We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts, gorgeous chalet and glorious food made a wonderful holiday”
Review of GourmetSki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GourmetSki
Ranked #109 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Biddenden, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, gorgeous chalet and glorious food made a wonderful holiday”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had a fantastic ten days at this chalet and would definitely go back again. Richard and Fiona are extremely passionate about the service they offer and as such it is truly excellent! They are both very friendly and willing to help with any queries/planning. Richard's food is delicious and beautifully presented. He also produced lovely meals for our two younger boys. In fact they were looked after brilliantly - the games room and Ollie were a huge bonus! The chalet itself is beautiful and reflects all the hard work that R&F have put into refurbishing it. We all enjoyed the hot tub and relaxing in the garden when we weren't out in the mountains. The surrounding area is stunning and there is heaps to do including walking, mountain biking, swimming, tennis, high ropes, golf, rafting etc etc. Our extended family group ranged in age from 4 to 80 and there was something for everyone. This was our second summer Alpine holiday but easily the best because of the wonderful service and accommodation provided by Richard and Fiona. Hopefully we will be back in winter and summer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for a week in summer and had a fabulous time. The Chalet is beautiful-very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Fiona and Richard were amazing hosts and took us to see some spectacular views from the mountians. They are both very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. The food was incredible so we were happy to spend a lot of our time indulging around the dining table. There were also a lot of fun outdoor activities to do such as bike riding, swimming and ice skating, as well as countless walks up and around the mountians. I would highly recommend a visit here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feefee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamstead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This chalet has everything you could possibly ask for. The family who own and run this chalet could not be more welcoming and accomodating, there was nothing that was too much trouble for them and they helped us plan our holiday with care and attention which for a group of 23 was quite a tall order! Our children aged between 2 and 13 years were well catered for and they have all asked to return next year. The chalet itself is beautiful, clean and spacious. Every meal was fabulous. The only downside was having to say goodbye and go home.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This was a family holiday . The chalet was clean & well supplied. The hosts were excellent and the food was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for Richard & Fiona and the chalet girls. We had a wonderful break from our hectic lifestyle and came home refreshed and relaxed.
We will definetaly be going back at some time in the future.
The chalet is very close to a lovely village with lots of amenities and good bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz99lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

GourmetSki is a fabulous chalet; with friendly, helpful staff, great rooms, lovely food and a wonderful location. Fiona and Richard went out of their way to make sure that we had a good time, including extra effort for my husband's 40th birthday celebration. This is the perfect skiing retreat for a family - as parents to two girls aged 7 and 3, we would thoroughly recommend this chalet for maximising your skiing potential. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalsAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We have just returned from a week of indulgence at Gourmet Ski, at the hands of Richard and Fiona. We were in the company of friends and had exclusive use of the beautiful Chalet. Whilst expensive, the Chalet offers comfort and space, with plenty to do for all ages. Our four year old boy thoroughly enjoyed many hours of fun with Richard and Fiona's little boy ,sharing toys, setting up dens and generally keeping each other entertained, which was a wonderful bonus for us as parents. Fiona and Richard are very hands on and utterly accommodating and warm. The highlight of the week for us was the little party Richard and Fiona organised to celebrate our son's 4th birthday. Richard baked a delicious Spiderman cake and Fiona decorated the room for the event. We were really touched by their warmth and attention to detail. Richard and Fiona were definitely challenged by our group during our week long stay as we each had different family regimes and daytime outings with the result that our Hosts spent many hours everyday ferrying us from one place to another. Whilst the chauffeur facility is all part of the service, our demands were indeed great, and yet they did it always with good humour and without issue.
We would definitley go back to Gourmet Ski, not least because our son hasn't stopped talking about it since our return and we wish Fiona and Richard every success with their business.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We had an amazing stay at Gourmet Ski, we went with a group of friends and also another couple who we had not met before. Richard and Fiona did everything to make our holiday relaxing, even bringing us out drinks when we were all in the hot tub, which was a great way to chill after skiing for the day. The food was absolutely gorgeous - could not fault Richard at all! The Chalet has been beautifully restored and was really sociable in the evenings with everyone sat around the fire. We never ran out of things to do when we were at the chalet with DVD's, board games, pool table etc. to keep us occupied. Another added luxury was being chaffeur driven wherever you wanted to go and whenever. I would definately go back to stay at Gourmet Ski as Richard and Fiona were fantastic hosts, even on their day off they were still around to do breakfast and to drop us off and pick us up from the slopes!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet du Chene
Chalet du Chene
#27 of 48 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#25 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GourmetSki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GourmetSki

Property: GourmetSki
Address: 154 Chemin des Plagnettes, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet du Chene is a beautiful oak framed chalet situated on a sunny plateau 20 minutes walk from Morzine centre (or a 3 minute drive). It has 5 beautiful en-suite rooms, including 2 family suites, a fantastic living room with a separate games room, massage suite and bar area. We serve 5 course gourmet meals each night (except Wednesday) along with a daily breakfast and afternoon tea. Open as a fully serviced and catered ski chalet in the winter and catered, self catered or b&b for the rest of the year. Positioned close to slopes and Morzine, free chauffeur service, to Pleney and Super Morzine (3 minutes drive and theres a free bus too). Hot-tub with fabulous mountain views, and off road parking. Enjoy the beauty of the French Alps in style at Chalet du Chene. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing