.
If you return on Lyon soon, I invite you to contact me so that I take care personally of your booking.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is in line with it's rating. Your typical Mercure

It is slightly outdated but still adequate. The staff is nice and the location facing Charpennes subway station and tram stop makes it convenient.

The location is in the neighbouring city of Villeurbannes, but you can walk to the center area in 20-25 minutes or hop on the subway for 3-4 stops and voila.

Room Tip: The last room at the end of the corridor has a big terrace with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear customer,
I follow upon your stay spent in our establishment and thank you for having made us share your remarks on the arisen problems because effectively the quality of service and the satisfaction is a priority for me.
Having made the renovations in rooms, restaurant, breakfast room, lounges, we make this summer of the renovations in all our bathrooms to offer you always more comfort.
It is tramway rails at feet of our hotel which separates the city of Lyon with that of Villeurbanne that is why we are closer of the center of Lyon or of the center of the Station Part Dieu that of the center of Villeurbanne.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay and wish you a very good summer.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just at the Charpennes Metro station
Comfortable bed, nice and practical bathroom...
Efficient night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment on our establishment.
You have effectively the opportunity to take advantage of our hotel situated on the Place Charpennes to visit Lyon or make you to your meeting by the public transportation, with the subway A and B, the Tramway T1 or the taxis, without using your car that you will have left in our undercover car park and closed of 80 places.
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very guide location, right across from the metro. But the price is high, especially concerning the small rooms (that could use a renovation).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siemensstadtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment and we take note of the positive and negative points.
Further to the new classification of hotels in France, our hotel which possess that only rooms from 23 to 30 m2 was classified in 4-star category. The standard minimum for rooms in this category is of 16m2.
Our rates correspond to the rates of 4-star hotels on Lyon but I invite you to go on our web site Mercure or Accor where you can benefit from promotional rates if you know your dates of stay in advance.
We began last year a program of renovation of our rooms and this summer we are going to renew bathrooms. I hope to have soon the opportunity to show them to you.
Do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you and to help you in your booking.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefasto
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Well located(if you need to work in villeurbanne), clean, good service at a reasonable price.
Breakfast really nice too.

Definetly I would stay there if I will go back to Lyon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear customer,
One very thank you for your response which delights all my employees on their qualitative work in everyday life.
Do not hesitate to connect you on our web site to benefit on the next big weekends the best promotional rates to visit our beautiful city of Lyon, city classified in the Historical heritage of Unesco.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
340 reviews
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#52 of 196 in Lyon
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel

Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range: $85 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing