We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved our Ski trip ten fold”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Highs Chalet Joran
Ranked #72 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Usually when we go for a winter break the accomodation isn't a high priority but this time we decided to go for a catered chalet, and ski for the first time in Morzine and therefore Port Du Soleil. The skiing was great and this time we got to come back to an amazing chalet where we were very well fed by fantastic cooking courtesy of Olly & Kat. The Chicken Pie Olly made on the Wednesday i think it was, was absolutely delicious. We got freshly baked croissants for breakfast and a different cake everyday upon our return from the slopes. Dave and Steffi were also fantastic with Dave giving us a great tour of the mountains on one of our days on the slopes. The sauna and jacuzzi were frequently used and felt great. I can't recommend this place enough and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, 2 of which have a mezzanine above the beds, so it depends how many of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Lewis,

So glad you guys had a good time. Great vibe in the chalet at max capacity!! Hope 'Dave the button' is ok now!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Probably the greatest ski chalet in the world.
We had an amazing week over new year staying in chalet Joran. Dave and Steffi have got everything so right and we honestly could not fault a single thing. They are such welcoming and obliging people, nothing was too much trouble. It became quickly clear that they have employed the best of the best in their staff- the amazing Kat and Olly. Those two(aided of course by Dave and Steffi) provided an immaculate chalet, transport to and from lifts whenever we needed, michelin star quality three course evening meals, breakfasts and even afternoon teas- different homemade cake every day (Mary Berry has nothing on them)
There was a fantastic sauna and outdoor hot tub ready to use anytime, roaring log fire and our hosts even joined in(and excelled at) our evening games.
You could not wish for anything more in a ski holiday, the absolute complete package. Anyone reading this review- book now! you won't regret it
Thank you so very much for giving us the holiday of a lifetime guys,
Stu and Rachelle

Room Tip: Any room is amazing and faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hey guys!

So glad that you enjoyed your week with us! Its always a pleasure to have such nice guests come and stay and we know that Oli and Kat really enjoyed having you guys with us. Thanks for the lovely review and we hope to see you all again soon!

Steffi, Dave Oli and Kat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this apartment through owners direct after a reccomendation of this site from a friend. Having been to the alps several times before, the chalet and apartment jumped out of us from the images on the site. It looked beautifully presented and seemed an obvious choice to start making enquiries.
The whole process of booking was easy. Email communication with the owners Steffi and Dave was really easy.....they responded quickly every time and before long things were booked. Again several emails were responded to very quickly when we requested information and financial transactions were easy too.
Upon arrival we were met at the apartment within 10 minutes and shown round by Steffi who was very pleasant.

The apartment was just as lovely as the photos. Very well presented, had everything you need and finished to a high standard. Little touches like quality appliances, a sauna, dressing gowns, apple TV, iPod docks etc just added to the feel of something a bit more special than the usual self catering accommodation.

We found the apartment an ideal base for a stay in the alps. Morzine is a lively resort with lots to do, easy access from the UK and the apartment is in an ideal location in the resort, about a 20 minute walk to the centre.

We had a fantastic time in Morzine and would thoroughly reccomendation the resort and accommodation to anyone. In the 10 days we were there, we mountain biked, took cable cars up the mountains and walked, sunbathed and swam in the fabulous 50m outdoor pool, visited lake Geneva, went kayaking on lac Montriond, went ice skating, did one of the tour de France climbs, watched a cycle race and visited several other resorts in the area.
The "multipass" is fantastic value and I would reccomendation this to anyone. We also took a trip to Cirque du fer a cheval which was one of the most stunning places we have ever visited and well worth the journey.

All in all, we could not recommend this apartment enough!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Howell,

Glad you had a great time in Morzine and the surrounding area! Great to see that you got the most out of your week!

Dave and Steffi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I had recently stayed during the last week in June for passport du soleil. The standard of accommodation was very comfortable indeed, and for those wanting to indulge further, was the open air jacuzzi and also a sauna in the basement!

The catering was second to none, dave was an attentive host and delivered on all counts: the food was great, wide variety of brekkie and also cakes and coffee in the afternoon and rather impressive evening meals, all added up to a great fun, great value week away.

The standard of attentive catering really made the week perfect. Would love to visit in winter!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suicidetobefamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Dave,

Glad you enjoyed your week - even if was tough on the body! Thanks for taking the time to send us a review.

Enduro camps to come for next summer!!

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I felt completely at home during my stay with Alpine Highs - like staying with a friend. A friend that cooks great dinners and bakes!! This is all the more important to me as I have gluten intolerance that means catering for me is not straight forward especially when the rest of the party are 'normal' eaters. Needless to say, Dave coped very well.
As for the chalet: Spacious and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean! Bedding lovely and fresh. Lots of facilities, as mentioned by other reviewers, Plus a bike stand tools etc. Did I mention clean? :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Owner at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your review! Glad I got the gluten cooking just about right and that you appreciated the cleaning! :)

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Chalet Joran with our family. The Chalet itself is beautifully built and decorated, close to the slopes, and an easy 30 minute walk into town if that interests you.
Dave, Steffi, & Ollie (the hosts) were more than you can ask for. Very personable and always wanting/willing to help you get the most out of your stay.
We probably didn't do as much skiing as the typical group, but we had a great time on our non-ski days relaxing at the Chalet and enjoying the town of Morzine.
The breakfasts are fabulous. The apres-ski cakes are definitely worth the calories. And the dinners are 5-star quality. You definitely will not go hungry.
And my husband is now convinced that we need AppleTV... so I guess we have Chalet Joran to thank for that as well ;)
You can't go wrong choosing this great Chalet and hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluv2pla10is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous Easter skiing trip after staying with Alpine Highs. The Apartment Joran was well equipped and spacious for the family to sit down and relax after a tiring day on the slopes. Our hosts, Dave, Steffi and Ollie were fabulous - nothing ever seemed too much trouble. Even from booking the holiday they made the whole process really easy and provided lots of information about local ski schools, restaurants etc. It was great having no worries about transfers, lift passes and drop off/ pick up from ski lifts, everything was organised like clockwork. We were really impressed by the guys from the ski hire shop who came to the apartment to drop off our equipment so we could avoid the queues and headed straight to the slopes. Food was excellent and missing the gorgeous cakes already. The apartment is ideally located for the whole of the area and we will definitely be coming back again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi B, Manager at Alpine Highs Chalet Joran, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Jane,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really look forward to have you come and stay again!

Steffi and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morzine hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Rhodos
Hotel Les Rhodos
#43 of 50 in Morzine
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#21 of 50 in Morzine
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Highs Chalet Joran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Highs Chalet Joran

Address: 242 route des Ardoisieres, 74110, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Morzine
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Joran is a superb, new chalet in Morzine, at the heart of the Portes du Soleil ski region. We have a 12 person Chalet and a 6 person apartment both offereing an excellent and comfortable base for your holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing