We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Ranked #6 of 48 Morzine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'd just like to thank Simply Morzine for a great holiday. Our party of 21 were looked after so well and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food every night was fantastic (Thanks Dave!) and the cake in the afternoon was pretty good too. A special thank you to Pete also for doing some ski guiding for us. The chalet was very comfortable and cosy on only a few minutes walk away from the town centre. Hope to be back in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davyw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

marvelous mid march @ simply morzine was a blast- great weather, fabulous snow and wonderful people. From the pick up in Geneva, everything worked like magic in meticulous detail. The crew at Chalet des Montagnes were awesome (and friendly) and kept the chalet in immaculate condition. The guests representing families, couples and singles (including myself) gelled like glue (all strangers with so much in common- background/professionals/roots/ acquaintances). One special mention has to be the cuisine-simply superb (accolades to the Chef) and the local wine presented for meals was out of this world- and flowed endlessly. To sum it up-can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff at Simply Morzine make this place amazing. We arrived and the chalet was ready for us, before it should have been. The place was beautiful, cosy and warm. A nice welcome pack awaited us. The chalet is around a 5 minute walk to the town centre, but the staff were available around 8.10am every morning to get us to Felix Ski (who were great) and onto the lift 2 mins away, every morning, not easy with kids! We really appreciated this as we had lessons booked at 9am. It was also lovely to get fresh baguettes and croissants every morning delivered to our door. The staff were attentive and genuinely interested in our holiday and whether they could help make things any better. I loved the location as we were able to pop into the town centre very easily. We were self catering as a family of four as we love the independence.

Not to forget the booking experience with Gareth and Mike, they were also very attentive and helpful and contacted me directly by phone to discuss requirements, rather than by email all the way. We had a fantastic holiday made very easy by the people who work at SM.

The beds were brilliant, very hard to get out of at 7am for lessons!!! So good! Loads of hot water and lovely soft towels. Great with the free wii if and English tv channels!!!

There is no downside to this place and believe me, I am an honest person and not on the payroll of SM!! Enjoy, we did!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopingtotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here in a party of 19 and I cannot speak highly enough of the quality of the staff, the catering and the genuine warmth of the welcome.
The chalet is very comfortable and maintained to a high level, the facilities were excellent - particularly liked the hot tub after a days skiing.
The location is good, although not as central as some - but again the staff are on hand to help with lifts if you dont fancy the 10 minute walk back from the ski lockers at the bottom of the slopes
Sadly my wife had a fall and was on crutches for much of the week, but again the staff were there - attentive and responsive and making the week as comfortable as possible for her, and providing more impromptu lifts and assistance.
Special mention for Dave the chef, simply excellent, and its amazing what he can conjure up - each dinner was a real event.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having booked our trip 15 months in advance, I had plenty of communicaton with the Simply Morzine team and found them very helpful and flexible at every stage. As a party of 19 travelling from all over the UK & Eire, we had complex transfers from Geneva but the arrangements went smoothly.

We found all the staff delightful and attentive, from the resort manager Bee and rep Peter through to the chalet staff, nothing was too much trouble and the service and food first rate.

The chalet itself is spaceous enough to cope with 19 adults, but also cosy by the fireside after skiing. Dave the chef also coped with two birthdays and produced couple of cakes for the occasions!

All in all, a fabulous week. The chalet and the travel company are fully endorsed.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms seem the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just spent Christmas 2012 with 22 of our family and friends at the Chalet des Montagnes in Morzine booked through Simply Morzine and had a truly wonderful Christmas

The chef was exceptional and all the staff were so friendly and helpful I would recommend this chalet to anyone. The Chalet itself is really homely and plenty of space for us all to have a really lovely break with everything you need and lovely views from all rooms.

The teenagers in our group particularly loved coming back from a day on the slopes to the homemade cakes followed by the lovely hot Jacuuzzi

No complaints from 22 people , cant beat that. On top of that Morzine is a really great resort
Win Win

Room Tip: They are all good , the flat downstairs is really cool All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calabash54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are coming to Chalet des Montagne and looking forward to spending some time in the French Alps soaking up the French culture and indulging in delicious French cuisine you may be a little disappointed. The chalet is owned/run by a UK based company and this has a significant impact on the product that is provided to guests. It is certainly NOT French.
The chalet staff are entirely imported from the UK (including the cook). Not a "bonjour" or "merci" in sight. I mention this not as a criticism but so that others have realistic expectations of what to expect unlike my wife and I who found this particular aspect of the chalet very disappointing.

Rooms: The rooms are small with little space for much more than a bed and chest of draws. This was emphasised by the fact that our bathroom door and the door onto the balcony could not be opened more than half way because they hit the bed. the walls are very thin. We could clearly hear conversations (and snoring) of the guests in the room next to ours. The rooms were clean and serviced regularly during our 6 night stay.
There is a guest lounge in the chalet which provides a good space to mix and chat with others staying at the property but if you want to have some space away from your fellow chalet dwellers then your room is it.

Food: Whilst others have raved about the food at Chalet des Montagnes I would describe it as good without being memorable. The cook certainly presented some very nice dishes without ever managing to nail an entire meal. There was a disappointing lack of representation of local French cooking on the menue which possibly reflected the cooks English origins.
If you are looking for meals to simply refuel you for the next days skiing then you will find the portions geneous and the meals varied. If however you are wanting to sample local cuisine and enjoy French dishes you may be quite underwhelmed. The UK bias was exemplified when at breakfast one morning instead of being offered "French" toast we were told that the the cooked breakfast that morning was "eggy bread".

Location: The chalet is well located on the Morzine / Les Gets side of the town. It is an easy 5-10 min stroll into the town centre. When we visited it was possible to ski to the back of the chalet when returing in the afternoon but it is not possible to ski to the lifts in the morning. The chalet provides transport for those that want it to the lifts located in town.

Staff: Despite the above mentioned English flavour of the staff they were all very helpful and seemed to be genuinly keen to ensure that guests needs were met and people had an enjoyable stay.

General: I guess it depends on what your priorities are. If you are seeking a chalet that provides a good base from which to enjoy a week (or more) of skiing in the Alps and things like the food and local culture are secondary then you will probably be quite happy here. If however you are wanting to actually feel like you are in France and enjoy French food and engage with local French people then you would be best to find another chalet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimplyMorzine, Owner at Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review following your recent ski holiday at Chalet des Montagnes. This reply is just to explain why your holiday experience was not ‘authentically French’.

Coming from Australia to Europe to ski in a major resort, it seems that you were not aware that catered chalets are a unique concept largely for the British and Irish. French catered chalets simply do not exist as there is no market amongst the French people (the same applies for other alpine countries). The staff who work in catered chalets are almost entirely British/Irish, known as ‘seasonaires’ working a winter season in the Alps.

If you ever return to France to ski, the only accommodation that provides an authentic French experience would a small independent hotel (check they do not work with tour operators as most reply on foreign tourists due to weak domestic French demand). It is unlikely you would be served a daily hot dish at breakfast as in French ski resorts this is almost unique to catered chalets. For example if you asked for 'French toast' the waiter may give you a strange look and shrug their shoulders.

If your priority is to engage with local French people rather than international guests, you may want to stay in a more unknown village with a smaller ski area where the proportion of French clients will be much higher, as opposed to one of France’s renowned large resorts such as Morzine/Avoriaz.

We hope you find this of help if you ever return to the Alps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#25 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes

Property: Simply Morzine - Chalet des Montagnes
Address: 50 route des Nants | Les Nants, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine's privately-owned flagship Chalet des Montagnes is one of Morzine’s finest chalets. The chalet is perfectly located in Morzine; on the piste with stunning panoramic views yet an easy 10-minute walk from the resort centre. The chalet operates on a catered basis in both the summer and winter seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simply Morzine - Chalet Des Montagnes Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing