We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality pad in the heart of Morzine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
More Mountain - The ARK
Ranked #15 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality pad in the heart of Morzine”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable four nights at 'The Ark' earlier this month. No expense spared on this new accommodation. Hosts John and Michelle looked after our group very well. Enjoyed the food and the craic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterG-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in the chalet for 4 nights in early March. The reception we received was fantastic with champagne and canapes waiting for our arrival. The chalet itself was great with every mod con we could ask for. Jon & Michelle looked after us very well with nothing being too much trouble - I was even converted to become a pudding eater!

Highly recommend this chalet and these hosts!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomedogWhitwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Ark is a real slice of luxury as far as chalet accommodation is concerned. With all the mod cons you would expect, and plenty more.

However all the amenities are for naught, if the service is not up to scratch - and it certainly was in the Ark's case. Jon and Michelle were not only great host, great cooks, good guides, flexible chauffeurs, but also a lot of fun and always attentive to the needs of the group.

The food deserves a special mention - as it was superb in quality and quantity.

So a big thank you from me, and I would recommend the Ark to all groups and families alike.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in the chalet with my husband and friends 10/17th march, we had a really enjoyable ski holiday one of the best.
On arrival champagne and canapes.

Chalet is stunning, spotless, bedrooms are really comfortable and good size, good location to town, modern, all mod cons, warm, all you want, but it is made extra special by the hosts Michelle & Jon, Michelle's cooking was excellent and beautifully presented 3 course meal everynight with clean plates from everyone so what does that say, and lots of flowing wine. She also made lovely cakes each day for when you returned from the pistes, lemon drizzle, jam sponge, chocolate, banana. Absolutely delicious.
Jon did an excellent job of driving us to the lifts each morning and collecting each evening, this is the first time we have had this service and it was great, we even wanted to have après ski one evening so Jon came to the lifts gave us our shoes and took the skis back to the chalet, great service!!
They are a fantastic couple and very well travelled and we enjoyed them sharing their photos and experiences with us over dinner, and a little toffee vodka afterwards, or maybe in our case 4 1/2 bottles the 1st nite!!
We will definitely return next year if Jon and Michelle are coming back, so we'll hav to wait till August. Do book this chalet it is amazing you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having stayed with MM before I had high expectations (especially as I was bringing a couple of good friends for the ride this time) and they didn't disappoint with this new season's chalet...

The chalet - arty and modern (if you like more traditional designs pick one of their others) stunning design finished to a very high standard and always cosy and warm. Great phalic-fountain-state-of-the-art hot tub which we spent far too long in! Our room also had a bath and it was spacious and smart in decor. The only niggle I had was a lack of shelving for my potions in the bathroom; in fairness there was a magnetic drawer, I just like everything to hand.

The hosts - Jon and Michelle are amazing peeps and were very accomodating the whole time: from greeting to cooking and socialising they were always on top of their game (exhausting though we must have been: 19 Vodkees!?!) Food was pretty top notch, it's not haute cuisine but on this type of holiday I prefer the more relaxed homely style cooking mixed in with a fair bit of regional grub and it was very tasty and had lots of variety: perfect for the knackered skier who adores cheese!

The location - right opposite Dixie's (Mutzig!!) and only a 5-10 min walk from main shops and the Super Morzine and Pleny lifts make it's location pretty spot on. On J&M's day off we had no problem getting the bus (less than min walk away) to Prodain or you can easily walk back from the piste at pleny pretty quickly but I prefer not to walk about in ski boots if i can help it! There's a new bubble opening in prodain next season which will make access to Avoriaz even quicker - the big fat cable car is a bit slow sometimes.

The experience - the convenience and expertise MM provide: seamless transfers, equipment delivered to chalet with lift passes, lifts everywhere, fab food and hosts is a winning combination.

I am sure we will be back for more (mountain) :)

Bel x

Room Tip: Request a bath when you book if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The chalet is very new and very beautiful. The position is good for the town although a little far from the lifts. This was no drawback though, because our chalet hosts (of whom more later) had the use of a Land Rover and were extremely helpful driving us to and from various lift stations to aid our convenience. We were a varied party, three generations ranging in age from 62 down to 1 including a young woman with special needs. The sense of space in the chalet was superb with plenty of space for everyone's activities. But, what made the whole experience really special was the amazing couple, John and Michelle Gammidge, who took care of us with great energy, great ability and great sensitivity to dietary needs, our daughter's special needs and still found the time to produce marvelous and varied food, all accompanied by a very decent standard of house wine. They are a travelled, mature, warm couple who truly made the holiday. We missed them after we left - can't say more than that, really!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

what can i say other than stunningly beautiful.are hosts for the week jon & michelle were just amazing,they couldn't do enough for us all and were really helpful all week.the food kept us going and was really good quality.the cake that was made fresh every day was more than welcome on are return to base after a long cold day on the hill,washed down with a nice cup of tea.
we arrived early and wern't told to come back later.. we were shown to the lounge and told we could use that area while J&M carried on with the deep clean.nothing seemed to much trouble and we had such a comfortable stay.
enjoyed every moment of are stay and would be more than happy to have jon & michelle look after us again.would not think twice about staying at the ark as it is just a stunning,warm,welcoming,roomy,comfortable place.great big thumbs up from me:)

cheers guys.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthorpy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#45 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Mountain - The ARK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Mountain - The ARK

Property: More Mountain - The ARK
Address: 142 rue du Bourg | Morzine, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is a luxury catered Ski Chalet in Central Morzine. Sleeping up to 12 people in 5 luxury bedrooms, The ARK is Urban chic in the Alps with HOT TUB and located in a prime position on Rue Du Bourg. Location is enviable for all the shops, apres bars and restaurants and provides quick & easy access to the slopes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing