We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Hotel Le Sporting

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Sporting
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have recently returned from Morzine after a week's skiing in February half term 2013. It was our first visit to the region and we travelled as two families. We made our booking direct and drove from Kent to The Alpes (14 hour journey). The hotel accommodated our car free of charge for the week and even towed us out at the end when the car was stuck on ice. The hotel was ideally located at the quiet end of the town with easy access immediately across the road to a button lift that enabled you to ski down to the main lift area. There is minimal walking with all your ski equipment. The hotel has it's own locker/boot room with heated "pegs" to keep ski boots dry. Ski passes can be purchased via reception with discount given for cash.

The hotel was welcoming, comfortable, clean, with spacious nicely decorated, warm rooms and the service impeccable. The food was plentiful (5 courses) and of a superior quality. We loved it and very much hope to return next year as there are many more slopes to investigate in neighbouring Switzerland.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 889LouiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Sporting
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 140 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Loved this hotel!

Great atmosphere, well looked after, cosey bar and clean and charming room. Morzine has plenty of restuarants, shops and bar - more of a town than a village in size, and this hotel was a short walk so super quiet at night.

Being a vegetarian in France usually means alot of omelette and lettuce, but the chef here was amazing and I had a different 5 course dinner every night presented beautifully. A real pleasure after a day on the slopes.

Great location but beginners may want to be a little nearer the main Pleney lift, as it's a around a 10 minute walk. Drag super nearby though for experience skiers.

Only reason for not giving this a 5* is because we had booked it for the heated pool, and we gave up after 2 days as it was flipping cold. The sauna which was lovely is the other side of the hotel which means walking throught he bar and entrance in your bikini and towel.

Would definately stay here again if revisiting Morzine!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineRocksEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Morzine for superb skiing with excellent access to the slopes from the nearby drag lift. The buses were also close and frequent to get to all areas. The Hotel Sporting was in an ideal location for us as it was easy to walk into the centre and the area was quiet. We appreciated the comfort of the hotel. The excellent food was made even more enjoyable by the welcome we were given by Jeanine at each meal.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great room, views, staff, service and atmosphere. Away from all the noise in the centre of town, though just a ten-minute walk away. Nice swimming pool, cute dogs, typical alpine rooms. Free wifi downstairs in the bar, and bike storage was available for free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week and loved it!! The owners Frederic & Nadege are lovely, so friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was superb with a very comfortable bed, bathroom & separate toilet, also a large balcony with good views. The drag lift is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel
We are going to stay again in the summer & do some mountain biking

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent family run hotel with super, super friendly atmosphere. Conveniently located for both the ski bus to Les Prodains and cable car to Avoriaz, with the poma tow to Pleney lift seconds away. Evening dinner consisted of a 5 course set menu which never failed to impress. Hotel and rooms in general very clean and comfortable.
Guests are ensured a very warm and pleasant welcome from proprietors Frederic and Nadege.
Overall a great base for exploring the fantastic Portes du Soleil ski area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel with a bus stop for the free ski bus to the Prodains cable car outside and a button lift to Pleny cable car just over the road!
Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is nice and cosy.
The food is a set menu but really good and with five courses you get plenty to choose from even if there is something you don't like.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madijoysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#11 of 50 in Morzine
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sporting

Address: 34 route des Nants | Avenue de Joux-Plane Centre Station, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: $149 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sporting 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a heated pool wich is covered in the winter, a sauna, a steam room and a billiard table. In the summer, appreciate the shaded gardens with a game area for children where you can relax whilst playing "petanque" or ping-pong. We also put at your disposition a secured garage and all material necessary for washing mountain bikes. In winter "Sporting hotel" guests can buy their skipasses directly at reception with special prices, even in high season. Our guests can also profit of a discount on ski hire at "Felix ski" situated at 100m from the hotel. The hotel is also equipped with a secure ski room including a shoe dryer. Piscine Hotel Morzine Le Sporting A private and free parking is available in front of the hotel where you can leave your car during your stay and make the most of the resort by foot or using the free buses that go around the village and up to Avoriaz cable car. The bus stop is in front of the hotel. After a good days skiing or walking the hotel lounges and bar await you to taste our cocktails, local aperitifs and our famous home-made crisps. In the restaurant our chef will allow you to savour a gourmet, creative and refined local cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing