We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, relaxed and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Koala

Chalet Koala
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Koala
Ranked #63 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Seascale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, relaxed and comfortable”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Chalet Koala and I will definitely go again. Much as I don't usually want to go to the same place more than once. With Chalet Koala I am more than happy to make an exception. Julia always provides a really warm welcome. The food is consistently good, the rooms are comfortable and warm and you can always guarantee finding a lovely group of people staying there. New wet rooms have been installed since last year which are great. Much more room for the essential hot soak after a day on the slopes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just came back from an amazing time at chalet koala. The setting is beautiful and chalet koala is well situated for easy access to slopes . My room was lovely nicely decorated and clean and bed was really comfy just what I needed after a day on the slopes. The staff couldn't have been more helpful especially Julia who runs it and her cooking skills second to none. I a would definitely would recommend it and would live to go again next year , I might even try and make it in the summer .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkihester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've stayed at Chalet Koala a few times now, and it's always a very friendly, relaxed and informal place to be. The food is good and the atmosphere is warm and cosy. The accommodation is clean and comfortable rather than luxurious. They had installed some new wet rooms since I last stayed there, and these were excellent. Chalet Koala is very conveniently located for the nearest ski lifts. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Chalet Koala is an ideal base for a ski trip. Julia is a great host providing fabulous food with the help of Coral and Andy. I have never eaten so much! The rooms are comfortable with their own sinks and the new shower rooms are very nice. The location is a short bus ride into the busy town of Morzine - you need to get a taxi home in the evening though. We hired a car from the airport and this was great to take us to the different ski lifts in the morning. There are so many areas to ski here. Would definitely stay at Chalet Koala again x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This chalet has some good points but could be better in others.
The chalet is only 100 meters from the free bus stop to the Ardent ski lift. Although we could leave our skis at Ardent we could not leave our boots so the small walk in ski boots to the bus stop was appreciated.
Our ground floor room was simply furnished with a small wardrobe and sink in the corner. Be aware that none of the rooms are en suit so although there are a couple of small shower rooms and a bathroom down the corridor you do have to share them with the other guests.
To us the lounge/dining area seemed too small to accommodate the number of chalet guests. With only seating for nine on the sofas and chairs in the lounge area any others had to sit up the dining table or on the floor. It was also not helped by the large number of pot plants and other items giving the room a cluttered feel.
We could not be bothered to use the small sauna since it was tucked away in the basement down a corridor marked private and notice was required to use it.
The food was quite good although not outstanding. Breakfast was simply cereals, porridge, croissants, plate of salami and cheese spread. Afternoon tea was with a home made cake and a bottle of wine served with the evening meal although sometimes we had to ask for more wine.
However do recommend the local bar/tabac in the village especially since they had a happy hour from 6-7 which was perfect for a beer (or two) before dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from an 8 day stay with a group of friends. It is the second time I have stayed here and it was just as good as I remembered. The food was excellent and plentiful, the chalet comfortable and located virtually opposite the ski bus stop which is a short ride away from the Ardent lift. Many thanks to Julia for her great hospitality and to Andy and Coral for taking us on their 'secret' off piste route into Switzerland. Happy days indeed and I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another great stay at the koala with Julia. As per usual great food and company, it's like a home from home and Julia really makes you feel welcome, just don,t be late for dinner.Lol. The new wet rooms to the ground floor are brill! The place has everything you need and nothing you don,t. Have already booked for 2014, this will be my 3rd visit to the koala. Thanks Julia.

Room Tip: The ground floor is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.7 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 17 in Montriond
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
29 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.9 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Koala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Koala

Property: Chalet Koala
Address: La Ranche | Montriond, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing