We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Warmest of Alpine Welcomes”
Review of Hotel l'Igloo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Igloo
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Warmest of Alpine Welcomes”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have been going to Morzine since the late 80s and stayed in another couple of hotels before (luckily) finding the Igloo. Friends and relations have been staying here for 20 years too.

The hotel is perfectly located half way between the Pleney and Super Morzine cable cars, as well as being no more than a minute's walk from the centre of town.

The hotel doesn't tie you in like others which are minimum half-board or fully catered chalets. Instead you have a generous buffet breakfast (or delivered to your room) and kitchen facilities downstairs should you wish to cook your own lunch or dinner. Buy your lift pass through them and you will save money there too.

Rooms and public areas are scrupulously clean and warm and, as others have stated, they never run out of hot water for aching skiers. The new ski and boot room downstairs is another improvement. Warm, dry boots every day guaranteed.

This is a true 3 star hotel (no pool, no bar, no restaurant) which offers outstanding value and incredibly friendly service. Some of the rooms have older bathrooms but, if you don't fancy that, you can request one of the newly updated shower rooms. When you combine all this with amazing skiing on the Portes du Soleil, it's a match made in heaven.

Room Tip: Back rooms with balcony are the quiestest and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    55
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

As a couple, we love visiting france. We came here to snowboard and the location of l'igloo is spot on.....cross the road and walk for aprox 1minute and your at pleney.
Our flights were terribly delayed from the uk but the owner made sure our key was on the desk to grab at 1030 pm when we arrived.
Our room had a double bed and bunk beds and a balcony.
We always like to stay in luxury hotels, although this time we chose this 3 star, and it holds its 3 star well. Theres 3 star hotels near here that i wouldnt give 3 stars! The bathroom was dated but very clean and served its purpose, we noticed some rooms have new bathrooms, we didnt mind obv they are gradually up grading them all.
The cleaners came in every day when we were out and put clean towels and bed linen on even though we hadnt asked! They hoover the rooms everyday and clean everything!
Breakfast is very french buffet and a good fill before hitting the slopes!
We stayed a week and we given a complementory bottle of wine mid week, delivered to our room! Not sure what we did to deserve it but nice!
Used the sauna 3 or 4 times, i love a sauna when im aching. But allow 20 mins to warm
It up.
The owner and staff are all lovely and this hotel i would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trackerbradder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel L'Igloo a number of times now and have always enjoy our time here. Josette and her team run a really lovely establishment that is very comfortable, clean and easy to stay in. The rooms, while not overly large, are perfectly proportioned and comfortable for couples. We have stayed in a couple of the studios, which are larger and can accommodate 4 people easily and have little kitchen units in them (which we haven't used). The new bathrooms are very stylish with a contemporary feel. There's always masses of hot water (even when our large party of 12 comes back at the same time!). Excellent buffet style breakfast with fresh juices & pastries. We stay in January for skiing and hotel couldn't be better located for easy access to the pretty town centre, fine restaurants, shops and ski lifts. The Super Morzine lift up to Avoriaz and Pleney lifts that take you over to Les Gets etc are both within easy 5 minute walking distance. The ski room has proper boot heaters and each room has a lockable cupboard for skis etc. A really lovely place to stay which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are naturally quieter but the main road at the front is pretty quiet at night anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THK530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have to start this review by declaring an interest. We are a group of juveniles in our 60s who have been coming here on a boys' ski trip for many years. Over this time it has evolved slowly in the capable hands of Josette who runs L'Igloo with the care and efficiency only found in an hotel where the manager is also the owner. Sure, it has its limitations. It is really only a B&B as there is no bar and it does not do dinner. However, kitchen facilities are available for guests should they wish to self-cater. The standard double rooms are fairly small and would be cramped for two people but at 77 euros a night for single occupancy B&B they represent remarkably good value. The beds are typically French hard and are made up with sheets and blankets rather than duvets. Larger rooms are also available. Buffet breakfast is unlimited although again, the dining area is rather cramped.

The hotel's huge attraction for us is its central position half way between the Pleney lifts up to the Les Gets slopes and the gondola taking one up to Super Morzine. Both are within staggering distance in ski boots.

Don't stay there if you want sybaritic luxury.
Don't stay there if you are part of the apres ski scene and want to carouse into the early hours - silence is expected after 10.30 p.m.
Don't stay there if you expect a swimming pool and spa treatments (although there is a small gym and sauna).

But if you want homely comfort in pleasant surroundings at an extraordinarily favourable price, choose L'Igloo.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as they do not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good size room with a great balcony and views. Generous breakfast. Very useful self catering dining facility for guests to use. Good location for the main ski lifts and centre of town with its numerous restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

L'Igloo is a traditional medium size B&B French hotel in the lovely Haute Savoie town of Morzine. It has very good facilities including recently-updated bathrooms, all-round mountain views and front rooms with balconies overlooking le Pleney. Breakfast is an excellent buffet with scrumptious fresh bread, croissants and coffee. The hotel is run by the owner herself and is maintained to a very high standard by her and small team of helpers. This was our fourth visit and we shall be going again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the surrounding mountains, choose one with a balcony for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The best priced central hotel we could find in Morzine at the last minute. A 2 minute walk from the main lifts and main street.
Small, cosy hotel with average accommodation. Three of us were put into a room which was designed for two so it was cramped. Good shower and balcony.
Very good continental breakfast buffet included.
Free wifi connection in communal lounge but very temperamental.
Small exercise room with sauna but not used by anyone during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuwan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#20 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Sporting
Hotel Le Sporting
#15 of 50 in Morzine
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dahu
Hotel Le Dahu
#6 of 50 in Morzine
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#28 of 50 in Morzine
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Igloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Igloo

Property: Hotel l'Igloo
Address: 270 route de la Combe a Zore, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Igloo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Welcome in Igloo, a hotel B&B sympa, near slopes, tourism office, restaurant...You don't need your car for holidays ! There is everything kitchen, ski and bike room, steam room, sauna..... We propose discount On Portes du Soleil lift pass, from 4 days, don't forget to book it ! See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel l'Igloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing