We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Popular”
Review of Le Grillon

Le Grillon
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Popular”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great selection and very popular (booking recommended for the weekend).

Always something new to try from the specialitiesselection

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    102
    33
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to grillon when on a skiing holiday and it did not disappoint. Me and my husband had la boche which is steak on a spit which you slice and cook on a hot stone served with tomatoes, ratatouille, French fries, mushroom sauce and peppercorn sauce. We had never tried this before and it was amazing. Everyone in the restaurant wanted to know what it was. We also saw people having ribs which looked amazing too. My children had pizza and pasta which they enjoyed. We were unsure which wine to order so the staff recommended one and they were very helpful. We were too full for dessert but looking at ones going past they looked delicious - definitely recommend and it is a lovely cosy friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Savoyarde cuisine, wine and service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an enjoyable dining experience. We had the house special fondue, which was accompanied by a selection of local charcuterie and a delicious green salad. All sounds too simple to be excellent, but that't what it was - excellent. We had a bottle of the local Savoyarde red, which really got going with the fondue and meats.

The Service was warm and welcoming and the food was served within around 10 minutes of the order being placed.

The environment of Le Grillon is also lovely, with its attractive wooden chalet structure and roaring fires - one in the centre and another by the door.

I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alastairmasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited Le Grillon in the evening on our chalet host's day off. It's a great wooden-built restaurant with a wide selection of local specialties (and it looked like they did stone baked pizza to take out too). I ate some sort of cook it yourself steak - involving a large chunk of raw steak on a mini-spit to rotate it above a fire. Very tasty, good fun with a good choice of local wines.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Been a number of times over the years and continues to be great food and service. Prices are very similar to the rest in the village. Good local food and wine. Service is always good. You need to book for dinner most nights in the ski season.

Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grillon also viewed

Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
Morzine, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Grillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing