We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
217
59
9
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
59
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimply morzinefelix skiski shopwarm poolfamily run hotelcomfortable hotelhotel ownersski tripten minute walkbeds were very comfortablelift passescheeseboardbooked this hotellovely family runevery eveningrooms are smallbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 291 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We have just spent a week in the beautiful Hotel la Chaumiere and everything was perfect! Franck and Michelle were amazing hosts, with the help of their family and staff we had a great stay. Our room was very big and spacious with a stunning view across the valley and upto Avoriaz, the bed was massive and very comfortable. For us the food was one of the highlights! Every night we had a delicious four course meal, the smoked duck, cheeses and blueberry tarts were our favourites. The breakfast was second to none, everything you could need and want was provided. Fresh bread and croissants as well as meats, cheeses, fruit, and hot options to name but a few. The restaurant also has the same amazing view across the valley. There is also a lovely outdoor seating area around the pool with sun and shade. We had such a great time in Morzine and at Hotel la Chaumiere we will definitely be back and would recommend anyone to stay there!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

We booked this family run hotel on the edge of Morzine through the chalet company Simply Morzine who we have used many times before. It is very friendly and the staff went out of their way to introduce themselves and treat every guest as an individual. A lovely touch. The hotel is well equipped and has seen considerable investment although the rooms and facilities are small. It is what it sets out to be - a well run 3* hotel with beautiful views of the mountains if now it is surrounded by the ever spreading Morzine development. Our only criticism (and that is for our teenage son) is the intermittent availability of wifi.

Morzine itself is a great base in the summer with a range of activities including a superb (and free with the Multi-Pass) water park. The hotel is 10 mins walk from the town centre and the return is uphill; but for that effort you get superb views of the sun rising over the mountains accompanied by the sound of cow bells.

Simply Morzine had a range of activities on offer and we chose the mountain biking expedition to Les Gets arranged through Felix Ski. Lauren, the guide was excellent with local knowledge, a sense of humour, yet was firmly in charge and was careful to assess our abilities before progressing on to the mountain. The Simply Morzine rep that accompanied us on the trip was equally competent and spoke fluent French. Not for the faint hearted but a superb day out mixing exercise and new skills with magnificent scenery.

Morzine is also a great base for mountain walking with the ski lifts running throughout the summer and Simply Morzine provided us with a copy of the local guide. This allowed us to enjoy visits to Lake Montriond, Lindarets (with its goats) and the adventure park at Nyon.

This was our first visit to Morzine in the summer (after many winter visits) and we will be back. Who needs the heat of the Mediterranean when you can enjoy so much to do in this stunning location?

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We booked Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere through Simply Morzine. We only had the option of booking Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. I was not sure about the dinner bit as we usually like to try different restaurants. However it turned out to be a perfect option for us. Each night we had a wonderful four course dinner - lots of variety, lots of lovely meat and vegetables. There was no menu but that made it easier too...no choices and decisions to make - just what you need after a full day of activity and you are tired and hungry!
All the staff in the hotel were super friendly and the bar and pool area were nice too.
The bedrooms were nothing special but the beds were very comfortable and the balcony view toward the mountains was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Having got a little bored of beach holidays we decided to try a family holiday in the French alps with Simply Morzine staying in the Hotel la Chaumiere. The hotel owners made us feel welcome with a croissant on arrival and remained constantly cheerful and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel itself is located a little walk from the centre of Morzine which means it is quiet and we loved waking up to the view of the mountains and the clanging of cow bells - very relaxing. Our family room was comfortable and clean if perhaps a little dated but a perfect base for us. The hotel bar is cosy and leads to a small but very clean pool which the kids loved and was a great spot for a pre dinner drink and chatting to other guests. Food throughout our stay was great - Frank the owner/chef consistently produced great breakfasts and dinners which we really enjoyed. Morzine is a great resort and the hotel Chaumiere is a highly recommended place to stay. I would recommend a room overlooking the valley at the front of the hotel and room 108 was big enough for 4. We look forward to coming back to this friendly hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank chri571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIMPLY-MORZINE, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear Chris & family

Thank you for your kind and appreciative review, which we have passed on to all the Simply Morzine team.

We are delighted that Simply Morzine and Hotel la Chaumiere lived up to your expectations and that everyone in your family enjoyed their first summer family activity holiday.

It's great to hear that your family liked using the hotel's private facilities such as the bar area and heated pool - and that the sociable atmosphere made your stay even more relaxed.

We hope that you also enjoyed the Simply Morzine organised activities that you took part in throughout the week, as well as the many independent activities available for free with the Multi-Pass.

Needless to say, you would be made most welcome should you decide to return to Morzine again, whether in the summer or winter season.

If you have any specific feedback for how we can improve please don't hesitate to call or drop us an email.

Thank you again for booking with Simply Morzine at Hotel la Chaumiere and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
All the Simply Morzine team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We booked this hotel through "Simply Morzine" who we can highly recommend.
We stayed in a family room as there were four of us, the room had amazing views from the balcony (as all the rooms seemed to) and was comfortable with plenty of space.

The staff were all fantastic which probably reflects the family run aspect of the hotel, special mentions need to go to Juissepe, Frank and Julian, butbto be fair everyone was great.

The hotel has a small swimming pool which we were concerned would to too small to be of benefit, but its a great size for a dip and the kids loved it. The garden and seating area around the pool is really nice and we used this in the evenings along with the other guests.

The food is homemade and of great quality, we had a fussy eater in our group and they ate and enjoyed most of the meals, where necessary Frank was able to offer an alternative option. Special note has to go to the excellent buffet style breakfast whch gives you a good start to the day alongside the pain au chocolate and croissants which were available free of charge on the bar all day.

We took mountain bikes with us and the hotel gave us access to a large garage area for building and storing the bikes which was a real bonus. Were were also supplied with a hose for washing the bikes off so full marks to the hotel for customer service.

All in all this was an excellent hotel, with great staff in a perfect location, being a 10 minute walk into the centre of Morzine. Probably the best recommendation is that we plan to revisit for summer 2018 .

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianchi M, Propriétaire at Hotel La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your kind message, Hope to see you again to La Chaumière.
KIndest regards,
Franck & Michèle,
Julien, Margot & Giuseppe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews