We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent skiing hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Dahu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Dahu
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Friendly family hotel with good facilities, swimming pool, ski room, 400 metres from the pedestrian bridge to one of the main lifts. Good shuttle service. Good breakfast. Good size well furnished lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley have good views and are south facing.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Dahu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 239 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay, the rooms are really lovely,clean, romantic and beautifully decorated. The restaurant is of such high quality and fantastic array of food I put on a few kilo's trying everything! The hotel has a great shuttle that drops you off at the ski lift and picks you up if you wish to return to the hotel for lunch and also picks you up at the end of the day! They have a ski guide who is such a lovely chap! Hosts Benoit and Anne make you feel so much at home at this hotel that you really feel like an extended member of their family. I would go back tomorrow in a flash, so will start saving for next year.

Room Tip: Great family rooms with a mezzanine floor and private en suite bathroom for the kids highly recommen...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelreviewer352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked a duplex (family) apartment at Le Dahu for a late season family ski trip. The hotel was perfect: very comfortable, great food, very good food. The perfect retreat after a day's skiing.
The snow was pretty rubbish (nothing Le Dahu could do about that) so we spent more time in hotel than planned/ hoped. Nonetheless, there was plenty to engage the kids - a swimming pool, hot tub, games room. Early evening kids dinner option - so that my wife and I could have a bit of time to ourselves in the evening - and very friendly and helpful staff.
All in all, first rate and very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We drove to this hotel from Chamonix and found it easily enough, when driving it seems like it is a far enough distance out of town but actually only takes about 10 mins walk into town once you go over the pedestrian bridge which takes you to the ski lift although the last part is uphill on the return journey

We got an efficient fast welcome when we arrived and were shown to our double room which although possibly a little small, had everything we needed including a small balcony with table & chairs overlooking the gardens & swimming pool. I was very impressed with the hotel information provided in the room, it is definitely more than I’ve ever seen and covered absolutely everything.

We stayed at this hotel in August which was at the end of their summer season and the hotel was very quiet (as was the town) so some of the things mentioned in the booklet weren’t visible. For example the outside bar didn’t seem to be open at all when we were there, plus although the bar was open during the day there was no-one manning it and you had to ask at reception. Also the bar was due to be open until midnight but just seemed to close up at various times eg 10:30pm without any communication.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom was a separate room from the toilet, although the toilet room didn’t have any ventilation. The shower was over the bath and was positioned in the middle of the bath as opposed to either end. Also the height of the shower wasn’t adjustable. I found it OK as I am 5’3 but I wouldn’t like to see anyone taller trying to use it. Towels, facecloths, toiletries and a hairdryer were provided and there was free wifi throughout

Breakfast was the normal buffet breakfast that you get with cold meats, cheese, breads, cereals, juice etc… I believe there was hot food such as scrambled eggs but they only seemed to have that early and then it was taken away. Like other hotels in the Alps they had the hot water devices with baskets to boil your own egg. This didn’t seem to be working as we boiled one egg for 4 mins but it still wasn’t cooked, we boiled another for 8 mins and no luck and we finally boiled another for over 10 mins and the top wasn’t cooked and the bottom was. We had to give up.

We ate dinner one night and it is a set 4 course meal for €32 (wine extra) only served between 7:30 – 9pm which is quite a short time. It is a typical starter, main & dessert, but the extra course is a cheese course of over 6 cheeses to choose from. The food definitely wasn’t Michelin star (the goats cheese soufflé was wet & flat) but it was nice

The hotel does have a spa area with indoor pool but we never used it.

Overall the hotel was nice and I could see the potential of it during high season

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemissneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I've been to Austria many times and stayed into quiet a lot of 4 star traditional hotels at the Alpes. Consequently I'm a strict judger on rating traditional hotels. Before arriving to Le Dahu hotel, I was a little bit cautious of the respond that we would receive from the hotel staff since I was very dissapointed of the cold Parisien attitude of Paris a week ago. To my surprise, by the time I've stepped in the hotel, everyone was so welcoming and friendly....starting from the owner, receptionist, cleaning ladies even cooks!! ..Even in Cyprus, my homeland, which is a quite a famous destination of welcoming people, I wouldn't say that I've met such warm hearted people. The hotel is very cosy, rustic full of wooden furnitures. The rooms are quite spacious, new, very clean and tidy and very very cosy!! We also had a lovely view of the town of Morzine from our balcony. The food was absolutely fantastic! Breakfast buffet was very rich with great viriety of home made products. I will never forget those tasty home-made jams...especially the one with blueberries and raspberries. The evening 4 course menu was the cherry on the cake! It was awsome! The only negative thing, was that you needed to be too patient to enjoy the food. The whole serving of food, usually took about 1 1/2 hour which was a little bit disturbing especially for our children. I want to be fair however, and say that the hotel gives the option to the children to eat earlier, but from what I realized nobody was keeping this facility. Among the dinner options, I will never forget the cheese buffet!! ..I can say that I still have the nice smell of the smoked village cheese in my nostrils! I will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IOANNIS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The rooms are lovely but I could not recommend this hotel as the attitude and rudeness of the owner- manager. We had a couple of instances with her but the worst was when I twisted my knee on the piste and had to be shuffled off the slope to a nearby village. We called the hotel to ask for advice and taxi numbers and the response she gave in excellent English was 'this is not my responsibility, she will just have to ski back'. Would prefer a smaller hotel where they care more about their guests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sheena1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We found this hotel to be completely charming, the service was excellent and the staff were so friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night, and the food was extremely good. The bar area is cosy with a lovely fire and a friendly resident dog! Would recommend this hotel to all my friends, and we WILL DEFINATELY be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riosixto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.4 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#12 of 50 in Morzine
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#14 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Dahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Dahu

Address: 293 Chemin du Mas Metout, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morzine
#4 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#19 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: $220 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Dahu 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like all the members of the Hôtels Chalets de Tradition chain, Le Dahu gives you the cosy comfort of a mountain chalet with lots of character, and a very high quality of service. You’ll get a warm welcome and the atmosphere is relaxed; the Heu family and their team will do all they can to make sure that you have an extremely pleasant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Dahu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dahu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing