We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing ski break- ticked all the boxes, made it easy for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Booked through simply morzine who were great.
Room was fine- and warm which was important!
pool was a welcome bonus for the kids
Food was absolutely fine- couple of chaoices every evening to select from
Friednly, attentive staff and great ski sercvice- lifts to slopes etc whenever required
We would go back like a shot- made for a very easy ski break
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

A truly wonderful hotel. The location was perfect, only a short walk to the slopes and the town centre. The rooms were lovely and all had a balcony with a magnificent view. The swimming pool was a real treat. The food was really great. As a vegetarian I have been disappointed in the past with the food in other chalets/hotels but here every meal was exceptional and I felt that a real effort had been made. But the best thing about the hotel was the friendly, helpful staff and the incredibly warm welcome given by Michele and Frank. Nothing was too much trouble and they bent over backwards to help wherever possible with the 4 month old baby in our party. Simply Morzine were also excellent at arranging ski hire/lift passes, providing a ski guiding service and generally being on hand to help whenever we needed it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A small hotel, but incredibly friendly. Frank and Michelle run a great establishment, close to the slopes and the town centre. Food is very good and the little touuches that the hosts provide really make a difference. Definetley a place to which we all will return!

Room Tip: Ideally facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kengreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Michele and Frank are wonderful inviting hosts. We stayed at Easter and enjoyed our 1st 'French' holiday in France for years [not some pastiche - or pseudo French International hotel]! Interesting and authentic food served by friendly and engaged family/staff. The hotel is 3 star for the facilities and the whole place is spotlessly clean, including the nice hot pool at the end of the day. A little tired in our compact bathroom but it served us well - but if you want a Holiday-Inn-type space think on. Very well placed a 4 minute walk from the closest button lift and there was always Frank who could bus us down the hill to Felix Ski. No need to lug skis and boots as they were left at the slope drying in a light and warm shop while we got a lift back. In the Hotel the advice about where to ski, where to lunch, where to shop was all forthcoming and found to be faultless and authentic French with good service. Table tennis and room to kick a ball outside. Wi-fi for FREE was helpful and cable TV in all rooms to keep the teneagers happy. It was the first time we have been to France and been welcomed as valued customers and treated well, fed local specialities and advised on good wine at a sensible price. The Corbieres & Chablis were great.

Room Tip: choose 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandhurst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been visiting Morzine since I was a child but this was my first time with Simply Morzine and what a great company they are. The hotel la Chaumiere was perfect, great hosts (Frank and Michelle), great food and great location. We could not fault it.

Simply Morzine made everything so easy for us, from the transfers from Genève to the daily shuttle service around the resort, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning next year

Below is an email I recently sent to Simply Morzine:

Hi Gareth

This is the first occasion that I have taken time out to send a positive email with regards to the organisation and service experienced during a holiday, but I feel it is entirely necessary in this instance

We British are the first to complain, criticise and condemn but very rarely do we take the time to actually commend and thank people for a truly pleasurable experience.

So, just a quick note to say thanks to you and your team for a superb week in Morzine! From our initial conversations at the beginning of January to returning to Geneva airport on Saturday evening, everything was just seamless. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our week.

As you are aware we have visited the resort on numerous occasions over the years but unfortunately for us it has taken us this long to break with tradition and book with an alternative company, thankfully we did, and found Simply Morzine.

All your team are extremely professional and personable, and are a credit to yourself and your family, especially Edd who is an absolute asset to Simply Morzine. I will most certainly be recommending to friends and family.

Finally, I look forward to returning to Morzine with you guys next year, if not this summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onlythebestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have just returned from a week's skiing holiday in the Porte du Soleil and Hotel la Chaumiere made a wonderful base. The owners, Michelle and Franck have taken the oldest hotel in Morzine and updated it in a contemporary, simple yet chic way. Even more importantly, the owners and their staff are masters of effortlessly good service. The food was excellent and plentiful, and served in a very attractive dining room. The bar is equally stylish and welcoming, and if this is full, there is plenty of room in the adjacent glass walled lounge which also gave indoor access to the heated outdoor pool. And the pool was wonderful after a hard day's skiing - which more than made up for the lack of a bath in the ensuite bathrooms, which are rather small.

Michelle and Franck are in the process of working their stylish magic in the bedrooms, with contemporary shower and basin fittings, and throws and cushions on white bed linen. We were also provided with towelling dressing gowns and slippers to get to the pool - a nice touch. The only thing that could be improved is the wifi - which was very slow and frustrating on my netbook, and wouldn't connect to my partner's iPad at all.

Our stay was made all the more enjoyable by the excellent service from Simply Morzine, who sorted out our lift passes, ran a shuttle bus service to and from the ski hire shop and two main lifts each day, and showed us the best routes on the slopes as well as the best restaurants and bars. Big thanks to Ed for this part of the service. It's not a ski in/ ski out location - though we could have dropped off the piste to ski back some evenings. But it was very convenient to leave our skis and boots at the hire shop (the lovely people at Felix stored our own gear as well as stuff we hired) and either get Simply Morzine shuttle or walk - it's only 5 minutes to the hotel, even after an apres ski drink in town!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just returned from a short 3 day break at La Chaumiere.

- Great food
- Excellent hospitality - we were made to feel very welcome
- Nice bar area, which was not too busy when we were there
- Rooms, functional
- Pool, great for the kids

Only [small] downside is the distance into town and the slopes/ski shop. All of this was well managed with the regular shuttle buses and didn't prove an issue at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#14 of 50 in Morzine
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#22 of 50 in Morzine
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#36 of 50 in Morzine
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere

Address: 68 route des Nants | Les Nants, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: $222 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel la Chaumiere is a comfortable and charming 'home-from-home' chalet-style hotel in Morzine. The hotel is situated in one of the best positions in the resort; on the piste yet only a 10-minute walk from the lively village centre. Open summer and winter for weekly holidays and flexible short breaks for families and groups. look forward to welcoming you upon your next holiday in Morzine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing