We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skiing for 1 week in march”
Review of Hotel l'Igloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Igloo
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Location is the best, it will take you about 2 min to get the lifts (Pleney of Super Morzine), aslo just 5 min to get to the center and lots of shops, restaurants. Try to book room with windows to the yard side. Very clean rooms, very warm rooms, there is place to storage your skis, sauna.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Natalya_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on location and price, what a little gem. Almost tempted not to write a review as we would not want too many people knowing about it, but definitely deserves the praise and based upon earlier reviews, we suspect that a lot of effort has gone into addressing previous comments.

The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are better than many a more up market accommodation (from a well travelled business perspective).

The breakfast is good with a typical continental selection.

TV only in French, but then you're in France (what choice do you get in a UK hotel?).

Location is perfect for either the Plenney (Morzine/Les Gets) or Super Morzine (Avoriaz/Portes du Soliel) lifts, as they are closer than the bus (2 mins walk in ski boots)!!!

We knew that the hotel did not offer evening meal which suited us as we wanted to try some of the local venues. We found ourselves frequenting Le Grillon with a huge variety of speciality meals where everyone is wondering "what are they eating?", only to find out on our last day that the Igloo has a "half board" option for 7 night bookings with (you guessed it) Le Grillon (if only we knew in advance).

We would definitely stay here again, as it is not a 3* pretending to be anything more but definitely top of its class, in what could be a very expensive location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel deserves five stars and the only reason I cant give it is that there is no evening meal option, and no pool. The owner is lovely and can't do enough for you, the rooms are large and well appointed, and the location is bang outside the lifts, there is a purpose built ski room with room lockers, and heated boot rack. Will defiantly be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are a number of rooms that have new bathrooms, ie ours (room10) large balconies. Rooms to rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good, friendly and ideal located in Morzine. Comfortable beds with newly renovated bathrooms. Basic breakfast local style. Stayed during week in february skiing. Too few booth dryers on or two nights. Locable place for ski's.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a week in this B&B with two friends and had a brilliant time. This place is in an excellent position for the ski lifts, no more than five minutes walk (even in ski boots!). The rooms were basic, but in good condition and kept very clean, the staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The only things I could fault was that it was extremely hot in the room at times and a touch noisy at night from the snow clearing machines outside, though the hotel was not at fault for this.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well positioned for the lifts and the town centre. The hotel had everything you could want. Room was spacious warm and clean. Breakfasts were the best I have experienced in Morzine. If you had children and wanted to cook them some food there was also a small kitchen which would allow you to do that or store food to make up a pack lunch.
Would definitely stay again

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank goostreygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel Igloo is full of positives - fantastic location - 2 minute walk from Pleny and 3-4 from Avoriaz. Similar distance to plenty of bars and restaurants. The buffet breakfast excellent and hearty - very good coffee. The rooms are clean and well kept. The owner Josette is very helpful. And at the price, Igloo is outstanding value for money.
Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnscorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#20 of 50 in Morzine
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#34 of 50 in Morzine
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Le Cret
Hotel Club Le Cret
#9 of 50 in Morzine
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Igloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Igloo

Address: 270 route de la Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range: $137 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Igloo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome in Igloo, a hotel B&B sympa, near slopes, tourism office, restaurant...You don't need your car for holidays ! There is everything kitchen, ski and bike room, steam room, sauna..... We propose discount On Portes du Soleil lift pass, from 4 days, don't forget to book it ! See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Igloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing