We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Owners!”
Review of Hotel Les Airelles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Airelles
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beware of the Owners!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I have just visited friends, who live and work in the Morzine area. To repay their hospitality, I said that we would take them for lunch at Les Airelles. We have been there before on several occasions over the last few years and the food and service is excellent. I particularly like the hot stone speciality.
Unfortunately our friend was not too good on the Sunday morning so did not ski with us. After a nice ski, we arrived at the restaurant in time for our booking. However the owner was straight away complaining that we must order on time. As our friend was feeling better, his wife had shot off to collect him and bring him back meaning we were later than the booked time of 13.45
The owner continued to complain that he could not take an order after the time and that it was costing him money etc etc. At that point, we should have left as we were made to feel very uncomfortable. His attitude was most unwelcoming but given our previous experiences, we were looking forward to the meal. We said we would order for our friends and wait for them to get back.
The extremely pleasant waitress took our order for 6 of the specialities and shortly after the owner returned to have another go at us not realising that we had actually ordered.
The food was brought to the table and our friends duly arrived about 5 to 10 minutes later which was not a problem when you are cooking the food yourself!! However on their arrival, the owner again had to make his feelings known about our timing and our friends who speak perfect French were extremely offended.
It comes to something when the staff apologise for the owners but that's exactly what happened. It was like a scene from Faulty Towers.
The food was excellent and our waitress was lovely. It's a shame that the owners of this hotel and restaurant do not appear to have the same customer service attributes. At the end, I paid the 250 euro bill which was followed by more abuse from the owners mother. Apparently if you are English you are not very welcome and our friends were told not to return.

Well no need to worry about that, they won't and neither will we!

Beware of the guard dog and his mother - otherwise great. (Oh and don't be late, it's a capital offence)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    19
    9
    17
See reviews for
58
39
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Visited the hotel restaurant during our stay in Morzine, luckily they had availability as there was only two of us (book in advance when visiting Morzine, we tried a few places first and all were full). Food was excellent, the lamb chops were huge, not the little ones like we have in the UK. The restaurant is split in two parts, we were next to the indoor swimming pool. Would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex_Beardmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was my second time in Morzine and I managed to book a cheeky 5 days away with my youngest daughter (15).
The hotel is situated right in the centre of Morzine which is ok but I would recommend a hotel closer to the Le Plenney lift (probably hotel l'equippe) - stayed here 2013 NYE...as it can be a little noisy (my room facing the town) at around 2am when all the pubs etc start kicking out....
And it's better in my opinion to have a shorter walk with all your ski/snow board clobber on than in the evening to restaurants when you are back in your comfy gear!
The hotel does have a really small gym which is o.k (a all in one machine and a handful of free weights) plus a running machine which was out of order!! The best part of the hotel is the newly installed steam room and sauna!!! Great after a hard day on the slopes...
Breakfast at the hotel is pretty good and a reasonable choice of European style food but plenty of it to set you up for the day..
Room was very hot and turned the radiator down and had the door open a lot lol

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent a week there last week, half term. Our room was at the front and a bit noisy at night for 2 of our 7 night stay but they were English people yelling and not French. Excellent food but perhaps too much. I went with my daughter and we had great service, lovely waitresses and bar staff. Wi-fi only worked downstairs but no big deal. Great TV. Would have liked kettle etc in our room. Little shower room but v clean. Had change of bed sheets half way through the week which was a treat. Location fantastic and Aude on reception couldn't have been kinder. Agree about pool being cold which was disappointing after a day's ski. Ski hire shop next door was superb. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: I would agree that back room might be better to avoid the night time revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_boo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just spent 3 days here with a group of 50 from my company and it was brilliant. Really nice bedrooms - fantastic food - and the staff were so lovely. Stopped going to France personally some years ago for skiing but honestly couldn't fault anything and the food was great - loads of sea food - fantastic buffet breakfast. Service was amazing - but Location! Location! Location!

Room Tip: We didn't have a bad one and as we were a large group we had a good look around a few of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moirataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the ski season. It is a lovely hotel & a great location.
In the town centre & very close to the slopes.
The staff are always welcoming & very helpful.
The rooms are great and the ones with a view of slopes are the best.
The food here has always been excellent, the breakfast are lovely & the evening buffet & meals are of a very high standard. Good job we skied all day or would have come home considerable bigger!,,,
Swimming pool is nice bit chilly at times but the kids loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJCxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas 2013.
Perfect location in the center of Morzine. Warm, friendly hotel with very attentive staff. Nicely furnished and clean. Food was fantastic. Noisy street outside at night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#28 of 50 in Morzine
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#13 of 50 in Morzine
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#22 of 50 in Morzine
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Airelles

Property: Hotel Les Airelles
Address: rue de la Crusaz, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Morzine
#15 Spa Hotel in Morzine
#21 Family Hotel in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Airelles 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Airelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Airelles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing