We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly fantastic holiday everything taken care of.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet George - Skiology

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet George - Skiology
Ranked #31 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly fantastic holiday everything taken care of.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Skiology chalets previously we knew we were in for a great time.

Chalet George surpassed all expectations.

Friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff attended to our every need- we couldn't have asked for more.

The real differentiator for Chalet George has to be the high quality catering and delicious
food served up by the team of hosts.

I would thoroughly recommend this chalet the added touches of WII, Table Tennis made the kids evenings great fun.

Will definitely be returning to a Skiology chalet soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
4
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our second year in Chalet George and we could not have enjoyed our week more. Skiology looked after us perfectly. The chalet is centrally located close to the Avoriaz and Morine main lifts, shops, ski hire, bus stops and restaurants but has the advantage of being relatively quiet. The chalet staff were incredibly helpful, knowlegable, looked after us extremely well and were receptive to any suggestions. The food this year was exceptional. Chris produced some of the best food I have ever had in a chalet. We could not recommend the chalet or Skiology more highly - thank you Dom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Suzette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our second stay with Skiology proved to be even more fabulous than the first. I can only echo the positive comments made by previous reviewers. Having spent several ski holidays in the Portes de Soleil, the quality of the George is above & beyond the norm. Food is carefully and expertly prepared and of the best quality. Comfort is guaranteed and the staff are efficient, helpful and excellent hosts. Amy and Kate looked after us so well that we felt like family.
The location is unrivalled - to be within a few minutes easy walk of both the Pleney & Super Morzine lifts should be enough for anyone considering a holiday in Morzine to choose the George. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have visited the Skiology team on numerous occasions at a number of their different locations (Morzine and Les Carroz). This time was a long weekend with my girlfriend and several other friends. It was our first stay at The George.

We know Dom & Steph are wonderful hosts but the food at the George really is fantastic. Skiology pride themselves on their food but the stuff they knocked out at the George was a cut above (spiced parsnip and lentil soup, rocket and a parmesan crisp / duck breast with savoy cabbage, celeriac mash and blackcurrant jus / pear and frangipane tart with cinnamon ice cream...to name just a few dishes we had over the weekend). The post-ski tea and cake arrangements are always good with Skiology...the lemon drizzle cake was particularly good!

The location of the chalet couldn't be better either...very central...so easy connections to the lifts. Also great if you fancy something a little stronger après ski; the Bec Jaune - Morzine's hipster-esque micro-brewery bar - is right around the corner.

The rooms are great...all en suite too. If I was being hyper-critical, I'd ask for zip / lock beds (so you can snuggle with your partner) and bigger towels. But, really, I'm just picking holes in an otherwise impeccable catered-chalet experience.

I couldn't recommend them more highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed with Skiology several times before and at Chalet George last year. Although the holiday was only for three nights, we managed to ski for three and a half days. Skiology organised the lift passes and the hired skis were brought to the door saving valuable skiing time. Chalet George is located so that there is only a short walk to either ski area.The staff couldn't do enough for us and the little luxuries, like morning tea outside the room, ensured that it was the perfect way to get the most relaxation out of a short break. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Look at the room plan and choose one of the three larger rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great food, fantastic service, comfortable chalet in perfect location, right between the 2 main ski lifts. The cakes are amazing, & evening meals varied & of good quality.

The chalet hosts will go the extra mile to ensure guests get everything they would like & the tailor-made breakfasts suit all tastes. It's great having ski passes brought to the chalet.

And it's nice to know it's personal, rather than going with a big anonymous company.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in Chalet George for a short break of 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We have been skiing for approx 25 years and have not stayed any where that ticks as many boxes. The chalet is ideally situated in the center of down within 5 mins walk to both the major lifts. The staff will pre buy your passes and arrange for ski fitting etc at the chalet. The chalet itself is extremely comfortable, especially the beds and sofas, very clean and nicely decorated. The staff were fantastic...so helpful, nothing was too much trouble including bringing us an early morning cup of tea to our rooms! The food and wine was fantastic, altogether very, very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.5 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#24 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel l'Igloo
Hotel l'Igloo
#10 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Hotel Bel 'Alpe
Chalet Hotel Bel 'Alpe
#11 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet George - Skiology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet George - Skiology

Property: Chalet George - Skiology
Address: 138 A Taille de Mas du grand Hotel, 74110, Morzine, France (Formerly Chalet George)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet George is one of the best located catered chalets in Morzine town centre. Located on a quiet street only 200m from both the Super Morzine and Pleney lifts. The recently renovated Chalet George, is one of Morzine's first and most popular catered chalets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing