We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost home!”
Review of Hotel Le Dahu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Dahu
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Almost home!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice atmospheric hotel with super good and friendly service. Not as fancy as the Hiltons etc (we came to Dahu directly from Hilton Evian Les Bains), but overall much better.

I just cannot think a better ski holiday hotel for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    49
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
69
88
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at Le Dahu on numerous occasions over the last 8 years and even had the pleasure of working in the kitchens there on my gap year when I was a student.

The hotel reception, dining room, bar and most importantly the rooms all have a warm, rustic feel with that 'log cabin' touch that one associates with mountain venues, whilst not lacking any modern amenities.

Having worked at the hotel, I can safely say that the rooms at the front of the hotel are certinaly larger, with balconies and a fantastic panoramic view of the Morzine side of the Portes de Soleil region. The rooms at the back of the hotel are nevertheless comfortable and warm. The family rooms are certainly an adventure for kids, with wooden staircases and snug cabins.

The food at the restaurant is outstanding, with weekly raclette and fondue nights for those who want it. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and do their utmost to provide information and help in multiple languages. The owner Benoit and his family are extremely knowledgeable about the area and usually available to help. The hotel dog Shaika is also everpresent, further enhancing the familial feeling that the hotel eminates.

It's true that the hotel is a ten minute walk from the town centre and a fifteen minute walk in full ski equipment to the Pleney lift. However this is compensated for by the free minibus navette service operated by hotel staff at the start and end of the day. If you hire your equipment from Intersport however, you can leave your skis and boots there near the bottom of the lift after each day's skiing.

The pool facilities are small and, to be honest, tired. The gym is a token gesture with only a few pieces of dated equipment. I didn't use the spa facilities, however the pool is relaxing enough after a day's skiing.

The hotel also offers a friendly childminding service that (I think from memory) is available from approximately 10am to 5pm.

Morzine overall is a fantastic, if exclusive place to go skiing, and forms part of the Portes de Soleil resort that offers more skiing than you can possibly complete in a week, which leaves you coming back for more. Dixies Irish bar in town is good for watching football, whilst Opera and Coyote Bar are decent enough night venues. If you're after a lads holiday though, this is probably not the place! It's very family centric.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger, have a balcony and an infinitely better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Le Dahu towards the end of the summer season, and were there for mountain biking. For us, it was well situated as it's just a short ride across the bridge to the two lifts (and from there, you can explore any number of mountains and valleys). However in winter, you might find the distance to the lifts, shops and restaurants a bit more tedious. For our trip, this was just perfect and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were very quaint and staff very helpful - showing us to our room on arrival and making sure we were comfortable. They also assisted in helping us retrieve some items we left behind. The breakfast spread was the best, and the time we opted to eat dinner at the hotel was also very impressive. In warm weather, the outdoor pool is delightful. I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view facing over the valley. I don't think the rooms facing up the mountain woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Le Dahu during a hiking holiday. On arrival the receptionist, Loetitia, gave us a great welcome, showed us to our room, and gave us plenty of info. All the staff we met and spoke to at the Dahu were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help.

The room had just enough space and the balcony overlooked across the valley to the other side of town - a ten minute or so walk across the bridge to the central bars and restaurants. It was a fairly dark room however, and the balcony door needed to be open to avoid a sense of claustrophobia. We asked for a twin room, but it was clear that the room was really supposed to be a double and did not work well in the new configuration. The beds were also slightly too narrow and not especially comfortable.

Breakfast cost 15 euros, which was of a good quality and was mainly bread and cereal (although did also include eggs, meat, cheese etc.).

The sauna and jacuzzi were unfortunately not gratis (cost 9 euros each), but the swimming pool was free and the 'no kids after 6pm' rule was welcome - staff from the bar kept the beers coming and were also extremely pleasant and friendly. The hotel had several smaller rooms in and near the bar, which included a pool table and a few computers with free internet - all very well presented and a pleasure to spend time in.

In short, although sleep quality was not great, it was generally a friendly and well run hotel and for about 50 euros pppn (not including breakfast) offered good value for money if you avoided optional extras.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoAdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Every aspect of the hotel was beyond expectations. The rooms are cozy, the staff is friendly, the food is amazing. They really make an effort to make sure your stay is pleasant. Le Dahu is located up on a hill across town from Le Pleney. They provide shuttles to and from lift so it's not a problem getting there, the only problem is getting back. The last shuttle back to the hotel seemed fairly early and we typically got a few drinks after the last run, meaning we would have to walk back. We're young enough were we can make it but for those who don't want to walk across town, uphill, after a full day of the slopes I suggest you plan accordingly. The also have a shuttle to and from the Super Morzine, this lift is much closer and we usually just walked. The only bit of criticism I have is their hot tub, it's not hot, it's lukewarm. I was looking forward to lounging in a hot tub and it was a little disappointing (they gave a reason why it not very hot but I don't remember). All in all, I will definitely be staying there again on the next trip and would recommend it to anyone going.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room on a lower level so the majority of our view was other hotels, If you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend in mid-March.

Initial impressions were very good but there was no real introduction to the hotel or our room - this led to various needless calls and visits to reception.

We went for half board - the food just about warranted the price.
Breakfast offered a great spread, breads, jams cheeses and meats, it was just a shame that the only hot food was just scrambled egg on 1 day and pancakes the next. Fresh juice would have been nice too. With regards to dinner I found some of the food spectacular and some half-hearted. Some of the dishes had obviously been reheated.

Note. There is only one Menu if you go HB, 4 courses inc a fantastic cheeseboard.

The Super- Morzine lift to Avoriaz and town centre are on the other side of the bridge. If you are hiking it is easy, if you are carrying skiis and walking in boots it is a pain. On arrival at reception on the first day we were told it was an easy walk. When I enquired about the bus/shuttle I was told that the D bus stopped at the crossroads. We walked there, and walked back - later when I asked how the shuttle worked I was given a timetable for the shuttle which we could have taken all along.

On the second day I asked at reception if we could board the 0915 shuttle. I was told that it was very busy and there was only one driver on duty so we might have to wait. On leaving the hotel I asked in advance for a lift to the Rhodos hotel about 3 mins away. I was told that it may not be possible, luckily enough we got on. I got the impression that t he buses could be managed a lot better.

The spa and pool were nice, unfortunately they ran out of robes and you had to put your name down to get one for the following day.

On the upside the drivers were always jovial and even took us up to the Nyon lift to get away from the crowds when we went up to Morzine. They also helped with all the equipment.
The staff in the restaurant were also very good - Antoine in particualr helped choose good cheeses and explained the Menu.

My overall impression is that this is locals hotel, if you go year after year you know the drill and what to expect. I felt the place would have been better if they put the drivers at reception.

Room Tip: not 101 - faces into the hill behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times for a week. Every coming back was a feast because of the warm welcome by the staff and the owners(Benoit and Anne). The rooms are clean, cosy, romantic and well decorated. The more spacy rooms are on the frontside of the hotel. The restaurant is of awesome quality so watch out for putting on weight which you will have to ski off the next day. The food is really excellent and the atmosphere is great. The complimentary shuttle which drops you of in town and picks you up at the end of the day is really comfortable. The ski-area is top of the bill. A great hotel to stay and dine in. It is a must do!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter490220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#26 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dahu

Property: Hotel Le Dahu
Address: 293 Chemin du Mas Metout, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#4 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#19 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Dahu 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like all the members of the Hôtels Chalets de Tradition chain, Le Dahu gives you the cosy comfort of a mountain chalet with lots of character, and a very high quality of service. You’ll get a warm welcome and the atmosphere is relaxed; the Heu family and their team will do all they can to make sure that you have an extremely pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Dahu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dahu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing