We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski base with amenities”
Review of Hotel le Petit Dru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel le Petit Dru
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great ski base with amenities”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Pool and jacuzzi were a welcome addition as were the Hamman and Sauna. Didn't try the spa treatments. Food was excellent and portions...generous (not the word my son suggested!). We had a boys weekend based here and had a wonderful time.
The ski bus stopped outside the hotel, one direction to Morzine, dropped off at the lift, the other direction to Avoriaz. Hard to fault to access some wonderful skiing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at le petit dru in july 12 for almost a week. We opted for morzine over the swiss side due to prices. We had a great stay. We are a family of 5 (3 younger kids) and required 2 rooms. The one room we received fit the kids perfectly (sloping ceiling to a very low bathroom). We had a balcony overlooking the church. yes, there are bells - but THAT is not a reason to stay elsewhere. We opted for the half board, and were NOT disappointed. one evening was fondue, and I ate about 1kg of comte.

the hotel is run by the baud family, and they were quite helpful. I have decided that by the next time I go to france, I will have learned at least some of the basics!

the kids enjoyed the pool, though the spa was closed. The sauna was open. The hotel is a short walk from the river at one end of town, and its a bit longer up to the main part of town and the lifts. Never once did the kids complain though about the walking.

The hotel helped us with passes,and had a lot of information available. The kids are trying to persuade me to take them there this winter for skiing.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadindenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend stay at le petit dru, group of 5 of us returning to morzine for the great skiing area. We decided this time to stay in le petit dru which we could not fault! Staff were friendly, rooms comfortable and fantastic food! We really could not find a fault with this hotel, it was surprisingly close to the town, closer than we originally thought! Great ski bus service to take us to the lifts. Remember bus a!! Not d which we took one day only to find it was the wrong one!!

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We are still here as I write this, it's nothing like those moaning about petty things in some of the previous reviews! There are 5 adults in our group , we all have clean, spacious rooms, clean towels everyday and a view of the village with a balcony. We are here to ski, not to sit in the room! Food is great, meat or fish choice and 5 courses in total. The staff are great and very helpful, they really appreciate it when you do converse in French!
Morzine is a very nice town with lovely shops and lots of places to grab a bite to eat or a après ski. The only downside was the large parties of arrogant loud men! Never experienced that anywhere in the world before, maybe we were unlucky??? The weather was sunny, not good for the snow and so we got up early and went high, long lunch and then down by about 3 ish. Very slushy at the bottom........
Overall we had a great time at le petit dru and would recommend to others! Ps the church bells stop from 22.00-07.00 so no problem for us!!

Room Tip: Ask for overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiltonKeynesKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend of skiing in Hotel Club Le Petit Dru and both myself and my husband, and the other couple we were travelling with thought it was really great! It was our first ski trip with our babies (they are 16 months) and the hotel really bent over backwards to help us out. On a timeline approach...we arrived quite late in the evening and they kept our table set and offered us the first of our delicious meals there that evening. The rooms were quite spacious compared to other European hotels we've stayed in and had really comfy Austrian twin beds, a fold down bed if needed and they provided travel cots for the babies. They were well decorated and we all slept like logs! The breakfast was delicious - cheese boards, parma hams, croissants, meusli galore... as well as an omelette making station! The waiters were such wonderful characters and really made each meal a lovely experience - offering good humour, banter and wine advice! We were really pleasantly surprised with the quality of each of the three course meals too - especially as Morzine is such a lovely little town with great restaurants - we didn't feel cheated out of that experience at all. So every evening after we'd settled the babies we would go to the hotel bar for drinks and then down to the restaurant where we ate and drank the way you only can/should do on a ski holiday. The creche facility was also superb...our babies were well taken care of by a great nanny - Veronique - and they seemed to really enjoy their time there...but looked forward to going out with us when we returned at 4:30 as well...lots of baby friendly restaurants within walking distance - Des Alps was one particularly nice one only 5 mins away. The only downside about the hotel is that it's a 20 min walk to the slopes if you're fit enough to do it in your boots and carrying your skis. We took the free bus that gets you there effortlessly in under 5 mins though! :) So yes - we will would highly recommend it and would like to thank Herve and Babette, the hotel owners, Veronique, the nanny, and Frank and Anne-Lise, our lovely waiters for their wonderful hospitality. Merci!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorytown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Six of us stayed here in 3 rooms for 4 nights just recently. We were very happy with:
a) the room and facilities b) the location c) the access to whatever you needed.
This was our first time in the Alps and we were really happy with the result. The rooms weren't large but perfectly adequate and comfortable. They were quiet, loved the view and the church clock was part of the charm! Food was good (not great) but plenty of it and service was very pleasant. We ate twice in the the Hotel's restaurant up in Avoriaz village and that was a nice touch. The pool was OK, sauna great but a little small, hot tub was only lukewarm. Close access to Morzine Village and the ski and boot room with walkout access to the bus to the lift was great. Overally we really enjoyed it and I would recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Second time and really enjoyed this .
Nice location, great food. Clean rooms and nice staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelon144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#13 of 50 in Morzine
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Petit Dru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Petit Dru

Property: Hotel le Petit Dru
Address: 289 route des Putheys, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Petit Dru 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Petit Dru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing