We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go off season”
Review of Chalet Philibert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Philibert
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We got an interesting discount on booking.com because the ski season hadn't start yet but the resort was opened for skiing for the week-end of 15/16 december.
We arrived a bit late (8.30 PM), the manager was waiting for us but we directly felt that he wanted to go home so the check-in was fast whitout that much information.
As the reception was closed, and the restaurant too (which was not mentioned when we booked) the manager told us to go for a diner in town we would need then to enter the hotel through a back door that we access from the street whitout any lights and directly in a curve so quite dangerous...
During the night, there was a strong noise, I guess ventilation, so strong that we had trouble to sleep. Of course we couldn't turn it off ...
Then in the morning we went for breakfast and directly realised that we were only 2 couples in the hotel as everything was the minimum quantity : 4 mini croissant and chocolat croissant, some bread, coffee for 4 persons NOT MORE ... ham and cheese didn't seem fresh so we didn't try..I guess they bought everything at Lidl ...
To shower, it was a bath without any curtain so water everywhere...
The pool was closed.
Sauna and jacuzi only open from 4 ... and Jacuzzi was cold so we haven't been.
When we got out, a big dog poo was just outside down the stairs and it took them a while to clean it.
When we left I tryed to say to the girl at the reception that we were a bit disapointed and the only thing she could answer was "well at least you got the suite with the standard room price, hope you liked " I would rather get a standard room with a better service...
For this the price was way too expensive !!! (95 euros/night)
I guess everything happened because it was off season so they just didn't care about these few custumers ...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Philibert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location just above Morzine less than 10 min walk to the center. Convenient and well appointed very relaxing. Buffet breakfast had good selection although no hot option. In the summer no restaurant facility and main entrance / bar area closed at 8pm which was a bit strange. However easy walk down hill to the town and great range of bars / restaurants to choose from. Limited fitness center just a running macjine with sauna / spa bath and out door pool with nice area to relax and enjoy the sun. Free wifi very useful.

Room Tip: Upgrade with balcony recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

CP exceeded our expectations. Very comfortable, good value, good service. Efficiency was 100%, they arranged our taxi pickup to and from Geneva airport.

Location-wise in a quiet location up a hill; easily walkable to the town centre (downhill) but never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus. At night the walk is about 15 minutes uphill, but the cold air is a needed tonic to the alcohol intake! We paid 10 euros for a taxi one night when we preferred not to walk.

We were very grateful for storage of our luggage on our final day, whilst we skied, and use of the jaczzi/shower facilities prior to our evening flight.

The food was gourmet - superb. Quantities were entirely appropriate, I as a 100kilo food lover did not feel deprived!

I noted several previous reviewers comments that the portions were not enough for hungry skiers. Well, if you are on a budget and decide to ski for 6 hours whilst skipping lunch, you will not be able to fill up with the evening meal. Find yourself a down-market offering which offers vatfuls of chips, tartiflette and spaghetti bolognaise! CP is not for you!!

One suggestion to the management - a welcome letter detailing the Hotel's facilities, bus details, code to door, handy hints ec would have been good to have in our room when we arrived.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the appartment consisting of two bedrooms with a living area between the three of us (all adu...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Portes du Soleil, Le Chalet Philibert in Morzine should be your choice! Rooms are clean and very nicely decorated in typical chalet style. After a long day of skiing you can enjoy the sauna and the jacuzzi, an excellent way to relax your muscles. If you are lucky enough to visit the chalet in spring time there's even een option to lay by the outdoor pool and enjoy a bit of sunshine!
Staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable and are willing to go 'the extra mile'. But the best part may be the food. There's no better place to eat in Morzine than here. If you want to enjoy a great meal and the best wines you should come here!
This has been the fourth time I have stayed in the hotel and I have never been disappointed. The only bad thing about it is when the holiday is over... See you next year Serge and staff!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Thanks to Serge and his team for a fantastic family holiday. The relaxed atmosphere is very family friendly. The food is of a very high standard along with the quality and extensive wine list..

Relax in the pool and hottub, sauna after a hard day on the slopes and then pre dinner drinks by the log fire...

Ideally situated to head in to the lovely alpine town for some shopping or night activities.

Yet again a great family holiday thanks to the staff at Chalet Philibert!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllezLirlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

If carlsberg did Alpine chalet hotels that were affordable the Chalet Philiibert would be top of their list. Having discovered the chalet by luck a few years ago, we have returned every year since, I can categorically say that value for money and simple Alpine quaintness is all anyone would want at the end of a hard day up the mountain. It's situated just outside the main centre of Morzine a pleasant walk up the hill or on a regular bus route if all your energy has been zapped!
The real draw to the chalet however is the food along with it's exceptional wine list. The food is wonderfully created and wouldn't be out of place in any Michelin-starred restaurant, we had a small child with us who really enjoyed the food, however he could also change his evening meal at breakfast time if there was something he didn't like. On two of the evenings some friends joined us and were also blown away by Philibert, one of the party has eaten in most of the eateries in Morzine and said it was by far the best food and wine he has sampled there.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional and nothing would be any trouble. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Philibert to anyone. It is a real understated treasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillippa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were placed in the " little Philibert". Very simple rooms,no decorations and no place to sit except on your bed, the chalet is copletely in wood but the floors in the room are very cheap as it is a laminate floor, feels ver plastic !!! . Very sml bathroom, nothing to hang your towels, wires sticking out of the ceiling, fixtures for heating sticking out of the wall but there is NO heating connected!!!
Bedroom is next to breakfast room so there is a LOT of noise from 07h30, not nice if you would like to sleep a bit longer.

The food was nice, though again they are trying to get to a certain level where they are not able to get. For me the portions were ok but for the most people it will simply be not enough.

The bar is too smal so sometimes you can not gonthere to have a drink , if you're unlucky you will nevere have a place at the bar.

The staff is very friendly but the hotelmanager is very grumpy, not nice at all.
He treats his guests with an arrogant attitude, he doesn't make time for you and is very scares with information, he will tel you nothing about the pool,sauna,ski rentals,bus stops,extra menu items.........you will have to find out yourself or ask him about it .
If you ask him,he will tell you but not in an amused way. .

The girl who runs the small chalet ( swedish girl ) is very friendly and very nice , she does a superb job during your time at the breakfast table.
I would prefer to be able to sit at my own table instead of sharing a big table with 12 persons.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mister_ergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Soly
Hotel le Soly
#19 of 50 in Morzine
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#14 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#31 of 50 in Morzine
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Philibert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Philibert

Address: Le Puthey | Morzine, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Morzine
Price Range: $303 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Philibert 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Philibert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Philibert Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing