We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best winterholiday ever - The Ark, Morzine!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
More Mountain - The ARK
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Lindås, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
“Best winterholiday ever - The Ark, Morzine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We came from Norway the last week of February and spend one week in The Ark togehter with the charming hosts Jon and Michelle. The Chalet was amazing, Michelle a wonderful cook, and Jon the man who fixed everthing and also did the daily transportation to the ski lift. When the slopes were in the best conditions, the weather was sunny all week and the 4 adults and 5 youths were enjoying every minute, the holiday was perfect! Thanks to Jon and Michelle for beeing so open, nice and service minded! It could not be better!

Room Tip: All 5 rooms had a lot of space, the bathrooms very exclusive and special, the beds were good and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Ark was quite simply THE BEST snowboarding chalet/accommodation i have ever stayed in, the entire experience was just amazing, the best conditions we've ever experienced in Morzine & the PDS area, and to top it off we had a really special set of chalet hosts in Jon & Michelle.

We stayed with a mixed group of friends, including 4 young kids, in January 2013 and whilst the website states it's not suitable for small children, we managed absolutely no problem, it just takes common sense to look after them, in fact our little guy loved crawling all over the place and exploring, and the chalet is so enormous there was plenty for him to explore!

So, what are the good points:
- fantastic location, close to the Pleney lift, right in the middle of town, opposite Dixies and Bar Robbo's for all you Mutzig lovers!
- interior finish is excellent, very current, very cool, but retains that Savoyard rustic charm
- stunning views over the valley and up to Avoriaz
- the hot tub really hit the spot after a hard days shred down the mountain and it could easily accommodate 6 people and a few extra if you're not too fussed about getting a little closer to your neighbour
- really comfy beds, all en suite rooms
- massive upstairs mezzanine/lounge room, plenty of entertainment up there for kids and adults alike..
- huge open plan kitchen dining room, immaculate throughout and always kept pristine throughout our stay (thanks to the hard graft from Jon & Michelle)
- regular morning drop of/afternoon pick-up by Jon if you ever needed it during certain times of the day
- fantastic food & booze provided all week, plenty of it and of a very good standard, Michelle is a great cook (with her more than able Sous chef Jon!)...although i am definitely copywriting the "Yin Yang" chocolate dessert idea - if you ever put that on the menu Michelle, i want crediting!

- and last but by no means least, the Chalet hosts Michelle & Jon, who were absolutely lovely and really made our stay feel special, nothing was ever too much trouble for them and by about the 3rd or 4th day in, i felt like i'd known them for years, they were absolutely spot on. For me, it felt like we were staying with friends for the week, not two complete strangers, i can't praise them enough for how well they looked after us, they also took us on some great runs in areas where we had never discovered in previous trips to Morzine/Avoriaz.

I loved everything about The Ark and would highly recommend people look at staying there if heading out to Morzine. Having stayed at Chalet Robin before (another in the More Mountain group), i would always recommend using More Mountain as you really do get excellent accommodation and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGeneral23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed as a group of 9 at the end of January in The Ark and had the best ski holiday ever (of 3 I had been on previously). Morzine appears to be not known so widely, but it is an hour from Geneva, and the central location gives you access to all the slopes you would ever need. The Ark is a great chalet. The main kitchen /dining area is gigantic and open plan which makes it very socialable. The lounge was great for a big group of people with an enormous TV, Xbox, and wifi. The dance game kept our group entertain on many a drunken night. And there is a mega sound system around the dining room and living space. The bedroom are modernly decorated, come with a selection of shampoos/showergel/cool lipbalm and have those cool showers that drop the water from the ceiling. The Jacuzzi fits 6 people comfortably, and 9 people if you all squeeze in and sit on each others laps. But our seasonaires, Jon and Michelle, really made this holiday for us. They are lovely people and by the end of the week, it was really a group of 11 people rather than the 9 we came with. They looked after everything for us, took us out for a day skiing, helped us back from the slopes, knew the good places to go in Morzine and were good for jokes, chat and lots of banter / drinking games. Jon ensured that the accommodation was always clean and tidy, that we knew the snow forecast and the good places to go skiing for the day. Michelle cooks some amazing dishes for us and even when we felt we were full, we could never refuse any of her food, from white chocolate ice-cream to birthday cake to a weird fish sauce that did not sound like it would be nice, but it actually was quite good. So in summary, The Ark is a fantastic accommodation choice for skiing in Morzine, but if you want a truly wonderful time, Jon and Michelle are on hand to make this ski holiday the best one you are likely to have. Hopefully see them next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The chalet is amazing and furnished to an exceptionally high standard. It is very spacious and spread over 3 levels. There were 6 adults and 7 children in our party and we all had plenty of space. There are 4 good sized bedrooms, each with a fabulous en suite. The kitchen / dining area is very large with panoramic views over Morzine and towards Avoriaz. The jacuzzi room looked fabulous but unfortunately the jacuzzi was not working for the duration of our stay.. This was the only disappointment we encountered the entire week! There was a very large lounge area with comfortable sofas and plenty of electronic gadgets. Jon and Michelle were our chalet hosts and were outstanding. They made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed delicious 3 course meals every evening cooked by Michelle and cooked breakfasts. Michelle is an amazing cook. They were both great fun and always on hand to help. Jon was always available to provide a lift to / from the slopes. The chalet is, however, so central that you can easily walk to the Pleney lift. The chalet was also very clean and tidy. We would definitely return to the Ark ... especially if Jon and Michelle were our hosts. They made our holiday extra special. Rick at More Mountain was also excellent in handling our booking, arranging transfers, ski hire, passes etc. I would definitely recommend booking through More Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutersloh, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a fantastic week at The Ark. We were a party of 6 adults & 6 children, and this chalet gave us all plenty of space to do things together and separately. Each of the bedrooms were a good size, all with en suites of very high specification. The hot tub is an amazing part of the chalet, great to relax in & soothe the sore legs after a long day skiing. Jon & Michelle hosted us magnificently...they made our holiday so easy and enjoyable, giving us advice on where to ski, shop, everything we needed. Michelle is an amazing cook, made earlier meals for the children so they could be settled before the adults ate together; and even parted with some of her cooking tips. Jon took us to and from the ski lifts, gave us snow reports & most entertaingingly announced dinner each night :) They are so friendly, great company, we couldn't have asked for better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VickyEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been skiing three times a season for more than 10 years. NEVER have i been to a better kitted out, more stylish chalet. Food and wine fantastic. Chalet couple from MOre Mountain are also incredibly hospitable and great fun to go boarding with (and/or drink toffee vodka with if required!). Amazing weeks holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenlouisehiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a keen skier and have been all over the Alps to many resorts. I have done nearly 2 full seasons in total and many individual weeks and I would rate this as my best trip so far.

Where to start? The Ark is stunning. It's a proper modern ski chalet with all the authentic atmosphere you could hope for. Incredible shared areas, 'hot tub room' and facilities. The 80" TV screen was a nice touch!

Staying at The Ark in Jan 2013 kicked off the year as best as you could hope and this was mainly due to the fact that our chalet hosts, John and Michelle looked after us so well.

When you wake up ready for a hard ski you want a good breakfast and we were provided that with quality hot and cold food every morning. Proper eggs and bacon every day with decent coffee, cereal options, yogurt, bread and Jam - you name it.

When finished skiing Michelle had always baked some treat for us to have with some tea, then when it was time for dinner we were extremely impressed and satisfied every single evening. Absolutely delicious 3 course meals, excellent wine and good company!

John and Michelle also make a mean toffee vodka and supplied me with a nice eye-opening hip flask of Genepi to take on the hill just in case the coffee hadn't sharpened me up enough!

Just fantastic. Go and stay in The Ark with John and Michelle if you get the chance. Do it. A big thank you to both of them!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#8 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Champs Fleuris
Hotel Champs Fleuris
#3 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#40 of 50 in Morzine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Mountain - The ARK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Mountain - The ARK

Property: More Mountain - The ARK
Address: 142 rue du Bourg | Morzine, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is a luxury catered Ski Chalet in Central Morzine. Sleeping up to 12 people in 5 luxury bedrooms, The ARK is Urban chic in the Alps with HOT TUB and located in a prime position on Rue Du Bourg. Location is enviable for all the shops, apres bars and restaurants and provides quick & easy access to the slopes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing