We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riders Refuge - Chalet Carclion
Ranked #12 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

This was our second Christmas at Carlion, we had such a good time last year we just had to come back. The hosts Cat and Dave were excellent, producing excellent food every day, the christmas day meal was fantastic. Vicky, Milly and Lorna ensured that everything we needed was catered for. The chalet was more than comfortable for all 17 of us, it has a lovely relaxed feel to it Thanks guys for another unforgettable Christmas. See you soon.
Snowy

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

Our large group stayed in Chalet Carclion over New Year 09/10. We all had a fantastic holiday and couldn't fault the service offered by the Sugar Mountain staff. The food is excellent and the hosts for this season Cat & Dave were very accomodating. Children are well looked after with early meal times, special menu and plenty of high chairs, cots etc. The adults had a fantastic time too. Transfers all excellent, ski hire organised for us, lifts to and from the slopes and a lovely homemade cake and vin chaud on our return to the chalet everyday...what's not too love! We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkimumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This was our second Christmas with Sugar Mountain in Chalet Carlicon and another memorable holiday. Our group of 4 families took over the whole Chalet. Great location, comfortable accommodation and superb staff all made this a relaxing skiing holiday. Vicky, Milly Lorna,Dave and Cat; many thanks for providing a faultless service once again.
The Dubai Crew

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fo33y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My family and I stay in stayed in Chalet Carlicon at New Year and had a fantastic time, (we took over the whole chalet). The service from the guys and girls at Chalet Carlicon was superb. Extremely helpful, great food, patient (we had 9 children with us) and always happy to give a helping hand. This was our first time at the chalet and I would definately go back, they were able to organise our transfers from the airport, our lift passes and ski hire. Every day they would wait for us to be ready and shuttle us to the ski lift and then pick us up in the evening and have vin chaud ready and waiting.

The chalet itself is clean and modern and in a good location, quiet but still close to bars and restaurants. There is free wifi too (just in case you can't let go)

I cannot fault the service in anyway, even with it being busy they were still able to work around our various arrivals and departures. I throughly enjoyed our weeks stay and if going back to the same area then I would definately stay at Carlicon again. Oh and the skiing was great too. Great snow and only 1 bad (yet still skiiable) day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I've stayed with Sugar Mountain several times and they never fail to be friendly and welcoming. The food is good and the accomodation is classic ski chalet, but the real winner is the staff, who provide a warm welcome and do an excellent job. I've been skiing with other big and small tour operators and the quality of service is noticeably better at Sugar Mountain than anywhere else I have stayed.

Likewise the resort is fantastic and I would thouroughly recommend it to anyone. The variety and quality of lifts, pistes and off piste areas is fantastic. The town has a real life and there is plenty to do apres ski including some good restaurants for when the staff have a night off.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SteveMExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had a WONDERFUL week, the Owners and staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating. The location of the chalet is great for all ages, walking into town is easy (downhill, slight uphill on the return, but great exercise) and if you are not up to the walking back, there is always a bus until about 8pm - taxi, but definitely only as a LAST resort. The food was exceptional, the waistline has definitely increased - this is the only downside to the whole experience. We cannot not recommend it highly enough and are sure whoever reads this and wants to visit Sugar Mountain will have a really good time. ENJOY - wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DoodleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I have just returned from a week at Sugar Mountain. I initially chose the property due to the excellent comments left on Trip Advisor.. It's nice to know that sometimes the comments are independent and can be trusted...
Sugar Mountain is a wonderfully decorated Chalet 2 minutes from the centre of Morzine. The chalet is run by 3 girls who couldn't do enough for the guests throughtout the stay. The accomodation is warm and cosy, the food is all home prepared and presented to an excellent standard and the ambience is made to feel like you're part of the family.
My friend broke her arm during our stay, and the girls helped with everything, and even travelled to the hospital on their day off.
I will certainly be staying at this chalet again, and would strongly suggest any future skiers to Morzine do the same.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MooleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#41 of 50 in Morzine
198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riders Refuge - Chalet Carclion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riders Refuge - Chalet Carclion

Address: Route Les Udrezants, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range: $114 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Carclion is a large catered chalet providing comfortable accommodation in central Morzine. The chalet can accommodate up to 21 people in 8 bedrooms has a large living area and boasts a private outdoor hot tub. It provides the perfect chalet base in the middle of Morzine for groups large or small. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Mountain - Chalet Carlicon Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing