We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, not so good rooms and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good price, not so good rooms and staff”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The price was right and its located right next to a metro station. Unfortuantely the room was not clean at all (condom underneath the bed and hairs in bathroom) and the bed was broken. Second room was fine though pretty noisy, breakfast surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Get quiet room not facing the crossroads
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear customer,

We thank you for your comment on your stay because the quality of service is a subject very important for me.
I am surprised reading your comment on the cleanliness of the family room while we always make a double check that it is a family room because there are children and to avoid the objects which you note. We apologize for the points which did not satisfy you completely.
If you return on Lyon soon, I invite you to contact me so that I take care personally of your booking.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    160
    87
    32
    6
See reviews for
51
83
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is in line with it's rating. Your typical Mercure

It is slightly outdated but still adequate. The staff is nice and the location facing Charpennes subway station and tram stop makes it convenient.

The location is in the neighbouring city of Villeurbannes, but you can walk to the center area in 20-25 minutes or hop on the subway for 3-4 stops and voila.

Room Tip: The last room at the end of the corridor has a big terrace with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear customer,
I follow upon your stay spent in our establishment and thank you for having made us share your remarks on the arisen problems because effectively the quality of service and the satisfaction is a priority for me.
Having made the renovations in rooms, restaurant, breakfast room, lounges, we make this summer of the renovations in all our bathrooms to offer you always more comfort.
It is tramway rails at feet of our hotel which separates the city of Lyon with that of Villeurbanne that is why we are closer of the center of Lyon or of the center of the Station Part Dieu that of the center of Villeurbanne.
I remain at your disposal for your next stay and wish you a very good summer.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just at the Charpennes Metro station
Comfortable bed, nice and practical bathroom...
Efficient night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment on our establishment.
You have effectively the opportunity to take advantage of our hotel situated on the Place Charpennes to visit Lyon or make you to your meeting by the public transportation, with the subway A and B, the Tramway T1 or the taxis, without using your car that you will have left in our undercover car park and closed of 80 places.
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very guide location, right across from the metro. But the price is high, especially concerning the small rooms (that could use a renovation).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siemensstadtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment and we take note of the positive and negative points.
Further to the new classification of hotels in France, our hotel which possess that only rooms from 23 to 30 m2 was classified in 4-star category. The standard minimum for rooms in this category is of 16m2.
Our rates correspond to the rates of 4-star hotels on Lyon but I invite you to go on our web site Mercure or Accor where you can benefit from promotional rates if you know your dates of stay in advance.
We began last year a program of renovation of our rooms and this summer we are going to renew bathrooms. I hope to have soon the opportunity to show them to you.
Do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay where I shall have a big pleasure to welcome you and to help you in your booking.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villeurbanne hotels

Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,664 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Well located(if you need to work in villeurbanne), clean, good service at a reasonable price.
Breakfast really nice too.

Definetly I would stay there if I will go back to Lyon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear customer,
One very thank you for your response which delights all my employees on their qualitative work in everyday life.
Do not hesitate to connect you on our web site to benefit on the next big weekends the best promotional rates to visit our beautiful city of Lyon, city classified in the Historical heritage of Unesco.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel,
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel was the location - close to Claude Bernard University and with very good transport (metro and tram) links. Room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was OK although the toilet seat was a bit wobbly. The only two problems were, as other people have said, the room was a bit hot (and this was only March/April) and it was noisy in the morning rush-hour - the downside of being in such a convenient location. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice of breads, yoghurts, cold meat, cheese, fruit etc. And I liked the scrambled egg, although some reviewers clearly didn't!
The staff I encountered were business-like and efficient and I am sure would have been able to deal with any problems Overall, a satisfactory hotel which suited my purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love Travelliing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1625, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear customer,
I thank you for your comment which shows our professionalism and our quality of service. My employees appreciated a lot and also thank you.
I assure you that we are going to continue to respect well all our processes so that you always have pleasure to stay in our establishment.
However we indeed note your problems of heat and noise during your stay. As regards the heat, we had difficulty managing the temperature because days were warm in March and cold nights and especially in the early hours. Given that we put all the hotel either in heating, or in air conditioning with our system, we were responsible to cut the heating during the day and to relight it the evening so that our customers has a good temperature all night long. Regrettably some customers were very hot about what you and we are sorry about it.
For the noise, you were over a week when there was a congrés on Lyon and the customers all left their rooms very early in the morning what caused a lot of noise of doors and traffic on the place.
I remain at your disposal to help you in the organization of your next stay and to welcome you.
Kind regards
Stéphane Robillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeurbanne
Hotel des Congres
#1 of 6 in Villeurbanne
337 reviews
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles
#2 of 6 in Villeurbanne
236 reviews
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#56 of 195 in Lyon
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel

Property: Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
Address: 7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Villeurbanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeurbanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
98 rooms located between La Part Dieu CBD and the Cité Internationale, Convention Centre and Lyon (5 min). A strategic hotel for your professional and cultural stays.Opposite subway. Restaurant & bar. Meeting facilities. Paying covered carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Lyon Charpennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing