We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GourmetSki is absolutely amazing”
Review of GourmetSki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GourmetSki
Ranked #106 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“GourmetSki is absolutely amazing”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a brilliant place for a skiing holiday - we went as a large group of friends and the owners Richard and Fiona were extremely hospitable and accommodating to our late changes etc.

The chalet is stunning and could easily have been featured on 'Grand Designs'. There is a huge amount of attention to detail throughout, and each room is lovely. Richard excels at the catering, we were treated to delicious meals and apres ski cakes!

Every effort was made to make the holiday as relaxing as possible- transfers to and from airport and to the slopes (a few minutes to the lift) were all organised for us. We would definitely return, and i'm sure this is a fantastic holiday venue in the summer months too.

Could not recommend gourmetski more highly!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This was by far the best ski experience we have ever had. We travelled with friends and family with kids 9-13 years. From the minute we set foot in Richard and Fiona's chalet we didn't have to think about anything. Nothing was too much trouble and it was incredibly relaxing. Everything was done for us, the passes, the equipment , the pick ups and drop offs. I also have to mention our chalet girl Emily who was wonderful too.
The kids loved their home cooked food, served at a different time from ours. Heaven! Our food was very special too. Richard is a chef and it shows. I had to eat less on the slopes every day as there was so many courses and it was so delicious. We would recommend this chalet to anyone, young/old, with/without children - but definitely for foodies of all ages. We'd go back tomorrow if we'd holiday!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denjohn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at GourmetSki last month after much deliberation! We generally ski long haul, but this is the first time we had been skiing with our young son (aged 14months), so wanted a short flight, short (private) transfer and to be honest any problems irioned out as easily as possible. We found this with Fiona and Richard who promptly sorted any pre-trip questions, arranged the local nursery bookings (half days) at Outa, and basically were there to ferry us here and there, from chalet to lift, from lift to town, to nursery to the chalet etc etc at a momnents notice. These guys take all the hassle out of your holiday, and that is hard to take, but THEY KNOW BEST!! It was just brilliant! Our son (bear in mind he is a baby!) had fresh evening meals and breakfasts cooked for him which he gobbled up including the afternoon cake, which Richard can certainly rustle up a fine orange and cointreau spong -mmmmmm!!! Our room was fab, a little nook for the boy and a fab comfy bed for us. Drinks in the hot tub were a treat and something I would like to get used to! So basically after you have costed up what an average catered chalet costs, check this place out, it is worth the smidge extra and why just because you have kids should you settle for an "average chalet with great nursery" when you can be spolit rotten with amazing food (and my god the cheeses!!!) while the little man sleeps soundly upstairs..?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This place looks fantastic on the website so we were really excited to come here for our ski holiday. The chalet itself is tastefully decorated, and the food was generally really good (except we ate really late most nights - which was annoying). After a long day's skiing it would of been better to start dinner at a more reasonable time, in order to get an early nights sleep.

The hosts Fiona and Richard were very accommodating with lifts. However it was awkward for the group when you could hear them arguing, even through the kitchen door. The other staff was very nice, and sociable.

The rooms were clean and tidy at all times. Although we did have a sneak peek at some of the other rooms, and some very considerably better value (and bigger) than others. I would suggest finding out specifics of your room, before you arrive.

It did prove difficult to sleep at times, because of the traffic noise, as it was on a main road.

Overall it was a good holiday, but we'll probably stay somewhere more central next time.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mruk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We went to Gourmetski for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. The chalet is a lovely mix of old and new with 6 ensuite bedrooms, all of which have character and are just right. As the name suggests, the owner s an ex chef and produces very good homely dishes with a touch of gourmet but no pretension. The dining and lounge areas are large and comfortable with the hot tub, sauna and pool table available after skiing and before dinner. The owners are very friendly, without being obtrusive and nothing was too much trouble. The location although fine is functional but there are lifts everywhere so its hardly inconvenient and has very good access to both Avoriaz via Argent and Morzine les Gets. Overall the price makes this very good value indeed, and rather classy in a modest, comfortable and relaxing way!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highstandardsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddenden, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had a fantastic ten days at this chalet and would definitely go back again. Richard and Fiona are extremely passionate about the service they offer and as such it is truly excellent! They are both very friendly and willing to help with any queries/planning. Richard's food is delicious and beautifully presented. He also produced lovely meals for our two younger boys. In fact they were looked after brilliantly - the games room and Ollie were a huge bonus! The chalet itself is beautiful and reflects all the hard work that R&F have put into refurbishing it. We all enjoyed the hot tub and relaxing in the garden when we weren't out in the mountains. The surrounding area is stunning and there is heaps to do including walking, mountain biking, swimming, tennis, high ropes, golf, rafting etc etc. Our extended family group ranged in age from 4 to 80 and there was something for everyone. This was our second summer Alpine holiday but easily the best because of the wonderful service and accommodation provided by Richard and Fiona. Hopefully we will be back in winter and summer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for a week in summer and had a fabulous time. The Chalet is beautiful-very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Fiona and Richard were amazing hosts and took us to see some spectacular views from the mountians. They are both very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. The food was incredible so we were happy to spend a lot of our time indulging around the dining table. There were also a lot of fun outdoor activities to do such as bike riding, swimming and ice skating, as well as countless walks up and around the mountians. I would highly recommend a visit here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feefee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet du Chene
Chalet du Chene
#27 of 48 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#26 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GourmetSki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GourmetSki

Property: GourmetSki
Address: 154 Chemin des Plagnettes, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet du Chene is a beautiful oak framed chalet situated on a sunny plateau 20 minutes walk from Morzine centre (or a 3 minute drive). It has 5 beautiful en-suite rooms, including 2 family suites, a fantastic living room with a separate games room, massage suite and bar area. We serve 5 course gourmet meals each night (except Wednesday) along with a daily breakfast and afternoon tea. Open as a fully serviced and catered ski chalet in the winter and catered, self catered or b&b for the rest of the year. Positioned close to slopes and Morzine, free chauffeur service, to Pleney and Super Morzine (3 minutes drive and theres a free bus too). Hot-tub with fabulous mountain views, and off road parking. Enjoy the beauty of the French Alps in style at Chalet du Chene. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing